Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Eleven Rack

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2013, 09:06 AM
TMitchJobe TMitchJobe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default Connecting Eleven Rack to Digi 002 Rack

I would like to connect my 11R to my Digi 002 rack digitally but I am already using the optical input on my Digi 002 for spdif optical from my MAC to get audio from MAC to ProTools. Is there a way to convert my optical spdif signal from my MAC to ADAT so I can configure Protools to use optical for ADAT?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-02-2013, 09:43 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,427
Default Connecting Eleven Rack to Digi 002 Rack

Not without using an outboard S/PDIF to ADAT converter box, which might cost more than the Eleven Rack. Just attach the Eleven Rack to the 002 using line level analog, or if you want to spend money upgrade the interface. And I do not follow exactly how this would help you anyhow. And the Eleven Rack does not do ADAT, you would have to run them both into an external ADAT converter.

I am also not sure what exact audio you need to get from the Mac to Pro Tools in the first place, and why that needs to tie up your S/PDIF port. If its digital audio on the Mac just drag it into the Pro Tools session.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-02-2013, 09:56 AM
TMitchJobe TMitchJobe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: Connecting Eleven Rack to Digi 002 Rack

I like to be able to play music on my iMac through my Digi Rack because my nice monitors are attached to my Digi Rack. I also like to practice with audio that is on my iMac without having to drag the music file into ProTools.

What features or qualities do I lose with my Eleven Rack if I connect it via analog to the 002 rack?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-2013, 09:59 AM
TMitchJobe TMitchJobe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: Connecting Eleven Rack to Digi 002 Rack

ps I was thinking about converting the optical spdif out of my iMac to ADAT and saving the nonoptical spdif for the 11 rack.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-02-2013, 10:03 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,427
Default Connecting Eleven Rack to Digi 002 Rack

Compared to not being connected at all, connecting it via analog works...

You lose no features/capabilities at all between doing this digitally or via line level analog (even track rig embedding works), its just the potential loss of audio quality with the extra AD/DA and/or DA/AD conversion steps. Do a test an see if you can even notice this.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-02-2013, 10:13 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,427
Default Connecting Eleven Rack to Digi 002 Rack

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMitchJobe View Post
ps I was thinking about converting the optical spdif out of my iMac to ADAT and saving the nonoptical spdif for the 11 rack.
OK now I get it.

You can also just switch digital input settings on the 002 to switch between spiff on optical and coaxial assuming you never need both at once. Or buy a monitor control box...

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-02-2013, 10:21 AM
TMitchJobe TMitchJobe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: Connecting Eleven Rack to Digi 002 Rack

If I connect my 11R to 002R with analog do I just use an XLR cable and connect to two of the mic inputs on my 002R or is there a cable with XLR on one end and line on the other?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-02-2013, 10:39 AM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: Connecting Eleven Rack to Digi 002 Rack

I choose to connect my 11R via SPDIF and my computer audio via analog. Since I'm playing a wide variety of media on the computer of varying quality I felt its less of a priority compared to having the best signal for recording.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-02-2013, 10:44 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,561
Default Re: Connecting Eleven Rack to Digi 002 Rack

Quote:
Originally Posted by TMitchJobe View Post
If I connect my 11R to 002R with analog do I just use an XLR cable and connect to two of the mic inputs on my 002R or is there a cable with XLR on one end and line on the other?
As you know the main outs on the 11R are XLR and so are the 002R I'd imagine. You would need to pad down the levels coming out of the 11R to go into the mic inputs on the 002R. There are cables that go from XLR to 1/4 inch 'line' connections but nothing that I know of that would have a pad inside them.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-02-2013, 10:48 AM
TMitchJobe TMitchJobe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12
Default Re: Connecting Eleven Rack to Digi 002 Rack

Is there any way to connect to the 002 with the AES/EBU digital?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Rme Babyface And Eleven Rack Digitally kimballob Eleven Rack 0 09-02-2013 10:50 AM
Connecting GR-55 to Eleven Rack Troubleshoot mrsirjmiller Eleven Rack 1 08-18-2013 05:41 PM
Eleven Rack window responds to changes on Eleven Rack, unable to record. pine Eleven Rack 6 08-02-2012 07:50 PM
Eleven Rack and Eleven Rack control window not matching 11R Newbie Eleven Rack 3 04-18-2012 06:07 PM
Connecting Digi 002 rack to Beta. mgoorevich 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 0 04-10-2005 05:00 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com