Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2007, 04:04 AM
Mbox2digi Mbox2digi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default Any Mbox2 Mini/MAC Mini Intel Users? Need help with Reason

Mbox2 Mini/MAC mini/Mac OS 10.4/1.83 GHz Intel Core Duo/1 GB 667 MHz DDR2/250 LaCie Drive

This is a small system i'm running on. It seems to work for the small projects i'm doing. Mostly for writting purposes. The one problem that I ran into (and I think it's a ram issue) is that I cannot access the rewire feature for Reason 3.0. I don't even get the rewire option in the instrument section on Protools. I can however open Reason by itself and use it with my midi keyboard. I have uninstalled both protools and reason and reinstalled twice already but still no luck. This has been the only problem that I have encountered with this system. Other than this, everything else works great.

Has anyone else had this problem? Any fixes before I try to purchase more RAM or am I just stuck with this MAC mini since I can only upgrade it to 2GB max?

-Steve
steve.rosales@sbcglobal.net
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2007, 08:20 AM
mnoxious mnoxious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 160
Default Re: Any Mbox2 Mini/MAC Mini Intel Users? Need help with Reason

I had a similar problem, except I was using Reason 2.5 with an Intel Macbook. Here's what the tech guys at Propellerhead sent me:

"The problem should be solved if you search for and delete the Application
Support/Propellerhead software folder and the Reason files in
username/Library/Preferences folder and reinstall the software.

Do a system wide search for the following files:

Rex Shared Library
ReWire
Reason Engine
Reason Preferences

Delete all instances of found files having the exact names as above.
Delete your Reason folder, ensuring you have moved any personal files which you
might keep in your Reason folder before deleting it.

Reinstall Reason."

I don't know if it will work for sure on your machine but it's worth a try. If you continue having problems contact the Propellerhead tech support.

As far as upgrading ram, you should probably do that too. I recently upgraded from 1GB to 2GB and have noticed a world of difference especially in regards to plug-in count. I don't think your Reason/Rewire problem has anything to do with the amount of Ram you have but 2GB is always a good idea.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2007, 08:25 AM
maxpidge maxpidge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 103
Default Re: Any Mbox2 Mini/MAC Mini Intel Users? Need help with Reason

i dont use reason but ive read you need 3.0.5 for intel mac's
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-31-2007, 08:37 AM
mnoxious mnoxious is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 160
Default Re: Any Mbox2 Mini/MAC Mini Intel Users? Need help with Reason

I think you're right. Sometimes I get my machines mixed up. I'm running Reason 2.5 on my PPC G4 and Reason Adapted on my Intel Mac. Anyway you can upgrade to 3.0.5 on Propellerhead's website (i think it's free for all 3.0 owners) and then trash the prefs as stated above if you are still having problems.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBox2 Mini - Upgrade Hardware to MBox2 Pro gjmunro 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 08-14-2009 02:09 AM
My MBOX2 and MBOX2 mini won't work in Europe? jonslaten 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 10 03-25-2009 04:12 PM
Mac Mini 1.83GHz Intel Dual Core with MBox2? Guy Staley 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 11-26-2006 11:50 AM
Mac Mini Intel users question iTwang 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 10-08-2006 08:20 PM
Intel Mac mini... PT not showing Reason xian$ 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 09-18-2006 02:58 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:14 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com