Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Getting Started

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-28-2020, 01:10 PM
Just Another Guy Just Another Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 9
Default Avid Artist Mix Driver & Firmware Trouble - Please Help!

I just recently updated from 10.8.5 to 10.11.6 (Mac OSX), and my EU Control advised me to update the firmware for my Artist Mix, but now I get an update firmware message every time I restart the Eucon Applications (I also am now using Eu Control 3.2.2 - is this the wrong driver?)

I am thinking of going to Sierra (Mac OSX 10.12), but I wanted to see if I could get things working properly before I move to Sierra since I would have to use different Mastering Software (Waveburner no longer supported after 10.11.6), which means I would have to buy a new platform, which I wanted to avoid if possible. Please help!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2020, 02:30 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,275
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Driver & Firmware Trouble - Please Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just Another Guy View Post
I just recently updated from 10.8.5 to 10.11.6 (Mac OSX), and my EU Control advised me to update the firmware for my Artist Mix, but now I get an update firmware message every time I restart the Eucon Applications (I also am now using Eu Control 3.2.2 - is this the wrong driver?)

I am thinking of going to Sierra (Mac OSX 10.12), but I wanted to see if I could get things working properly before I move to Sierra since I would have to use different Mastering Software (Waveburner no longer supported after 10.11.6), which means I would have to buy a new platform, which I wanted to avoid if possible. Please help!!
Your problem is you're (if your profile info is correct) running an incompatible combination of PT 11 and El Crapitan. Take at the chart on this page for compatibility: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart


How and why did you go to El Crapitan anyways? There's a reason it has that nickname as it's possibly the worst OSX Apple ever put out. I'm guessing you did an in-situ move where you install the new OSX over the existing one. That's never a good thing even though it's the Apple Way.


If you want to keep using PT 11 you're going to have to back date to OSX 10.10.5. PT 11.3.2 can work on Sierra but to import audio you have to drag and drop from OSX Finder. And it's not the most stable of setups. Also that's still not strictly compatible with PT 11


So you've got some thinking to do along the lines of: what is the most important piece of s/w you use? PT or Waveburner. If you need CD burning there are other programs - Steinberg Wavelab Elements is my current s/w for that function. If you don't need CD burning you could always master in PT. Stay away from DSP Quattro for mastering and cd burning - there are issues the developer doesn't care enough about to fix them. And think long and hard about why you went to El Crapitan.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2020, 03:42 PM
Just Another Guy Just Another Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 9
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Driver & Firmware Trouble - Please Help!

I am mostly interested in making my Avid Artist Mix work. That's the number one priority. I am not opposed to updating to Sierra, but I really need to find a solution for the Artist Mix. I have a license for Pro Tools 12, and I have a clone of my old system if I need or want it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2020, 05:43 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,275
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Driver & Firmware Trouble - Please Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just Another Guy View Post
I am mostly interested in making my Avid Artist Mix work. That's the number one priority. I am not opposed to updating to Sierra, but I really need to find a solution for the Artist Mix. I have a license for Pro Tools 12, and I have a clone of my old system if I need or want it.
You really should update your profile info because a lot of problems can happen because of incompatibilities between PT version and OSX version. So you're using PT12 then right? You can never give too much info when asking for help here.

But really you need to get rid of El Crapitan. A very important question you haven't answered and needs to be answered - how did you get El Crapitan on your computer? In-situ which is over the top of the existing OSX install or a clean install? Clean installs of everything are the way to go with OSX upgrades. And of course why the move to EC?
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-28-2020, 08:13 PM
Just Another Guy Just Another Guy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 9
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Driver & Firmware Trouble - Please Help!

Thank you @musicman691 for your replies! I installed El Capitan as an update. They are still available on the Apple Site. I'm not sure what the question about "moving" to EU means. I have an Avid Artist Mix, so would I not need EU Control in order to run it and have it talk to my applications? I need to know what version of it I need for this operating system, why it asks me to update the firmware and then doesn't allow it, and why there are large yellow blocks on the Artist Mix screen instead of the usual little dotted rectangles when it's not in use.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2020, 04:22 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,275
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Driver & Firmware Trouble - Please Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Just Another Guy View Post
Thank you @musicman691 for your replies! I installed El Capitan as an update. They are still available on the Apple Site. I'm not sure what the question about "moving" to EU means. I have an Avid Artist Mix, so would I not need EU Control in order to run it and have it talk to my applications? I need to know what version of it I need for this operating system, why it asks me to update the firmware and then doesn't allow it, and why there are large yellow blocks on the Artist Mix screen instead of the usual little dotted rectangles when it's not in use.
You did the update all wrong and that's part of the problem you're having. It may be the 'Apple Way' but it's NOT the right way if you want a fully functioning system. Not only that but as I keep saying and just about everyone else here will agree is that El Crapitan is possibly the worst OSX Apple put out.

I didn't mention anything about moving to EU - don't know where you got that. There's some work you're going to have to do yourself. First is to see what version of Eucontrol you need for either Sierra or High Sierra. That also means do a clean install of either OSX version. Just going over the top of an existing install won't cut it. THEN do a completely clean install of PT and your plugins. Do NOT use Migration Assassin or Time Machine to do the job. Then install whatever revision of Eucontrol you need.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-29-2020, 05:16 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 19,115
Default Re: Avid Artist Mix Driver & Firmware Trouble - Please Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
El Crapitan is possibly the worst OSX Apple put out
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicman691 View Post
Do NOT use Migration Assassin or Time Machine to do the job.
Also yes.
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Artist Chat window in Avid Artist Community taylor4814 Pro Tools 2018 0 01-25-2017 06:30 AM
2 avid artist mixes and one artist control V2 for sale Brandonx1 Buy & Sell 2 03-21-2016 09:55 PM
Avid Artist Mix (x2) and Avid Artist Control khoop2112 Buy & Sell 0 11-07-2015 05:32 AM
Avid Artist Mix Series & EuControl Driver Ha s A Bug! shamanrock Artist Series 1 09-21-2015 09:58 PM
Artist Control Firmware Update Mark Ziebarth Artist Series 8 05-13-2015 08:36 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com