Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-07-2019, 10:47 AM
danger audio danger audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 6
Default AJA T-tap into projector

Hey all. New here and first post. I’m really stumped and wanted to see if any of you have the same setup. I’m running a new Mac mini on Mojave with PT Ultimate and an Avid Omni. I use an AJA T-tap to run video output to a Optoma UHD50 projector. The signal passes through a Yamaha 4K receiver before the projector. I can see the test pattern from the T-tap but no video when playing from Pro Tools. Could it be HDMI cable length? Or maybe something to do with hdmi version or HDCP? Not really a video guy so I’m kinda lost on the troubleshooting and would greatly appreciate any suggestions. Thanks.
__________________
-Thanks
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-07-2019, 11:16 AM
henningaround henningaround is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cologne, Germany
Posts: 74
Default Re: AJA T-tap into projector

Lots of possible reasons without further details.
First you have to enable the AJA via Menu: Setup/Enable Video Hardware.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-07-2019, 12:21 PM
danger audio danger audio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 6
Default Re: AJA T-tap into projector

Yes the video engine is enabled. I think I just traced it to the video format. I always work with ProRess 1080p but when I switch to 1080i on the video timeline it works! Will investigate further.
__________________
-Thanks
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-2019, 05:34 AM
Frank Kruse Frank Kruse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: old europe
Posts: 5,392
Default Re: AJA T-tap into projector

What's the format of your QT? Some manufacturers do not support progressive formats. For example Sony is notorious for not supporting 25P on any of their projectors and TVs. They only do 50i. So maybe optoma has a similar thing? Check the specs of your projector if it supports the format or connect the AJA to a TV to verify if it's the box of the projector. Or try a direct connection without the receiver to narrow down which device might be the cause.
__________________
PTHDn 2019.6 (OSX10.14.4), 8x8x8, MacPro 5,1 3.33Ghz 12-Core, BM DeckLink SDI, SYNC HD, all genlocked via AJA GEN10, 48GB RAM

Last edited by Frank Kruse; 09-08-2019 at 06:01 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-2019, 09:08 AM
reichman's Avatar
reichman reichman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: New York
Posts: 2,109
Default Re: AJA T-tap into projector

Quote:
Originally Posted by danger audio View Post
Yes the video engine is enabled. I think I just traced it to the video format. I always work with ProRess 1080p but when I switch to 1080i on the video timeline it works! Will investigate further.
I had a TV in the studio that I would connect a T-Tap to. That TV couldn't play 1080p, only 1080i and lower. Really inconvenient, especially when clients gave me a ProRes or DNx 1080p file. I got rid of it and replaced it with an Hitachi that could play 1080p.
__________________
Nathaniel Reichman
Supervising Producer – Re-recording Mixer
Dubway Studios
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Budget Projector with ref in antonis Post - Surround - Video 3 05-20-2017 01:50 PM
Projector suggestion Newpostguy Post - Surround - Video 14 01-18-2011 06:12 AM
Fav projector? stormmusic Post - Surround - Video 8 11-04-2010 09:40 PM
projector advice ec123 Post - Surround - Video 5 03-31-2009 05:39 AM
Anybody using Canopus with projector? Anibal Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 03-13-2003 09:13 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:33 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com