Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Pro Tools 2019

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-2019, 03:21 PM
Philthy Philthy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,252
Default Free Cakewalk has real dual screen display on Windows

I downloaded the free version of Cakewalk today to help explain a mixing concept to an old friend who uses it...

To my amazement, it features true dual screen support for independent windows. So I could put the mixer on one window and the arranger on the other, with only the single title bar, instead of the crazy title bar stacking in ProTools.

Why is this still a problem?
__________________
Phil Mann
Silk City Music Factory - CT Recording Studio
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-2019, 03:27 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,925
Default Re: Free Cakewalk has real dual screen display on Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philthy View Post
Why is this still a problem?
Because the Cakewalk install is totally unnecessary on a PT workstation perhaps?
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-2019, 03:49 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,634
Default Re: Free Cakewalk has real dual screen display on Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Because the Cakewalk install is totally unnecessary on a PT workstation perhaps?


??

Strange answer to an issue LOTS of Windows users find annoying with PT.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-2019, 03:51 PM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,925
Default Re: Free Cakewalk has real dual screen display on Windows

Sorry, sometimes sarcasm translates poorly
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-2019, 04:30 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,634
Default Free Cakewalk has real dual screen display on Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Sorry, sometimes sarcasm translates poorly


In that case... =)

And yes, sarcasm in text never seems to work. Ha!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Sardi; 10-01-2019 at 04:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-02-2019, 11:43 PM
maltastudio's Avatar
maltastudio maltastudio is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: malta
Posts: 133
Default Re: Free Cakewalk has real dual screen display on Windows

Cakewalk is one of the best Windows based DAW...no doubt for me , I`ve been using it all my life and will keep on using it till it dies completely...and that looks like a long way how things are showing.

Peace
__________________
www.maltastudio.com

https://soundcloud.com/charlesmuscat

MacBook Pro Late 2016
Intel I7 Quod Core 2.8 GHZ
16 GB Ram . 256 GB SSD
Mojave

Acer Nitro
Intel I7-6700-HQ
8 GB Ram 256 GB SSD x 2
Win 10 Home 64 bit
Motu 624 AVB , Yamaha 01V96i
Pro Tools Native 2019..Latest , Sonar Platinum Lifetime
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-03-2019, 05:06 AM
musicman691 musicman691 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Soprano State (NJ)
Posts: 16,555
Default Re: Free Cakewalk has real dual screen display on Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by maltastudio View Post
Cakewalk is one of the best Windows based DAW...no doubt for me , I`ve been using it all my life and will keep on using it till it dies completely...and that looks like a long way how things are showing.

Peace
I started digital recording with Sonar 3 Producer, then S5P and finally S8P. Quite a decent program for the time. I moved to PT when I went Apple after the Windows rig I was running died hard. Would have loved to have seen a true Mac version but whoever was pulling the strings at the company cheaped out and didn't do proper coding and used a code translator to write the Mac version (which never made it out of beta).

Sonar innovated things that took Avid years to put in PT and some they still haven't. Along with Sony Soundforge, CD Architect and Acid it was a killer system.

I don't know if the program is still light on cpu usage but in a system that consisted of a Toshiba Satellite 1955 laptop with 2.53 GHz Pentium 4 and 2 gig of ram and Windows 95 I could run 30+ tracks with a mix of vi's and audio and the machine was barely breaking a sweat. FW400 7200 rpm spinners for samples and recording and a TC Powercore FW.
__________________
Jack
See profile for system details
iMac dead & retired as of 11/4/17

QAPLA!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-04-2019, 10:53 AM
leftalive leftalive is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 479
Default Re: Free Cakewalk has real dual screen display on Windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by Philthy View Post
I downloaded the free version of Cakewalk today to help explain a mixing concept to an old friend who uses it...

To my amazement, it features true dual screen support for independent windows. So I could put the mixer on one window and the arranger on the other, with only the single title bar, instead of the crazy title bar stacking in ProTools.

Why is this still a problem?
That's interesting as I always understood the 'master app window' BS to be an OS level thing, with no solution.

Good to hear, I guess. Now let's get Avid on this. I'm sure it'll rocket up the priority list if we shout loud enough. /s
__________________
PC workstation:
Windows 10 Pro
i7 6900K
MSI GTX 1080ti Armor
32GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3200mhz RAM
Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD (system drive)
Samsung 850 Pro 1TB SSD (sample drive)
MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB M.2 (work drive)
2 HGST Ultrastar 4TB drives (backup)
LG 34" Ultra-Widescreen monitor
Pro Tools 12.4
A loaf of bread
A stick of butter
A lot of rye whiskey
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-04-2019, 11:08 AM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 841
Default Re: Free Cakewalk has real dual screen display on Windows

In the Windows OS most applications not named Pro Tools allow windows to be separated onto two monitors. I've only tried a handful, but they all do. Samplitude, Studio One, Reaper, etc. Sony/Magix Vegas does the same for video. The "master app" window concept is unique to Pro Tools in my experience. Just guessing, but from my software engineering experience of days gone by, it could have something to do with the UI libraries Avid uses for cross platform development.

That said, I don't find the single window concept anything more than a minor irritation. It's trivial to stretch the main window across both monitors and set up the windows however I like across both. However, I very much like the docked window capabilities of most other apps, and I also like the tab capabilities.

Quote:
Originally Posted by leftalive View Post
That's interesting as I always understood the 'master app window' BS to be an OS level thing, with no solution.

Good to hear, I guess. Now let's get Avid on this. I'm sure it'll rocket up the priority list if we shout loud enough. /s
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-04-2019, 12:10 PM
deanrichard deanrichard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Waukesha, WI
Posts: 841
Default Re: Free Cakewalk has real dual screen display on Windows

It translated just fine. The problem isn't the translation, it's the attitude. Having the ability to use separate windows, dockers, and tabs helps workflow, and they don't exist in PT. It's a legitimate request, and belittling it makes no sense.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JFreak View Post
Sorry, sometimes sarcasm translates poorly
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cakewalk Lives and is free now!! From Bandlab Southsidemusic General Discussion 1 04-09-2018 06:19 PM
Free LA-2A Modelled Plug-in -- CA-2A From Cakewalk AvidProToolsUser AAX Plug-ins 26 10-31-2016 02:54 PM
Plug-ins List display, view of the screen display andre67 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 10-23-2007 03:24 AM
Why doesnt pt free remember my dual screen set up? antztudio Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 10-25-2005 03:28 PM
PT Free vs. Cakewalk Metro 5 shudder Digidesign Hardware & Software 2 11-03-2000 07:08 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com