Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2011, 03:23 PM
fireal2112 fireal2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 11
Default Pro Tools 9 wont initialize ASIO driver for Realtek HD Audio on Asus qualified laptop

Just got a new laptop. Pro Tools installed just fine but when i try to launch it, it comes up unable to initialize the ASIO driver. The asio module says my Realtek HD audio device is "beyond logic".

I successfully opened up Reason 5.0 with the asio drivers. Funny thing is that the asio tray icon is different for Reason. For Reason it's a neon green icon in the tray, but when pro tools launches its a darker colored icon.

I was able to get pro tools to launch once after i had reason open, and pro tools seemed to use the neon green asio version and it initialized, but then when i tried to create a project I got an access violation error.......Any help would be appreciated. Here's my Sandra. All windows 7 optimizations are done, as well as wireless adapters being disable when launching.


SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Asus N73JQ
Workgroup : WORKGROUP
Host Name : Mike-Laptop
User : Mike

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU Q 740 @ 1.73GHz
Speed : 1.86GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Mobile, Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache : 6MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 12-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 16 threads sharing

Computer
Platform Compliance : Intel Centrino Mobile Technology
Mainboard : Asus N73JQ
BIOS : AMI N73JQ.207 11/11/2010
Bus(es) : PCI PCIe IMB USB
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 6GB DDR3 SO-DIMM

Chipset
Model : ASUS Core (Clarksfield/Lynnfield) DMI
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz)

Chipset
Model : Intel Core Mobile (Clarksfield) UnCore
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.13GHz (4.26GHz)
Total Memory : 6GB DDR3 SO-DIMM
Channels : 2
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 665MHz (1.33GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Fujitsu AD73I1B1672EG 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10600U DDR3-2666
Memory Module : Fujitsu AD73I1B1672EG 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10600U DDR3-2666
Memory Module : Fujitsu AD73I1B1672EG 2GB DDR3 SO-DIMM PC3-10600U DDR3-2666

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GT 425M (96 SM5.0 1.12GHz, 1GB, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GT 425M (96SP 2C 1.12GHz, 1GB)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GT 425M (96SP 1.12GHz, 1GB)
CUDA Processor : NVIDIA GeForce GT 425M (96SP 2C 1.12GHz, 1GB)

Storage Devices
Seagate ST9500420AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (C:) (D:)
Seagate FA GoFlex Pro 500.1GB (USB) : 466GB (G:)
Slimtype BD E DS4E1S (SATA150, BD-R, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : 1GB (E:)

Logical Storage Devices
Hard Disk (C:) : 136GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST9500420AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
Seagate (G:) : 466GB (NTFS) @ Seagate FA GoFlex Pro 500.1GB (USB)
Hard Disk (D:) : 330GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST9500420AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 2.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
Avid Audio Devic (E:) : 1GB (CDFS) @ Slimtype BD E DS4E1S (SATA150, BD-R, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : ASUS HM55 LPC Interface Controller
Audio Device : ASUS P55/PM55/3400 High Definition Audio
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi High Definition Audio
Audio Device : ASUS GF108 High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia 0014h
Audio Codec : nVidia 0014h
Audio Codec : nVidia 0014h
Disk Controller : ASUS P55/PM55/3400 4 port SATA AHCI Controller
USB Controller 1 : ASUS P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 2 : ASUS P55/PM55/3400 USB2 Enhanced Host Controller
USB Controller 3 : 7516 1400h

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)
Printer : Canon MG5200 series Printer (Colour)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Atheros AR8131 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (NDIS 6.20)
Wireless Adapter 1 : Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line
Battery No 1 : 100%

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.9

Last edited by fireal2112; 04-22-2011 at 01:49 PM. Reason: Revise title
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-21-2011, 03:49 PM
mykhal c's Avatar
mykhal c mykhal c is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: san fran
Posts: 4,355
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 wont initialize ASIO driver for Realtek HD audio device and more

did you install this...http://www.asio4all.com/ if not it is needed for W7 and PT9 where an ASIO driver does not exist...like on a laptop.
__________________
bassist...deep pocketz anyone???!!!

The Basschakra Lucid Soul Trip

i7 Builds - Specs and Results

HDNative | Omni | i7-3930K OC'd 4.0GHZ |
ASUS X79 Sabertooth | 32GB GSkill DDR3 2133 ram | mo' stuff
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-21-2011, 07:44 PM
fireal2112 fireal2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 11
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 wont initialize ASIO driver for Realtek HD audio device and more

Yupp asio is installed as I explained in the post. It works for every other app I throw at it. Ive trashed databases, deleted preferences, and ran a repair on PT. I should also mention I'm running 9.0.2.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-21-2011, 09:20 PM
fireal2112 fireal2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 11
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 wont initialize ASIO driver for Realtek HD audio device and more

So I found a workaround........sort of. If I open Reason using the asio driver I get audio through Reason. If I then open up PT while Reason is open, PT see's asio just fine but cant playback because Reason is using it.
If I then close reason and restart PT, everything is all good as long as I open a project at the same sample rate that reason was set to. If I try to open up an 88200 project after a 44100 project PT crashes and hen I have to repeat the process all over again.........this is hella lame.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-22-2011, 09:15 AM
Rsfreak Rsfreak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Montgomery, IL
Posts: 23
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 wont initialize ASIO driver for Realtek HD audio device and more

How many outputs does your realtek sound card say it has under the advanced setting in asio4all? I had an issue like that before and I solved mine by just activating only one of the multiple stereo outputs and decativated all inputs solved my problem. You have to do this in the advanced menu of asio4all. Hope this helps
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-22-2011, 10:06 AM
fireal2112 fireal2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 11
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 wont initialize ASIO driver for Realtek HD audio device and more

Yea I checked that and everything is disabled except my main out in asioforall. Looks like my issue is that my onboard sound card doesn't support 88,200 so when PT starts, it starts by default at 88,200 and won't initialize asioforall. I verified this by going into Reason and changing the sample rate to 88,200, which immediately crashes the sound driver. But once I set it back to 44,100 it's all good. Why the hell would Realtek make a card that could do 192k, but not 88.2k....unless I'm missing something.

