Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-27-2006, 11:16 AM
Petander Petander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 297
Default An 8 Input PTMP Interface That Has ADAT Output?

I think I´ve done my homework on this, that´s why I´m asking:


I want to build a small dedicated PTMP system with some kind of basic 8 XLR mic input hardware for a drum overdub place. Yes you read that right, it´s a nice , big concrete garage we use in summertime for practise sessions and jams. I´d like to record drums in there without dragging stuff around. I´d also like to be able to use that same ( M- Audio-approved ...? ) hardware to get lightpipe out for my 002R to get 16 inputs in another "serious" place every now and then. So, instead of buying a dedicated "lightpipe-to-002R" -thing, or an "M-Audio-only" -thing, I´d rather get a unit that works for both of my needs.


It looks like there´s no such hardware. Is there?


Thanks.
__________________
--------------------------------------------------------------------

- i7 520 @ 3.6 GHz / P6T / XP32 / PTLE 8.01 . PT9 on Snow .
- PTLE8 on a macbook.

- And a bunch of miscellaneous obsolete hardware from the past. Like Mix ++++ 64 i/o with Control/24


I`m In The Band: www.ozofficial.com
My guitars are in tune : http://www.truetemperament.com/site/index.php
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-27-2006, 11:38 AM
MDog MDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 526
Default Re: An 8 Input PTMP Interface That Has ADAT Output?

Not exactly what you had in mind, but you might look in to a Behringer ADA8000. It's an ADAT lightpipe rack mount unit that has 8 mic/line pres, and 8 line bal/unbal line outs. Combine it with an M-Audio FW 1814 and you should have enough inputs to do what you want. The Behringer will also work with your 002.

The mic pre quality is about the same as a Mackie mixer. That is to say, not bad, but not top flight either. I've actually used one for scratch tracks in to my Digi 192 on my HD Accel system. Quick, easy, and surprisingly not bad sounding. Most people hate the Behringer stuff, so be prepared for some flak.
__________________
My best friend is a pitbull.

http://www.badrap.org
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-27-2006, 01:06 PM
southboundloco's Avatar
southboundloco southboundloco is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 356
Default Re: An 8 Input PTMP Interface That Has ADAT Output?

u can also get the m-audio octane for more quality preamps combine it with ur 1814 and maybe an 8 input mixer and u can have 16 inputs coming in simultaniously
__________________

Pro Tools 11.2
Pro Tools 10.3.9
REAPER

MPTK2
ProFire 2626
Benchmark DAC1
Neumann KH 120 A
Avid Artist Mix
ASUS Sabertooth Z77, Intel i7-3770K CPU OC'd@4.7GHz, 32 Gigs RAM
Mac OS X 10.9.3 Mavericks


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-27-2006, 03:43 PM
SHREDDER SHREDDER is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 120
Default Re: An 8 Input PTMP Interface That Has ADAT Output?

Just recently bought the Octane and it rocks! Incredible mic pre's for the money.I'm running it via lightpipe into my Project Mix.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-27-2006, 07:21 PM
MDog MDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 526
Default Re: An 8 Input PTMP Interface That Has ADAT Output

In case it's an issue, the Behringer unit is less than half the money as the M-Audio unit. Not necessarily better, but significantly cheaper.

It looks like the M-Audio unit can also serve as a stand alone mic preamp, while the Behringer doesn't have that capability. I'm not sure anybody would buy either of these units just for the preamps, but it might come in handy someday.

Behringer ADA8000
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/produ...ors?sku=182483

M-Audio Octane
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/produ...ors?sku=184030
__________________
My best friend is a pitbull.

http://www.badrap.org
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-28-2006, 11:12 AM
Petander Petander is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Finland
Posts: 297
Default Re: An 8 Input PTMP Interface That Has ADAT Output

Quote:


It looks like the M-Audio unit can also serve as a stand alone mic preamp, while the Behringer doesn't have that capability. I'm not sure anybody would buy either of these units just for the preamps, but it might come in handy someday.

Behringer ADA8000
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/produ...ors?sku=182483

M-Audio Octane
http://www.musiciansfriend.com/produ...ors?sku=184030

Thanks for all the replies.

I find the above point about Octane being a standalone mic pre a very good one. I´m also afraid I had my share of Behringer stuff in the 90`s... not to put them all down but... well, you know.

Still looking.
__________________
--------------------------------------------------------------------

- i7 520 @ 3.6 GHz / P6T / XP32 / PTLE 8.01 . PT9 on Snow .
- PTLE8 on a macbook.

- And a bunch of miscellaneous obsolete hardware from the past. Like Mix ++++ 64 i/o with Control/24


I`m In The Band: www.ozofficial.com
My guitars are in tune : http://www.truetemperament.com/site/index.php
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-28-2006, 07:15 PM
SHREDDER SHREDDER is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 120
Default Re: An 8 Input PTMP Interface That Has ADAT Output

The Octane is $475+free shipping here!............this is where I bought mine.The mic pre's are very nice in this unit,you can't go wrong with the Octane.

http://floridamusicco.com/proddetail~prod~octane.htm
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-28-2006, 08:27 PM
mrufino1 mrufino1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 170
Default Re: An 8 Input PTMP Interface That Has ADAT Output

ada8000 works very well, and it is a standalone preamp if you need it to be by using an optical cable from the out to the in. It is actually exactly what you were talking about because it is two separate units- an ad converter (xlr ins to lightpipe) and da (lightpipe to xlr out). Preamps are fine, they don't get in the way. If your source sounds good, it will still sound good. If it needs help, these won't help, but if it needs help, fix it there. Probably not a huge jump in quality between the behringer and the m-audio. On top of that, don't worry about who says what about your gear. If they want to hire you they will and if they don't because you had a behringer, you shouldn't sweat it. If they MUST have a neve, have them rent one as part of their budget, at least you'll already know how to do what you need to do. If renting the neve is not in their budget, you wouldn't be either if you owned one! We have the digimax in our studio and I have the ada8000 for my live recording rig, I notice no difference at all, and if there is a small one that I'm not hearing, I'm not worried about it, I'd rather be recording at this point and still have money to eat. Hope that helped.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-28-2006, 09:23 PM
MDog MDog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 526
Default Re: An 8 Input PTMP Interface That Has ADAT Output

Quote:
and it is a standalone preamp if you need it to be by using an optical cable from the out to the in.
Nice tip! I'll have to try it just to see it work
__________________
My best friend is a pitbull.

http://www.badrap.org
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-29-2006, 08:54 AM
hjorte's Avatar
hjorte hjorte is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 330
Default Re: An 8 Input PTMP Interface That Has ADAT Output

Quote:
ada8000 works very well, and it is a standalone preamp if you need it to be by using an optical cable from the out to the in.
A standalone preamp allright, but with analog to digial conversion and back again. Not the cleanest signal path, but it gets the job done.
__________________
http://audiozone.dk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Input output delay compensation with 3rd party interface propower Pro Tools 10 13 11-12-2011 02:32 PM
Sappire Pro24 DSP Interface and Pro Tools 9 input/output bus setup dannymart Pro Tools 9 1 10-24-2011 08:18 AM
002 Rack as ADAT input to M Audio Project Mix/PTMP? Alistair Russell 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 06-10-2008 06:57 AM
34 i/o PTMP interface!! What's next for LE? johnjm22 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 22 05-01-2007 01:45 PM
using 001 s/pdif output to 002 input and ADAT BrianH 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 03-30-2006 03:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com