Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-04-2015, 05:38 AM
nige108's Avatar
nige108 nige108 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 269
Default Gapless Album

Hi guys,
I'm looking at putting an album together and I want it to be gapless but still have track markers so it can be skipped on a CD player or iPod or whatever.
Like a Pink Floyd album. My question is is can this be done in PT or do I need some other software? If so could anyone recommend such a program?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-04-2015, 05:44 AM
Drew Mazurek's Avatar
Drew Mazurek Drew Mazurek is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 11,565
Default Re: Gapless Album

No, PT doesn't do this.

Start here.

http://www.about-audio-mastering-sof.../red-book.html
__________________
www.drewmazurek.com

Mixing and Mastering click here to get started.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-04-2015, 05:51 AM
nige108's Avatar
nige108 nige108 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 269
Default Re: Gapless Album

Thanks Drew I'll check that out
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-04-2015, 06:01 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,301
Default Re: Gapless Album

If you edit your tracks to a complete CD frame, then you can burn them in any software with 0 gap and they will flow together as you intend.

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=300359
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-04-2015, 06:22 AM
nige108's Avatar
nige108 nige108 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 269
Default Re: Gapless Album

Wow thanks Jimmy. So this works without any silent gaps or any audible clicks or pops what so ever?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-04-2015, 07:35 AM
nst7 nst7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 9,795
Default Re: Gapless Album

You can actually even do this in Itunes. Or most standard mastering programs.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-04-2015, 08:05 AM
SpinningDisk's Avatar
SpinningDisk SpinningDisk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 1,474
Default Re: Gapless Album

Wavelab Elements.
__________________
PT 11, PT LE 6.0, DIGI 001, DIGI 003, 27" Late 2012 Intel iMac, Blue and White G3, Reason 7, Celemony, Waves, A.I.R., Softube, XLN Audio, IKmultimedia, Massey
Alesis Masterlink, Alesis Adat LX20,
, Yamaha Motif ES8, Sure SM58, Sure KSM27, Byerdynamic MC 834 N, Event Project Studio 6, Pod Line 6, Focusrite Trakmaster Pro DI, Glyph Drives, Lexicon,
Fender Strats, Ibanez Acoustic, Ibanez Bass, Ibanez Electric.

http://www.johnackermusic.com/
protools@verizon.net

Live and Let Live
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-04-2015, 10:38 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,206
Default Re: Gapless Album

I use "Sound Forge" and "CD Architect" for this.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-04-2015, 04:55 PM
nige108's Avatar
nige108 nige108 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 269
Default Re: Gapless Album

Thanks guys! I'm gonna check all your advice out
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-05-2015, 02:02 PM
The Weed's Avatar
The Weed The Weed is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 6,432
Default Re: Gapless Album

CD Architect here too.

Cheers,
__________________
Take your projects to the next level with a
non-union national read at a reasonable rate
Demos: brucehayward dot com
Source-Connect: brucehayward
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Professional Mastering, Gapless CDs and Markers? chumbox 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 9 09-26-2010 07:05 PM
Anyone know how to create gapless MP3's when export for loops? BPM? CONVERTER? bearattax 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-18-2010 03:49 AM
Cross Fades-Bouncing-Gapless CD Masters Brian S Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 03-15-2004 06:39 PM
First BIG 001 album? scardanelli 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 02-13-2003 09:07 AM
The Album Is Out! valvebrother 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 14 08-30-2002 12:51 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com