Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools | First Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2018, 12:01 PM
Sonic Blue Meanie Sonic Blue Meanie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 77
Default FireWire 800 to Thunderbolt 3

New Protools First puzzler. I have a Glyph external HD with a FireWire 800 out. I have a new iMac that does not support this. It will only take a thunderbolt 3 in. Would someone mind pointing me to the adapter(s) I will need to hook the XHD up to my new iMac? Also looking for sources to purchase this. Guitar Center didn't have anything like this, as well as Sweetwater. Please let me know if I can supply more detail. Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-28-2018, 12:04 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,247
Default Re: FireWire 800 to Thunderbolt 3

Apple Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 adapter.

going into

Apple Thunderbolt to Firewire adapter.

---

Or a Thunderbolt 3 dock like the one OWC sells with a Firewire 800 port on it (the 13 port model not the more recent 14 port one).

(this question has been answered on DUC before)

But.. before spending money on adapters...spinning disk is so last century. Do you have an SSD in that iMac? If this Firewire HDD is being used for audio/session you will be much better off running the sessions on the internal super-fast PCIe/NVMe SSD.

And if you really want an external drive lower-end USB-3.1 SSDs like the Samsung T5 will blow this HDD out the water, much faster, much more robust and reliable. Higher-end Thunderbolt 3/NVMe external SSDs like the Samsung X5 or Sonnet Fusion SSD are much faster again. Keep backups/archives on HDD, they are great for that.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 12-28-2018 at 12:26 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-28-2018, 01:37 PM
Sonic Blue Meanie Sonic Blue Meanie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 77
Default Re: FireWire 800 to Thunderbolt 3

Great, thank you! I've been out of the loop for a year or so after moving and an old IMac crash, which has led me to the new Imac with this Thunderbolt compatibility issue. I'm def not married to the Glyph, it's just that it has all my song files on it, and I'm desperately trying to access them. If you have any links to previous threads or to recording via the SSD card slot, I would be thrilled to explore it more. Please forgive my terminology, playing catch up on the new technology. Thanks again!
__________________
Mac OS High Sierra
Version 10.13.6
3.5 GHz Inte Core i5
8 GB
Protools First/Scarlett 2i4
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-28-2018, 01:37 PM
ChuckS ChuckS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,236
Default Re: FireWire 800 to Thunderbolt 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post

But.. before spending money on adapters...spinning disk is so last century. Do you have an SSD in that iMac? If this Firewire HDD is being used for audio/session you will be much better off running the sessions on the internal super-fast PCIe/NVMe SSD.

And if you really want an external drive lower-end USB-3.1 SSDs like the Samsung T5 will blow this HDD out the water, much faster, much more robust and reliable. Higher-end Thunderbolt 3/NVMe external SSDs like the Samsung X5 or Sonnet Fusion SSD are much faster again. Keep backups/archives on HDD, they are great for that.
This ^^^

Don't waste your money on expensive cables.
__________________
PT 2020.5 DP 10.11 VEP 7.x MOTU M4 HP Envy 8G i7 Quad Laptop Win10 (x64 20H2)
PT 2020.5 DP 10.11 VEP 7.x 828mkII ADA8200 MTP-AV 2011 Mac Mini i7 Quad High Sierra.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-28-2018, 02:51 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 12,958
Default Re: FireWire 800 to Thunderbolt 3

For the cost of the adapters needed you can buy a 500GB Samsung Evo SSD drive which as Darryl said will be MUCH faster. The spinner drive you have now will cost you $100 or more to get working so I would use a friends computer for that drive and transfer the content to a new SSD drive like the Samsung EVO 500GB or bigger.
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-28-2018, 03:29 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,247
Default Re: FireWire 800 to Thunderbolt 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonic Blue Meanie View Post
Great, thank you! I've been out of the loop for a year or so after moving and an old IMac crash, which has led me to the new Imac with this Thunderbolt compatibility issue. I'm def not married to the Glyph, it's just that it has all my song files on it, and I'm desperately trying to access them. If you have any links to previous threads or to recording via the SSD card slot, I would be thrilled to explore it more. Please forgive my terminology, playing catch up on the new technology. Thanks again!
I did not say record to the "SSD card slot".. and you are confusing an internal SSD (solid state drive) with SD (secure digital... silly meaningless name) card slot. I asked if you had a SSD internal drive. What *exact* model/spec drive(s) go you have in the iMac. the System Report utility tells you all that (or look on the order for the Mac).

As Chris said, I would find another computer to use to transfer the content to your new iMac. And I hope that is not your only copy and you have multiple backups elsewhere, including on cloud storage and/or offsite.

If you can run off the internal SSD then your concern should be focused on having multiple backups, including full clones of the internal drive (Carbon Copy Cloner is likely the best tool) and possible separate archives of sessions, and for that you should be looking at external USB hard disk drives (not fast SSD).

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 12-28-2018 at 03:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-28-2018, 04:06 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,247
Default Re: FireWire 800 to Thunderbolt 3

Bzzzt hang on... you said Pro Tools *First* to use old existing sessions on an external drive.

... Pro Tools First does not read sessions, it only works with cloud projects. You need Pro Tools (standard) or Pro Tools Ultimate to work with sessions on disk.

Last edited by Darryl Ramm; 12-28-2018 at 10:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-28-2018, 07:58 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,982
Default FireWire 800 to Thunderbolt 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Bzzzt hand on... you said Pro Tools *First* to use old existing sessions on an external drive.

... Pro Tools First does not read sessions, it only works with cloud projects. You need Pro Tools (standard) or Pro Tools Ultimate to work with sessions on disk.


He/she could have purchased the option to store projects locally.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-28-2018, 10:32 PM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 14,247
Default Re: FireWire 800 to Thunderbolt 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sardi View Post
He/she could have purchased the option to store projects locally.
And so *not* the way to go IMNSHO...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-29-2018, 02:50 AM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,982
Default FireWire 800 to Thunderbolt 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
And so *not* the way to go IMNSHO...


I agree, but not really the point I was making.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire to Thunderbolt 3/USB-C FreeHUEY FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 1 01-09-2017 01:10 PM
Thunderbolt to firewire adaptor....? John-ptk Pro Tools 12 7 08-11-2016 04:27 AM
Thunderbolt-Firewire? mspin 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 06-23-2016 08:58 AM
Firewire over Thunderbolt? Cowboy Bob FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) 2 09-19-2013 02:09 PM
Thunderbolt to FireWire 400 KyleWetherington 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-29-2012 08:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com