Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-26-2020, 06:36 PM
soul's Avatar
soul soul is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 219
Default PT10HD Mac OS version quick question

Hey all, Its been ages since I've been here. I have been running a PT10HD4 rig on a Hackintosh that I built in 2013 pretty much without issue.

Here I am in 2020 looking for a distraction from life. considering a new Hackintosh build. Has anyone had success running PTHD10 on a Mac OS later than OS10.8? Im fine with PTDH10, but would love to run a more recent OS so my internet browser will work.

thanks for any input
__________________
PT HD4 v.10.3.8 / Mac OS 10.8.2 / Intel Core i7 3.4Ghz / McDSP CompressorBank & FilterBank / Eventide Anthology / Ableton Live 9 Suite
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-26-2020, 07:26 PM
Ben Jenssen's Avatar
Ben Jenssen Ben Jenssen is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Oslo
Posts: 3,330
Default Re: PT10HD Mac OS version quick question

Then, welcome back!

As far as I know, the consensus is that PT10 on anything above mavericks is not worth it. There are issues with the installer/uninstaller and graphics, plugin menus blank until you mouse over. And that's just yosemity.

Why can't you just try to fix your browser problem.
I ran 10.7.5 up until last year just fine, for lots of different uses and apps. In fact, it still runs fine when I fire it up.

The way I see it, if you want to be more current, then either upgrade protools and mac os (to whatever your mac will allow you to you run), or you could consider a dual boot setup.

More system info will get you (even) better advice.
(Edit: What mac is that i7?)
__________________
Life-long audio enthusiast and small studio owner, now retired.
Mac mini, quad core i3, 3.6 GHz (Late 2018), 16 GB RAM
128 GB internal (2500/650 Mbs r/w)
1 TB external (425/425 Mbs r/w).
Focusrite 2i2 3rd gen, Dynaudio BM6's, Command 8, a couple of mics.
Pro Tools 2020.9.1, Mac OS 10.15.7.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-27-2020, 08:12 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 20,196
Default Re: PT10HD Mac OS version quick question

^^ what he said. 10.9.5 is really the last OS working with PT10 nicely
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-16-2020, 09:15 PM
Sugarnutz Sugarnutz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Great State of Mississippi
Posts: 778
Default Re: PT10HD Mac OS version quick question

For informational purposes. I recently upgraded to Mavericks 10.9.5 and am running PT HD 10.3.8 on a 2008 Mac Pro 3.1. In search of a compatable browser I discovered Chromium which does really well with most sites I tried it on. After letting Mavericks update itself Safari got better, but still not perfect.

I was also shocked that Antelope Audio's USB driver/launcher for my Zen Studio+ which explicitly stated "Mac OS X 10.12" minimum installed, loaded and worked like a champ, as well as it does on my mid-2015 rMBP running Mojave. I'm starting to like Mavericks and I was scared of it before. I was on Mountain Lion 10.8.5.

Link To Chormium
__________________
Gigabyte z390 Designare
I9 990K 4.7 GHz
64 Gb of DDR4 3200
Gigabyte RX580 8 Gb
MacOS 10.14.6 Mojave

15" Mid-2015 MBP 2.2 GHz i7 16 Gb RAM
512 Gb Flash Drive - OS X 10.14.6
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-27-2020, 09:16 AM
Siegfried Meier Siegfried Meier is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,466
Default Re: PT10HD Mac OS version quick question

Waterfox Classic is the browser of choice here...it rocks, and so does our fully decked out HD10 rig with a Magma, 6 Accel cards, latest UAD plugins with a Satellite and a ton of AAX/TDM/RTAS that work for this final end of line rig...we have many systems here at the studio, and this is still by far the most stable and fun to use.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Do I Upgrade From PT10HD to Newer Version? Audodido Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 1 05-02-2018 11:52 AM
Quick question on PT M-powered academic version az2721 Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 07-17-2009 09:34 AM
Quick Question About Boxed Version Of PT8 (Upgrade). On Sale For $127. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-27-2008 09:13 PM
Which version of Quick Time? Media Man Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 4 07-05-2007 08:37 AM
Quick quick quick DSP farm card Question Mr335 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 12-06-2002 07:37 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:58 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com