Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-2013, 07:43 AM
thahn1608 thahn1608 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3
Default Is there such a thing as a very simple control surface for PT10?

I need a control surface that can do very basic functions such as faders, solo, and mute. I don't need anything terribly sophisticated since I'm working more on live recording and archival backups. I need to be able to switch live and control sound from at least 8 different mic sources in the blink of an eye and using a mouse just doesn't cut it...

Editing is simple, so I don't need anything expensive or elaborate. I'm doing mostly remote recording/streaming productions so it needs to be small and affordable. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-28-2013, 09:26 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,751
Default Re: Is there such a thing as a very simple control surface for PT10?

Avid Artist Mix should be tops on your list. The little Presonus Faderport isn't bad at all. Command[8 will work well, but likely will NOT work with PT11. 003 control surface is a good controller, but MUST also be the interface.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-28-2013, 09:53 AM
Bill Denton Bill Denton is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 2,644
Default Re: Is there such a thing as a very simple control surface for PT10?

And don't forget that old workhorse, the Behringer BCF2000...

It can do solos/mutes/fades/pans for 8 channels (along with basic transport stuff), and I think you can use up to three at a time in Pro Tools.

The motorized faders are a bit on the noisy side, but other than that it does what it does quite well.

And best of all...it's only a little over $200.00!

Read the specs on it...it might be just what you're looking for...
__________________
X
Note that all opinions, observations, whatever, in this post are mine, unless I'm being mean or am wrong, in which case it's somebody else's fault. I do not work for Avid (their loss)...my only relationship with Avid is that of a customer (when I'm not too poor to buy stuff, like now)...and that hot administrative assistant...that's more of a "thing" than a "relationship" (that should keep them guessing for a while...)

Just rockin'...what more is there?

Bill in Pittsburgh
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-28-2013, 10:40 AM
White Cat Stusio White Cat Stusio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6
Default Re: Is there such a thing as a very simple control surface for PT10?

You can also control your send A to D with the BCF....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-28-2013, 02:22 PM
Dism Dism is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,154
Default Re: Is there such a thing as a very simple control surface for PT10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
...and I think you can use up to three at a time in Pro Tools.
4 actually.

The BCF is cheap and plastic-y, yet it does everything as advertised. It's definitely on the lowest end of the hardware control surfaces, but it's not bad at its job.

It's simple, it's inexpensive, and it works.
__________________

D
a n t h e I n c r e d i b l e S o u n d M a n

"Svetlana" v1 - 4.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM, OSX 10.7.4
Liquid Saffire 56 - PT10.2 - BFD2, VCC, Duende Native, Play 3.0

_C U R R E N T-D V E R B-S C O R E:515
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-28-2013, 03:50 PM
mal777 mal777 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 175
Default Re: Is there such a thing as a very simple control surface for PT10?

I recently bought the Artist mix to replace my old 002
Works flawlessly with Pt10, and really happy with it. Not that expensive either (A$1249)
__________________
PT 11.3.1, Focusrite 18i20, Artist Mix, ADA8000, Asus G750 laptop (i7-4700HQ, 16 GB ram, 256 SSD system, 256GB SSD recording, Nvidea 860M) Windows 8.1
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-28-2013, 09:34 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,606
Default Re: Is there such a thing as a very simple control surface for PT10?

Or, if you have iPad, then take a look at Neyrinck V-Control app :)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-29-2013, 04:51 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,606
Default Re: Is there such a thing as a very simple control surface for PT10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdarbyshirebryant View Post
The biggest problem with the BCF range is that the faders are NOT touch sensitive. Means you can end up fighting faders/automation.
Yep, and that is why the iPad solution is great. It has multi-touch sensitive faders and you can even open plugin window to the app and have touch-sensitive plugin control.

Dirt cheap, if you already have an iPad. If you don't, that is a great incentive to get one :)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-29-2013, 04:52 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,606
Default Re: Is there such a thing as a very simple control surface for PT10?

Here is the link. I love this product! I only hope Avid comes up with something better

(or simpler. I would love having a simple transport control on iPhone. Would have lots of use cases with that one...)
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-08-2013, 09:59 AM
dford dford is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 89
Default Re: Is there such a thing as a very simple control surface for PT10?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Here is the link. I love this product! I only hope Avid comes up with something better

(or simpler. I would love having a simple transport control on iPhone. Would have lots of use cases with that one...)
+1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control Surface for PT10 - Not Euphonix/Artist series miketeachesclass Windows 10 06-19-2012 04:58 PM
Simple thing Bigpit 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 04-26-2007 08:59 AM
Can I use DIGI002 as a simple control surface? Hendrix_forever 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 01-24-2005 03:09 AM
Simple, cheap control surface? InjuredEar Tips & Tricks 0 11-11-2002 10:32 AM
Why can't I do this simple thing!? dkrausz 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 5 04-25-2002 06:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com