Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-03-2020, 03:21 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,068
Default Re: I think I can use an ssd in my old cheesegrater

AdaptaDrive and Irwin look good to me. SSD have no moving parts so both should be equally good, no need to consider vibrations. Their only function is to position the smaller drive correctly so the connectors hit motherboard
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-03-2020, 03:23 AM
Sardi Sardi is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,912
Default Re: I think I can use an ssd in my old cheesegrater

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyduck View Post
I do see what you are getting at, but I am not so sure trying to just stick the connectors to the motherboard would work very well. Hard to even get it back there.

JFreak is right. You can just attach the drive to the slot. I’ve done this before as we didn’t have an adaptor sled on hand and needed to boot the machine.

I’d not leave it there long term without a brace underneath, but seeing as SSDs weigh bugger all, it wouldn’t be the end of the world.

You could probably use the incorrect sled and just drill new mounting holes for the drive. It’s literally just he alignment of the port on the MP that’s different.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-03-2020, 03:38 AM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,173
Default Re: I think I can use an ssd in my old cheesegrater

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
You can just attach the drive to the slot. I’ve done this before...
Me too.
I've done this aswell.
Stuck a empty matchbox under it for support, and it worked fine for a couple of years.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-03-2020, 07:21 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 494
Default Re: I think I can use an ssd in my old cheesegrater

Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyduck View Post
Oh, well mine is a 2006 4-core 3.0 Ghz "built-to-order". https://everymac.com/systems/apple/m...3.0-specs.html

Can you confirm whether the adaptadrive would work with a 2006 machine?

According to owc, that sled they sell doesn't work with anything pre-2009.

I called them today, and the salesman sent a link to something he thought might work. Looks a lot like the one you referenced, right? But no extra pin connectors to mess with.

https://eshop.macsales.com/item/OWC/ADPSAS2535B/. [The one owc linked me to]

https://eshop.macsales.com/item/Newe...hoC6ksQAvD_BwE [The one you referenced, right?]
Don't bother with that OWC bracket, it's made for SAS drives and needs external cabling.

And yes that NewerTech is the one. It should work just fine in any computer. It's designed to fit just like a 3.5" drive. I think they're better constructed than some of the cheap Amazon adapters.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-03-2020, 07:50 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,677
Default Re: I think I can use an ssd in my old cheesegrater

Yep Will is correct. What the frigging hell is wrong with this OWC guy. I sent you there hoping you would get quick easy help and not have somebody there waste your time. They are usually better than this.

This is way harder than it should be. As other have pointed out lots of adapter sleds should work, but they have to be designed for the Mac Pro to get the exact correct connector placement.

A quick Google of "Mac Pro 1,1 2.5 drive adapter" lead directly to this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M8ASXOD5h5g Amusingly over-detailed instructions in that video... but you are set.

And here is the sled he is using... https://www.amazon.com/SMR-DRIVESLED.../dp/B01EBHFS0O

There will be many other options out there. including lots of 3.5" carriers that connect to a 2.5" drive SATA connector using a short cable, I don't like those, just another thing to go wrong. I've used the OWC 2.5" carriers in previous later model Mac Pro, not sure what changed between drive carriers in different generations of the Cheesegraters, but all that has been a waste of time here.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-03-2020, 09:25 PM
smurfyou smurfyou is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 494
Default Re: I think I can use an ssd in my old cheesegrater

Darryl, incidentally I tried a couple of those adapter plates from Wegener Media. I could not get them to fit in my 2010 cMP. No amount of fiddling would do and of course I was past my return window.

I think I still have two - mightyduck if you want to try them PM me.
__________________
~Will
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-03-2020, 09:55 PM
mightyduck's Avatar
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 413
Default Re: I think I can use an ssd in my old cheesegrater

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Yep Will is correct. What the frigging hell is wrong with this OWC guy. I sent you there hoping you would get quick easy help and not have somebody there waste your time. They are usually better than this.

This is way harder than it should be. As other have pointed out lots of adapter sleds should work, but they have to be designed for the Mac Pro to get the exact correct connector placement.

A quick Google of "Mac Pro 1,1 2.5 drive adapter" lead directly to this.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M8ASXOD5h5g Amusingly over-detailed instructions in that video... but you are set.

And here is the sled he is using... https://www.amazon.com/SMR-DRIVESLED.../dp/B01EBHFS0O

There will be many other options out there. including lots of 3.5" carriers that connect to a 2.5" drive SATA connector using a short cable, I don't like those, just another thing to go wrong. I've used the OWC 2.5" carriers in previous later model Mac Pro, not sure what changed between drive carriers in different generations of the Cheesegraters, but all that has been a waste of time here.

Right, Darryl. But you have to follow along so it not time wasted. : )

FWIW, I posted the links you just posted quite a few posts ago.

I don’t know what’s the big difference between the sleds from the different build years either? Does anyone? Can this mystery be solved? Is it all a trick or what?


Best,

mightyduck
__________________
MD
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-04-2020, 01:35 AM
mightyduck's Avatar
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 413
Default Re: I think I can use an ssd in my old cheesegrater

Only thing I don't like about the Newtech is the extra PC board / pins. Seems unnecessary and a source of slow-down / glitchiness. I hear you guys though, and I guess its worked good for you. So maybe I'm just being picky.

I kind of like this one for some reason, and it says it will definitely fit w/money back guarantee. [Whatever, the shipping is probably more than the price of the item].

https://www.amazon.com/MAC-Drive-Sle.../dp/B01M366L82

Anybody ever use one?



Thanks,

mightyduck
__________________
MD
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-27-2020, 04:16 AM
mightyduck's Avatar
mightyduck mightyduck is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: los angeles united states
Posts: 413
Default Re: I think I can use an ssd in my old cheesegrater

OK, so I installed the SSD using the high-tech piece of plastic shown here:

https://www.amazon.com/MAC-Drive-Sle.../dp/B01M366L82

Its about 500GB Samsung Evo.

Any particular recommendations on how to format it? Or how best to get the data from the old one onto it?

Using the mighty and amazing Disk Warrior, I was able to copy virtually everything from the old non-working drive onto other [working] drives in the computer. Figured I'd just copy the stuff back onto the new SSD, probably after clean-installing the OS. I am not sure how I am going to update from 10.4.7 to 10.4.9. Where would I find the updater?


Best,

mightduck
__________________
MD

Last edited by mightyduck; 03-27-2020 at 04:27 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-27-2020, 04:19 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,068
Default Re: I think I can use an ssd in my old cheesegrater

OS installers have been in Apple App Store since Lion so go search there
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4,1 cheesegrater with thunderbolt? Audiosweeet macOS 4 11-25-2019 05:58 AM
Bluray in a 2012 MacPro cheesegrater musicman691 General Discussion 2 01-07-2019 05:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com