Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2008, 11:42 AM
Alex Rodriguez Alex Rodriguez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: some where in the US
Posts: 338
Default can you use a pen tablet with PT?

Hi,
Can you use pen tablets with a mac with PT? I mean for drawing level automation, or graphic mode autotune editing?
How do they work?
Will they show the pen superimposed on the Pro Tools screen so I can use it instead of a mouse?
Any feedback from somebody actually using it and how would be great.
Anything to keep in mind when looking for it, besides saying OS 10.3.x compatible?
Thanks
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.16 GHz Intel Core Duo, 2 GB of RAM, OS 10.4.11, PT 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2008, 11:52 AM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: can you use a pen tablet with PT?

It would work, but only work like a regular mouse would, no extra "superimposed pen" yadda yadda.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2008, 12:11 PM
Alex Rodriguez Alex Rodriguez is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: some where in the US
Posts: 338
Default Re: can you use a pen tablet with PT?

Thanks, Slim,
Have you used it? Is it worth?
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.16 GHz Intel Core Duo, 2 GB of RAM, OS 10.4.11, PT 7.3.1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2008, 12:15 PM
Slim Shady Slim Shady is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 7,527
Default Re: can you use a pen tablet with PT?

No, haven't used it, I just know that Digi hasn't written any code into PT to support tablet pens. I used to work at a store that sold tablets though, and the return rate on them is very high, so in general I think most people don't like them, find them difficult to use or maybe they just don't work that well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2008, 04:21 PM
andrewSF andrewSF is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 194
Default Re: can you use a pen tablet with PT?

I've tried tablets a few times, and while they take some getting used to I found them fairly comfortable for a lot of things. Unfortunately I found it very, very challenging to use them with Pro Tools (also Digital Performer). I have a couple of friends who love them (that's where I've tried them), so it's a very personal thing. I like my Logitech marble mouse better than anything else I've tried, but some people hate those. Different strokes for different folks. Best thing is to try it for yourself. Just make sure you can return it if it doesn't work out.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2008, 04:56 PM
barstool719 barstool719 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 625
Default Re: can you use a pen tablet with PT?

I have a Wacom pen tablet that I use for drawing with Illustrator and Flash. Ive used it once or twice out of curiosity with PT, but Im just more used to using the mouse for it.

The pen is very useful for drawing, if you can get used to how it moves.
__________________
i7-860 / 12GB Kingston / Intel DP55WB / 500GB Barracuda / 1TB Deskstar W7x64
Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 / Pro Tools 9.0.3
Mics, Guitars, Amps, Basses, Drums, Keys


http://overtheeffect.bandcamp.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2008, 05:16 AM
sunrise music sunrise music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 79
Default Re: can you use a pen tablet with PT?

I use my wacom tablet as a mouse replacement for nearly everything, occasionally supplementing it with a kensington trackpad. I love using the pen with music apps, it's great riding faders, etc.

As for drawing things like automation, yes it works fine. I don't have autotune so can't attest to that, but PT automation, no worries. It comes out like a mouse would in terms of what you see. I occasionally get a few odd things happening when zooming, but I'm using leopard and my wacom is an Intuos I, so I figure the issue is somewhere between the two of those (though of course I have the latest driver), especially since Leopard's not officially supported with PT yet.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-30-2008, 05:19 AM
sunrise music sunrise music is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 79
Default Re: can you use a pen tablet with PT?

Edit: I should clarify that this is using the zoom tool, where it suddenly might zoom all the way out or in. Doesn't affect anything else.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Control from a Tablet PC Tragic Dog VENUE Live Sound Systems 10 01-16-2008 04:46 PM
Tablet PC and PT LE - Any Users? ChuckS 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 10-20-2006 10:40 AM
ANYONE USING A TABLET LIKE ONE OF THESE? glu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-22-2005 06:07 PM
Tablet for PT on OSX G4? SteveGarman Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 8 09-14-2004 07:57 AM
pen & tablet.... dar Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 16 04-15-2000 12:10 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com