Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > AAX Plug-ins

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 04-15-2016, 06:46 AM
Andy Gone's Avatar
Andy Gone Andy Gone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Posts: 210
Default Re: WUP Waves Update Plan! Best Option? Please Advise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marsdy View Post
My WUP had expired and I had need of technical support. I emailed expecting to be told I needed to update my WUP.

Surprisingly my technical support request was answered. I asked why it had been answered since my WUP had long since expired.

I was told you ONLY need to keep your WUP updated if you want the freebie plug-ins that come with major updates.

As I said, my WUP has long since expired but I am still able to update to the latest versions and get technical support.

I'd double check this but that is what I was told.
Actually you also need WUP if you want to sell plugins. But it is true that their tech support usually does not refuse to help if your WUP expired, which is great. I also have WUP expired on most plugins I have.

Also, I think, when v10 of plugins comes out, we will need to WUP in order to get it. But we are free to stay on v9 AFAIK.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04-15-2016, 08:10 AM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,895
Default Re: WUP Waves Update Plan! Best Option? Please Advise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Gone View Post
Actually you also need WUP if you want to sell plugins. But it is true that their tech support usually does not refuse to help if your WUP expired, which is great. I also have WUP expired on most plugins I have.

Also, I think, when v10 of plugins comes out, we will need to WUP in order to get it. But we are free to stay on v9 AFAIK.
It's also great that you can still get the latest updates! You're probably right about version 10 though.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-15-2016, 02:36 PM
ChazC ChazC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne (UK Ex-pat)
Posts: 418
Default Re: WUP Waves Update Plan! Best Option? Please Advise.

Just got an email from Waves saying they're currently doing 25% off all WUP renewals til April 30 - don't recall them ever doing that before. My Mercury WUP finished last July so don't have the new plugs they've added since then, might just take the gamble that they bring v10 out in the next year...

Hopefully Waves Universe et al. honour the Waves offer too, might just come in under $200.

Thanks for the tip on re-WUPing after a new plug in to get the extension though, I wasn't aware of that - if I use my Presonus Waves -25% offer which also came through today to get Abbey Road plates, that should safely see me to version 10 with any luck!

And yeah, a big shout out to Waves tech support. No only do they still give you help when out of WUP, they also informed me that with the new licence centre you automatically get the latest release of your current version regardless of WUP status.
__________________
Chaz

Shifting Sands Audio
www.shiftingsandsaudio.com
soundcloud.com/shiftingsands

Asus X79 Deluxe | i7 4930K @ 4.1 | 32Gb Ripjaws CL9 GBLZ | Radeon R5 230 | Win7 Pro (64) | 256Gb Samsung 850 SSD | 2x 1Tb Seagate SATA | 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD | 128 Samsung SSD | Antec 650W | ProTools 11.3.2HD, 10.3.9HD, 12.5 | Cubase 9.0.20 Pro | Nuendo 8 | Studio One 3.2 Pro | RME UFX | 2x Octopre Mkii Dynamic | Alphatrack | DTouch | Logitech G510 | Kensington Trackball | Yamaha UX256
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-15-2016, 03:24 PM
mesaone mesaone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,257
Default Re: WUP Waves Update Plan! Best Option? Please Advise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChazC View Post
with the new licence centre you automatically get the latest release of your current version regardless of WUP status.
Just a heads up, this is how it normally works. Lack of WUP will prevent you from upgrading to the next major version (e.g. from v9 to v10) but even without WUP you can still get all the revisions for your current version (e.g. v9 r20 to v9 r21)
__________________
Pro Tools HD 12.4, Pro Tools "Vanilla" 12.4, Artist Transport, 2x Artist Mix
Studio Blue: RME UCX, Win7 Pro, i7 960, 16GB || Studio Green: RME Babyface, Win10, i7 7700HQ, 16GB
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-15-2016, 04:41 PM
ChazC ChazC is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne (UK Ex-pat)
Posts: 418
Default Re: WUP Waves Update Plan! Best Option? Please Advise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mesaone View Post
Just a heads up, this is how it normally works. Lack of WUP will prevent you from upgrading to the next major version (e.g. from v9 to v10) but even without WUP you can still get all the revisions for your current version (e.g. v9 r20 to v9 r21)
Ah right, I wasn't aware of that. It's the way they word it - much like when they went AAX, they made it sounded like you needed to a WUP when if fact, you didn't.

