Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2009, 06:56 AM
D'Animation D'Animation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 434
Default New imac faster than macpro...

Hi all,

For all those currently reading this on a MacPro (me included...), thought i might share this with you
http://www.macworld.com/article/1439...7vsmacpro.html

If only it had PCIe slots.....
D
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-23-2009, 07:02 AM
woodsdenis woodsdenis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 506
Default Re: New imac faster than macpro...

Quote:
Originally Posted by D'Animation View Post
Hi all,

For all those currently reading this on a MacPro (me included...), thought i might share this with you
http://www.macworld.com/article/1439...7vsmacpro.html

If only it had PCIe slots.....
D
and more than 1 Firewire port

and

the ability to have 2 internal sata drives
__________________
Denis

Mac Pro 3.3 hexacore
24 gb RAM
Lion
PT 10 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-23-2009, 07:09 AM
D'Animation D'Animation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 434
Default Re: New imac faster than macpro...

Oh yes all those things - but for about half price its not a bad deal really?!
Point is, just how fast will the next Mac Pro's be....
D
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-23-2009, 07:17 AM
woodsdenis woodsdenis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 506
Default Re: New imac faster than macpro...

Quote:
Originally Posted by D'Animation View Post
Oh yes all those things - but for about half price its not a bad deal really?!
Point is, just how fast will the next Mac Pro's be....
D
Have to agree with you , an awesome machine. Its just missing those few things that would make it a great DAW host. To get those you have to double the price and get a MacPro
__________________
Denis

Mac Pro 3.3 hexacore
24 gb RAM
Lion
PT 10 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-23-2009, 09:09 AM
SimonN SimonN is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Sweden
Posts: 24
Default Re: New imac faster than macpro...

For me, about to upgrade my PCI-cards AND buy a new computer, would a Magma and an iMac be the smarter way to go then?
Feels a bit "unpro" to have an iMac as centerpiece in the studio, but hey, there´s a lot of stuff to buy with the money earned, so what the heck..
Advice here?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-23-2009, 10:05 AM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,407
Default Re: New imac faster than macpro...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SimonN View Post
For me, about to upgrade my PCI-cards AND buy a new computer, would a Magma and an iMac be the smarter way to go then?
Feels a bit "unpro" to have an iMac as centerpiece in the studio, but hey, there´s a lot of stuff to buy with the money earned, so what the heck..
Advice here?
There's no way to connect a chassis to these, they don't have an expresscard slot like the macbook pro. But for a firewire based audio interface they are awesome.

Quote:
and more than 1 Firewire port
The older imacs that had more than one firewire port still had all of the ports on the same bus, so these really aren't any different, you just need to daisy chain everything.

Quote:
and

the ability to have 2 internal sata drives
I went and bought one of these:

http://www.ifixit.com/Apple-Parts/12...sure/IF107-081

and have an SSD on the way from newegg. Will post on the LE section here when I get it running.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-23-2009, 11:39 AM
hummerZ hummerZ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 264
Default Re: New imac faster than macpro...

Um... and the CPU is in the room with you.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-23-2009, 12:19 PM
woodsdenis woodsdenis is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 506
Default Re: New imac faster than macpro...

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Toolbox View Post


I went and bought one of these:

http://www.ifixit.com/Apple-Parts/12...sure/IF107-081

and have an SSD on the way from newegg. Will post on the LE section here when I get it running.
Post here John aswell, looks very interesting
__________________
Denis

Mac Pro 3.3 hexacore
24 gb RAM
Lion
PT 10 HD Native
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-23-2009, 01:52 PM
D'Animation D'Animation is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 434
Default Re: New imac faster than macpro...

Quote:
Um... and the CPU is in the room with you.
no worse than the funky air con in my room

but seriously, if digi were to release a unified platform with a dsp box, it would make one hell of a editing station - huge screen, fast, plenty of storage via FireWire etc. My assistants g5 is starting to struggle and i'm definitely considering setting up LE with the iMac
D
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-23-2009, 07:11 PM
John_Toolbox's Avatar
John_Toolbox John_Toolbox is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 5,407
Default Re: New imac faster than macpro...

Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsdenis View Post
Post here John aswell, looks very interesting
Just got the SSD installed and formatted. So it does work.... Now I just need to test it



I will say that this is not for the faint of heart. If you are comfortable disassembling laptops it's not that bad, but this mod requires very steady hands and the unplugging of very small connectors. Study the take apart guide on ifixit carefully so you know what to expect. The 4 wires connected to the display are very fragile.

There are 2 minor problems I ran into with the install of the optical-to-2.5" drive caddy. The first one is that there is a temp sensor glued on to the optical drive that you will need to pry off with an exacto knife and attach to the new drive caddy. The other one was just a general lack of quality on the caddy, the holes in it didn't line up very well. I bought my caddy from newmodeus.com, it was $42.00 instead of the $59.00 ifixit price. It's possible that the one from ifixit is of better quality, but it also may just be the same unit.

The other problem is dust! After being very careful to make sure the screen was clean, I still ended up with a few specs of dust in between the external glass and the screen. Not noticeable when the screen is on, but it still is irritating knowing that there is a few small particles of dust in there.

All in all though, the whole disassembly/re-assembly took less than an hour. All you need for tools are a T10 torx screwdriver, a very small phillips, and a pair of suction cups for removing the glass.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using carbon copy to move from macpro to a newer Macpro fourthtunz Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 04-10-2012 02:39 PM
2010 iMac 27" i7 quad VS 2009 MacPro 2.66 Xeon sweetness 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 2 11-27-2010 11:01 PM
002: iMac 24" vs. MacPro Enrico Donner 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 18 11-29-2006 01:23 PM
Faster OS Hd or faster Audio Hd???? ·[-_-]· Richon 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 4 12-23-2004 01:34 PM
Faster Processor=Faster Bounce??? smashannon Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 08-28-2000 10:36 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:48 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com