Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-14-2013, 01:50 AM
PT user PT user is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 179
Default anyone using PT native hackintosh with sr-2 motherboard?

Hi
I have a PT native system PCIE. Just wondering if anyone is successfully using PT Native card with an evga sr-2 motherboard?

I have a hackintosh with this board and it wont play nicely with the PT Native card or BMD card...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-19-2013, 06:26 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,742
Default Re: anyone using PT native hackintosh with sr-2 motherboard?

I thought by now someone would have stepped in here I would guess its because most Pro Toolers are running Asus or Gigabyte motherboards. When I built my hack, those brands were the top choices and socket 1155 was the preferred setup(my socket 1155 build was a bust). As for socket 1366 motherboards, the x58 chipset was/is preferred for Pro Tools. The Intel 5520chipset might be the stumbling block, but I'm not the last word on this
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-19-2013, 06:32 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,815
Default Re: anyone using PT native hackintosh with sr-2 motherboard?

Just out of interest - why did you go with an EVGA-board?

When I started to build Hackintoshs, Gigabyte has been the brand that was recommended and used for most builds. That's why I didn't bother trying out anything else.
It's not difficult to get pleasing results out of building a Hackintosh, but it is key that you read up the basic "rules" thoroughly and stick to them.
I'm not saying, that an EVGA-board is a wrong choice per se. Maybe it's possible to get it play nicely. But it would have been a lot easier on you, if you just went with the gear most people use for their machines.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2013, 01:49 PM
PT user PT user is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 179
Default Re: anyone using PT native hackintosh with sr-2 motherboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
Just out of interest - why did you go with an EVGA-board?

When I started to build Hackintoshs, Gigabyte has been the brand that was recommended and used for most builds. That's why I didn't bother trying out anything else.
It's not difficult to get pleasing results out of building a Hackintosh, but it is key that you read up the basic "rules" thoroughly and stick to them.
I'm not saying, that an EVGA-board is a wrong choice per se. Maybe it's possible to get it play nicely. But it would have been a lot easier on you, if you just went with the gear most people use for their machines.
Hi
I didn't build this machine. It was loaned to me with a view to buying it if it works with my cards. I would really like someone with the appropriate knowledge to take a look in the machine (team viewer/join me) ....

I would pay a fee to someone with the appropriate knowledge, as the machine represents a good deal, but of course its only a good deal if it actually runs my cards.

I would also be interested in the motherboards/processors we know work with HD native cards
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2013, 01:56 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: anyone using PT native hackintosh with sr-2 motherboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT user View Post
...but of course its only a good deal if it actually runs my cards.
^ Key point.

I'd actually start in the Windows build threads just to see if anyone on that side of the fence is even using that board. I've never heard of anyone using an EVGA mobo for either, so you might be hard pressed to find someone who can help you.

Have you checked out any of the customac build forums, like TonyMacx86? If you can't find someone using it there... then you're likely out of luck.

If you want to build a proper hackintosh, you need to start with the proper or at least tested parts. Otherwise, you're going it alone.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2013, 02:04 PM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,815
Default Re: anyone using PT native hackintosh with sr-2 motherboard?

I take your Hackintosh is up and running OSX just fine?
You only got troubles with the HD Native card? Can you elaborate what exactly is the problem here?
Can you post what other components you have (CPU, graphics, other PCIe cards)?
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-24-2013, 05:50 AM
PT user PT user is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 179
Default Re: anyone using PT native hackintosh with sr-2 motherboard?

Hi
It was up and running....someone trying to help, broke the hack last week...

Im using a GTX570 for graphics (but need two or a 680 for more cuda re other apps)

PT HD Native card

BMD Decklink Studio 2

HP dual ethernet card

I have tried a couple of GUI only monitor cards, but they arent currently in the machine.

cpu is 2 x Intel Xeon X5860 3.33GHz 6 core
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-24-2013, 06:34 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,815
Default Re: anyone using PT native hackintosh with sr-2 motherboard?

Okay, what exactly is broken? Does it boot up into OSX?
And if not, where exactly does it get stuck? Do you know how to boot in verbose mode?
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-24-2013, 06:39 AM
PT user PT user is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 179
Default Re: anyone using PT native hackintosh with sr-2 motherboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Meads View Post
Okay, what exactly is broken? Does it boot up into OSX?
And if not, where exactly does it get stuck? Do you know how to boot in verbose mode?
Hi
Appreciate the input...

Im not sure what he broke in the hack - i think he deleted a k-text.
verbose is the -x -v, or just -v?
I tried both got the details rushing down but would not boot after that. gets stuck on the apple screen
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-24-2013, 06:43 AM
Meads's Avatar
Meads Meads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,815
Default Re: anyone using PT native hackintosh with sr-2 motherboard?

Verbose mode is -v.
Okay, so even in verbose mode it goes as far as the Apple screen? That's a 'not so bad' sign.
I experienced this, too, but I'm not exactly sure what was the cure. But I know, it wasn't hard. I think it has to do with the graphics.

Give me a minute to figure it out.
Meanwhile - have you tried booting up using the usb-stick? This should work, actually. Or don't you have this stick?
If not, you definitely have to create one, because you're lost here without.
Let me know if you need directions.
__________________

iMac Pro
- MacOS 10.14.6
---
- Pro Tools U HDN 2019.6
- Avid HD Omni + HD I/O 8x8x8
- C|24
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hackintosh and HD native + 11 Markk Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 20 07-30-2013 08:49 AM
Hackintosh with Pro Tools HD 2 fatcode Buy & Sell 0 10-18-2012 05:23 PM
Hackintosh with PT9 HD Native? PMedia macOS 9 07-11-2011 09:12 AM
Hackintosh on my rig? Raoul23 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 7 07-01-2011 03:26 PM
Hackintosh Help HDK_Ent 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 07-16-2010 10:45 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com