Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2018, 12:13 AM
Stephen Webster Stephen Webster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 109
Default RX580 + HDX on a Cheesgrater Macpro5.1

Anyone running a RX580 8GB in combination with and HDX card?

I have been through several threads regarding upgrading the GPU's in the cheesegrater Mac Pro's, but cant seem to find a solid answer...

I would like to install a RX580 that needs additional power from the board, which the HDX card is using. It seems though that the HDX card could take power from the unused SATA port with an adapter cable (attached). But i'm interested to know if the power supply will handle this?

Macpro 5.1 Mid 2010, 12 Core, 2.93Ghz
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 618Qxf6ecmL._SX679_.jpg (23.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2018, 10:06 AM
BScout BScout is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: RX580 + HDX on a Cheesgrater Macpro5.1

I do it for my Graphics and the power supply is fine. However, I have the HDX cards wired to the standard power leads and the Graphics wired to the SATA power.
__________________
Pro Tools Ult 2019.12, HDX 3, MTRX/SPQ, HD OmniMac Pro 5,1 - 3.06 GHz 12 core - macOS 10.13.6RAM 64GB, SSD 4 x 2TB, GPU GTX 980 4GB
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2018, 02:51 PM
arche3's Avatar
arche3 arche3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 924
Default Re: RX580 + HDX on a Cheesgrater Macpro5.1

I did a bunch of research. The 580 draws a lot of power. The safest way is an extra external power supply. The SATA power tap can be used but depends on what other devices you are using. Even so. From the mac mods forums they recommend an extra power supply. Which is what I did. You run the lead in from an empty pcie slot back panel opening or remove a optical and put power lead in from front Cdr slot.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-25-2018, 03:15 AM
Stephen Webster Stephen Webster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 109
Default Re: RX580 + HDX on a Cheesgrater Macpro5.1

Thanks Guys!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-08-2020, 03:55 PM
innesireinar innesireinar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 727
Default Re: RX580 + HDX on a Cheesgrater Macpro5.1

The 2020.xxx could be mojave and above. Given that now I can't afford a 7.1 I probabily need to upgrade the video card on my old 5.1. The last post of this topic is almost two years old and I wonder what is the best way to go today. I have the hdx. Anyone?
__________________
Avid HDX - Avid HD I/O 16x16 Analog - Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 - Cubase Pro 10
Mac Pro 5.1 quadcore 2.8 16GB Ram - Mac OS 10.13.6
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-26-2020, 10:23 AM
iljunegate iljunegate is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Milan Italy
Posts: 18
Default Re: RX580 + HDX on a Cheesgrater Macpro5.1

I'm buying the msi 560. seems it don't need the extra power cable and support metal and mojave
__________________
Mac Pro 2012 12 core 24gb ram 1tb ssd pcie
osx high Sierra 10.13.6
Pro tools Ultimate 2019.10
Avid HDX card
2x Avid HD I/O 16i/o
Api 1608
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-28-2020, 04:42 PM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,226
Default Re: RX580 + HDX on a Cheesgrater Macpro5.1

2 Mac Pro mini 6 pin pciepower to 8 pin on MVC 580 card (Supplied cables)-((Spliced in for 1-HDX micro 4))
Alt: 1 mini 6 Pin to 8 pin cable for vid plus 1 mini 6 pin to HDX cards (Supplied with Cards)
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

APFS 90% 10% Audio on Both.

Pro Tools U-2020.5 macOS 10.14.6 APFS
Second boot-macOS 10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(2k10MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MVC-Edition-dual mini 6 pin. one spliced to add Avid mini 4 pin-hdx)
FW-CoreAudio (for poly-recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDIoverIP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
new systems builds / upkeep / +
----
New builds:
12 core nMP HDX 1 Slot 5 stock HDX Mac mini 6pin to 4 pin HDX power like 5,1 mp's used)
16 core nMP rack-test station
28 just because machine
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDX on MacPro5.1 Westmere,Xeon W3690, PT12.8.3 HD? alonper Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 16 06-26-2018 04:47 PM
Mid 2012 MacPro5.1 6core 3.33 for PT12 ? SD70 Pro Tools 12 2 05-21-2018 04:04 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com