Is there any way to change what default sample rate pro tools starts up at? Only way I've found to do it is by tricking it by opening reason first like I stated above.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-22-2011, 10:18 AM
fireal2112 fireal2112 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 11
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 wont initialize ASIO driver for Realtek HD audio device and more

I'd really be interested to see if Digi Support could replicate the problem using an ASUS N71Jq which is on their qualified list, and just a model down from my N73Jq. My guess is that the N71 has a slightly different soundcard than the N73 but who knows.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-22-2011, 12:15 PM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,182
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 wont initialize ASIO driver for Realtek HD audio device and more

Quote:
Originally Posted by fireal2112 View Post
I'd really be interested to see if Digi Support could replicate the problem using an ASUS N71Jq which is on their qualified list, and just a model down from my N73Jq. My guess is that the N71 has a slightly different soundcard than the N73 but who knows.

Followed you right into oblivion... My N71JQ doesnt work on the Realtek with ASIO4ALL at 88,200 either.

I got the ASIO4ALL to switch back from 88,200 by connecting back to my 003R and choosing it as the audio engine. PT started normally. I opened a 44.1 session file just to test and closed it. Then I changed the audio engine back to ASIO4ALL in setup > playback engine and then went to setup > hardware > launch setup app which triggers PT9 to tell you that changes require restarting of PT or something to that effect. Closed out, disconnected from the 003R and PT recognized the ASIO driver in standalone. ASIO4ALL recommends in the manual that changes should be initiated from within the audio application.

The issue is apparently with the Realtek drivers. Possibly there is an updated one? Device manager is showing the current one as 6.0.1.5995 in mine. I usually run at 44.1 or 48 but I'd like to get it straightened out. My 003R runs at 88.2 so no problem there unless I have a session I want to edit with the onboard card.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-22-2011, 12:38 PM
QuikDraw QuikDraw is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Yucaipa, California, USA
Posts: 2,100
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 wont initialize ASIO driver for Realtek HD audio device and more

I think it's more of a general problem with the way PT9 communicates with ASIO drivers. This is very similar to issues that I and other users of the Mackie Onyx 1640i are dealing with. If the settings in the ASIO driver are not exactly what PT9 is set to then it can't communicate. Once PT9 and the ASIO driver are set the same they seem to communicate just fine. Settings for the ASIO driver cannot be successfully adjusted from PT9. It just doesn't work. Other programs have no problems with these same ASIO drivers, so it really seems like a problem with PT9. Maybe PT9 can communicate flawlessly with some ASIO devices, but not all of them.
__________________
-- Mike
- MacBook Pro 15.4" (9,1) - 2.3 GHz i7 16GB RAM
- OS X 10.14.1 Mojave / Windows 10 (Bootcamp) - PT running on Windows partition
- PreSonus Quantum 2
- PreSonus Studio 24c
- MBox 3 Mini
- Mackie Onyx 1640i
- Behringer X32 Producer
- PT 2018.12 (vanilla)
- Various USB2/3 and Firewire hard drives
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-22-2011, 01:11 PM
WKG WKG is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,182
Default Re: Pro Tools 9 wont initialize ASIO driver for Realtek HD audio device and more

Quote:
Originally Posted by QuikDraw View Post
I think it's more of a general problem with the way PT9 communicates with ASIO drivers. This is very similar to issues that I and other users of the Mackie Onyx 1640i are dealing with. If the settings in the ASIO driver are not exactly what PT9 is set to then it can't communicate. Once PT9 and the ASIO driver are set the same they seem to communicate just fine. Settings for the ASIO driver cannot be successfully adjusted from PT9. It just doesn't work. Other programs have no problems with these same ASIO drivers, so it really seems like a problem with PT9. Maybe PT9 can communicate flawlessly with some ASIO devices, but not all of them.
That may be but in this instance there is no option for 88.2 in this particular onboard card setup utility, 44.1, 48, 96, 192 etc. It apparently can't read it, ASIO4ALL cannot communicate with the onboard hardware and PT9 won't start as a result. I have the same Realtek card and run into the same issue when trying to run at 88.2. Other settings work just fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pro Tools could not initialize the current playback device mkpascucci macOS 4 05-01-2012 04:00 PM
Pro Tools could not initialize playback device...... JZProductions Pro Tools 9 2 10-10-2011 10:14 PM
ASIO Digidesign Device driver problem in Cubase tvboy123 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 02-11-2010 03:38 PM
ASIO Driver with 3rd party apps wont work musiclvr165 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-05-2009 01:10 PM
device volume with waveform or asio driver in XP ? edd-- 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 11-08-2004 01:05 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com