Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-29-2013, 08:30 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default eSATA & USB2

I'm just looking at moving a bunch of drives in to external enclosures, and from a couple of conversations I've had with some computer nerds, it seems there has been a history of enclosures that feature both eSATA & USB2 destroying the data on the drive if you ever use the USB connection.

Anybody ever heard of that before?

It's news to me, but it seems that if you ever move data via the USB port, there is a possibility of it corrupting all the existing data on the drive - to the point the drive is unusable unless reformatted.

Sounds pretty scary, so I wondered if anybody here had any experience one way or the other.

For the most part I'd only need the eSATA connection, but I can certainly see situations where I would need to use the USB port.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-29-2013, 08:39 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,322
Default Re: eSATA & USB2

Never had a problem, I have some macally enclosures that I've been using for about 4-5 years, and most of the time I use the usb connection.
__________________
- John

If a MIDI event triggers a sample of a tree falling and there's no one there to hear it, does it make a sound?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-29-2013, 08:50 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,742
Default Re: eSATA & USB2

I also have never had an issue, but eSATA is waaaaaay faster than USB2. I have a drive in a BlacX SATA dock and have used both connections. With HD and RAM caching, you can watch the meter as audio is loaded into RAM. The same session loads in about 4 seconds on eSATA and 14 seconds on USB2
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-29-2013, 11:46 AM
Carl Kolchak Carl Kolchak is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: U.K.
Posts: 2,198
Default Re: eSATA & USB2

Cheers guys!

Good to hear.

When I instal the drives in the enclosures I'll do a torture test using the USB port, to see if it does cause any problems, before wiping the drives - I'll report back if I see any corrupted data / frozen drives, but your reports are very encouraging.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-29-2013, 12:45 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: eSATA & USB2

I could imagine it happening if you tried to use both connections at the same time... but I've never heard of it happening when alternating. I have a pair of Macally enclosures with FW, eSATA and USB. I've alternated between all 3 connections at some point and never had any issues.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-29-2013, 05:40 PM
sunburst79 sunburst79 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio USA
Posts: 12,763
Default Re: eSATA & USB2

Never had any issues here. Although I can't say as I've tried "bridging" interfaces. I would think the OS would pick the one connection and stick with it.
__________________
Scott

Formerly Hobo Wan Kenobi

Core 2 Specs Page

ASUS P6T6 Revolution | i7 930 | 12GB OCZ DDR3 1600 7-7-7-20 | PTLE 10 | CPTK | 003 | Presonus D8 | 11Rack | Alesis AI3 | Presonus HP60 | Mercury + Studio Classics | Sound Toys | MasseyPack | Axiom61 | MAudio Keystation Pro 88
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-29-2013, 09:39 PM
Benoni's Avatar
Benoni Benoni is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Behind YOU!!
Posts: 9,629
Default Re: eSATA & USB2

Never had any issues here either with USB and eSata enclosures.

The only time I might get a warning that my drive needs to be checked for errors is if I have it hooked up to one system and delete something, which puts it in the Trash Bin, and forget to empty the trash before disconnecting and moving to another system. But even then, nothing was corrupted or lost.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
firewire or usb2 ? Jim Mason Tips & Tricks 1 11-12-2007 10:29 PM
Anyone successfully using USB2 drive??? vicwind 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 05-17-2006 09:40 PM
USB1 or USB2 Sofine ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 5 05-08-2004 03:16 PM
Firewire or USB2 Cliffy_Boy 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 5 11-16-2003 05:54 PM
usb2 or firewire? 16yearsjeff 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 8 09-19-2003 03:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:11 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com