Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 03-24-2016, 12:51 PM
eesn eesn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: london
Posts: 152
Default Re: 12.5 : No way, no way, no way

Quote:
Originally Posted by controlfader View Post
the only way for customers to fight against this is to boycott all purchases, and cancel all payments to such corporations until they change they ways.
this.
but doing the right thing costs more than accepting the **** offer. and so people don't do it.

there are market segments, like e.g. post-production, where you cannot not use Pro Tools. I see people grit their teeth and buy PTHD when confronted with the idea of moving to another DAW (e.g. Nuendo). Avid know this all too well. There's no protection (or even definition) of the users' rights to stable and bug-free software or to influence the course of development, and Avid are among the worst companies exploiting this status quo.

the real shame is in how much a vanilla bugfix point release would earn Avid back relationship points. why they wouldn't do it is a mystery.
__________________
pt hd 12, rme fireface ucx, artist control v2, i7 16gb osx 10.12
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 03-24-2016, 12:54 PM
Wireline Wireline is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Midland TX
Posts: 141
Default Re: 12.5 : No way, no way, no way

There may be (MAY!!!) a way to do what is asked...

Invest into enough IZ RADAR units running PT on them (yes, you can do this now)... Its my understanding that the new Super Nyquist units will record and work all 24 tracks at 192K...multiple that times 8...

They ain't cheap...

Don't know if PTHD plugs are workable up there or not, but you may find running your goodies thru their ADDA may make you change your mind about operating that high..
__________________
Ken Morgan
Midland, TX
It Doesn't Matter What I Did Then - What I Do Now Is What's Important
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 03-24-2016, 01:35 PM
tundra tundra is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 175
Default Re: 12.5 : No way, no way, no way

I wonder how much jitter you are getting...

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmbourget View Post
1) Because I hear the difference on vocals (texture).

2) Because of the high level engineers advised me to do so if my system can do (and keep all 32-bit floating as long as possible. There are even studio and systems - Pyramix - that make 48 bits, for example in Germany:https://www.pirouet.com/home/studio_d.php?page=6)

3) Because the equipment allows.

But that's not what I wanted to highlight. We wondered why there some years, recording higher than 44.1 and 16 bits. The standard is now 96 kHz and 24 bit. Why ? The same reasons will apply to meet again, to a quest continum (as in analog). Many qualitative factors interact, and this is one. But I do not want to get into this discussion further. That said very politely. There are treads on the subject, I think.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 03-24-2016, 01:49 PM
houser houser is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Santa Monica
Posts: 657
Default Re: 12.5 : No way, no way, no way

Quote:
Originally Posted by eesn View Post
even definition) the real shame is in how much a vanilla bugfix point release would earn Avid back relationship points. why they wouldn't do it is a mystery.
Good point. Bug free software would be an excellent business idea. I'm in if they do it.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03-24-2016, 01:59 PM
AlexLakis AlexLakis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Annapolis, MD
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: 12.5 : No way, no way, no way

My 12.1 002 rig on OSX 10.8.5 has been the most stable Pro Tools rig I've ever used (as in absolutely zero crashes or holdups...and yes, that includes various HD systems).

But no, they're not getting any more money out of me. Not with the way they do business. Nothing but a tank full of sharks with golden parachutes...

And, yeah, Ideascale continues to be the joke it always has been. No surprises there.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03-24-2016, 02:18 PM
cmbourget cmbourget is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Métis-sur-Mer, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 552
Default Re: 12.5 : No way, no way, no way

Quote:
Originally Posted by tundra View Post
I wonder how much jitter you are getting...
What do you mean ?
__________________
Pro Tools Vanilla 2019, Cubase 10, Samplitude Suite Pro X4

PC Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E5-2667 v2 8 cores
3.33 GHz 64 Go, full SSD

Prism sound Atlas and 2 Focal Solo Be + Sub

www.claudemarcbourget.com
www.metis-islands.com
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03-24-2016, 03:00 PM
JuanPC JuanPC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Miami FL
Posts: 600
Default Re: 12.5 : No way, no way, no way

12.5 is to keep investors, stock holders, happy...

PT owners vs. stock market. LOL Jajajajajaaja
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03-24-2016, 04:07 PM
Justin1524 Justin1524 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 613
Default Re: 12.5 : No way, no way, no way

Fix HD core audio driver in El Capitan in 12.5 - it does not show up in Sound Prefs.
__________________
Justin
Admin
www.elevenrackpresets.com
Studio: 2010 Mac Pro Tower Intel Xeon 12 core 3.33 GHz, 64 GB macOS Sierra PCIe SSD 256GB Boot | Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.4 | HD Native Card | Digi 192 Analog & 192 Digital Blue | Digi PRE, FR OctoPre MKII, Mackie Onyx 800R, Panasonic WZ-AD96M and DA7, Eleven Rack, Apogee Big Ben, Waves DLI, Impact Server, Horizon, Rode K2. Laptop: Dell Inspiron 5559, i7-6500U 2.6Ghz, 16 GB RAM, 15.6" 1920x1080 1TB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 03-25-2016, 06:21 AM
cut cut is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 77
Default Re: 12.5 : No way, no way, no way

Running 12.4 on my machine at my place, and running/managing 2 post suites at a sports network - all flawlessly. In fact it was my call to go to 12.4 at the network - it was a good call. HDX on mac Pro tower. Running Mavs at my place and Yose at the network. The only slightly buggy aspect is the workspace/databases. I use the database manager app to delete and rebuild in like 90 seconds and I am back up and running. Personally I have turned around a lot of primetime TV on 12.4 already and loving it. I don't use VI's a lot so that may be the difference here - but I had to share the bright side.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 03-25-2016, 11:22 AM
SDDP SDDP is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angles, CA
Posts: 501
Default Re: 12.5 : No way, no way, no way

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmbourget View Post
What do you mean ?
I think he meant clocking to an external source for a much better & cleaner clocking signal and thus avoid even the slightest and subtle jitter. Like an Avid SYNC HD.
__________________
-Mac Pro 5,1 12core 2.4GHz Westmere 40g
-RX 580 8GB GPU
-OSX 10.12.6 on a 1TB SSD Via PCIE card
-PTHDN 2019.5 Ultimate
-HD Omni
-BM Intensity Pro

-Waves Mercury+SSL4000 Collection+Abbey Roads
-iZotope RX7 Advanced
-iZotope Post Production Suite 3
-iZotope Music Production Suite 2.1
-HALO UP/DOWN MIX
-ANYMIX
-Delonghi Perfecta ESAM 5600.S
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com