As for the WUP extension if you buy a new plugin, any idea on how long the new one takes to show up on the list? I just got the Plates for $75 but it's not showing in my WUP list yet. Not a biggie as the WUP offer is on til the 30th but it'd be good to know if, in fact you can still do that.
__________________
Chaz

Shifting Sands Audio
www.shiftingsandsaudio.com
soundcloud.com/shiftingsands

Asus X79 Deluxe | i7 4930K @ 4.1 | 32Gb Ripjaws CL9 GBLZ | Radeon R5 230 | Win7 Pro (64) | 256Gb Samsung 850 SSD | 2x 1Tb Seagate SATA | 250Gb Samsung EVO SSD | 128 Samsung SSD | Antec 650W | ProTools 11.3.2HD, 10.3.9HD, 12.5 | Cubase 9.0.20 Pro | Nuendo 8 | Studio One 3.2 Pro | RME UFX | 2x Octopre Mkii Dynamic | Alphatrack | DTouch | Logitech G510 | Kensington Trackball | Yamaha UX256
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-15-2016, 05:48 PM
Marsdy Marsdy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: England
Posts: 1,895
Default Re: WUP Waves Update Plan! Best Option? Please Advise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ChazC View Post
Ah right, I wasn't aware of that. It's the way they word it - much like when they went AAX, they made it sounded like you needed to a WUP when if fact, you didn't.

As for the WUP extension if you buy a new plugin, any idea on how long the new one takes to show up on the list? I just got the Plates for $75 but it's not showing in my WUP list yet. Not a biggie as the WUP offer is on til the 30th but it'd be good to know if, in fact you can still do that.
I think you did need WUP to upgrade to AAX because it was a completely new plug-in format.
__________________
Dave Marsden
UK
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-15-2016, 06:38 PM
propower propower is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 2,202
Default Re: WUP Waves Update Plan! Best Option? Please Advise.

FWIW - WUP is 25% off at this time - even a little more from your favorite dealer
__________________
2017 27" iMac 3.8GHz i5, 1TB SSD
Logic ProX, Studio One V4, PT current version, Apogee Ensemble TB
Musician: http://www.ivanlee.net/
Design Engineer: http://www.propowerinc.com/resume.html
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-16-2016, 04:48 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,585
Default Re: WUP Waves Update Plan! Best Option? Please Advise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by propower View Post
FWIW - WUP is 25% off at this time - even a little more from your favorite dealer
There's something confusing about that. I haven't tried from AD but going direct from Waves and I can't see where the 25% is applied. And another is from the way I read Waves's rules this only applies to WUP's that are up this year and not across the whole spectrum of plugins you may have from Waves.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-16-2016, 10:25 AM
Andy Gone's Avatar
Andy Gone Andy Gone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Kyiv, Ukraine
Posts: 210
Default Re: WUP Waves Update Plan! Best Option? Please Advise.

I followed the link from their e-mail, it went to my account, and the WUP cost just was -25% at the Waves site.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-16-2016, 01:56 PM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 17,585
Default Re: WUP Waves Update Plan! Best Option? Please Advise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Gone View Post
I followed the link from their e-mail, it went to my account, and the WUP cost just was -25% at the Waves site.
The link from whose email - AD or Waves? Waves is also giving the 25% discount from their site.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Re: Your Waves Update Plan is About to Expire Touchwood Studios Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 63 03-01-2017 01:01 PM
Waves Update Plan could be a reference for PT Update Plan jacko Licensing & Accounts 0 12-06-2015 03:19 AM
waves sell out,update plan tobias bluth Pro Tools 9 0 11-23-2011 05:00 PM
Changes to Waves Update Plan gives Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 03-29-2007 04:09 PM
Waves update plan recommended???? skyking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-20-2005 11:14 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com