Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21  
Old 07-05-2012, 09:29 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 906
Default Re: Waverider V2 - just tried it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lexaudio View Post
How do I send you a session? Contact you?
LEX
Support -at- quietart.co.nz

cheers
__________________
Vedat

Check out WaveRider + Defaulter:
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 07-09-2012, 05:09 PM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 664
Default Re: Waverider V2 - just tried it.

Can someone here tell me why Waverider's level writing is a little inaccurate. I am using it in duck mode with a simple sine wave providing the trigger to duck another track. The track already has a set level, 0dB, but Waverider seems to want to start writing at -0.2 db. Also the break point written at the duck point is lower than the nominal level of the fader. In other words, it ramps down to the breakpoint. Is this behavior something someone here has observed?
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.6 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.6 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 07-09-2012, 05:26 PM
Reckless Erik Reckless Erik is online now
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Reykjavik,Iceland
Posts: 664
Default Re: Waverider V2 - just tried it.

OK. RTFM with regard to the -0.2 dB. But it still does not explain the ramp down to duck point.
__________________
nickcath@internet.is
Newcomer Audio Post
MacBookPro 2.3GHz i7 16GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.6 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix...,
MacPro 3.5GHz 6 core 64GB RAM OSX 10.14.6, PT 2019.6 HDn, Avid Artist Control, Avid Artist Mix, PT Dock...
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 07-09-2012, 06:19 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 906
Default Re: Waverider V2 - just tried it.

I don't quite understand your question. Can you email me a screenshot at support -at- quiet art.co.nz?

Also, check out this page for a video about ducking with WR:
http://www.automaticmixing.com/?page_id=198

cheers
__________________
Vedat

Check out WaveRider + Defaulter:
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-13-2013, 10:22 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 906
Default Re: Waverider V2 - just tried it.

Heads up. Wave Rider is now on sale for $99 for a limited time. (Usually $129)
http://www.automaticmixing.com
__________________
Vedat

Check out WaveRider + Defaulter:
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 04-17-2013, 10:49 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Waverider V2 - just tried it.

Just downloaded the demo, now trying in different sessions. So far it works amazingly well.
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 04-19-2013, 01:14 PM
friendlybunny friendlybunny is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 234
Default Re: Waverider V2 - just tried it.

I've been trying to get the demo to work and just can't get it. I have a pro control and fader pack. The track I want to ride is track 17. I set waverider in peripherals to control 17-24. When I set waverider to track 17, it controls track 1. I have also disabled the pro control and fader pack completely and rebooted pro tools.

So.... I put my tracks in position 1 (VO) and 2 (music) to try and get it to duck like the demo video. It seems to be working on the VO track ok, but the music track is writing crazy glitchy volume automation. I must have something connected wrong. I can't find any info in the manual or on the web.

Was really wanting this plugin to work.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 04-20-2013, 10:11 PM
Vedat's Avatar
Vedat Vedat is offline
Quiet Art Ltd.
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 906
Default Re: Waverider V2 - just tried it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by friendlybunny View Post
I can't find any info in the manual or on the web.

Was really wanting this plugin to work.
We are in Wave Rider's fifth year of operation. Do yo think it would have sustained this long if it didn't work?
All the info you need to run Wave Rider is in the manual, and/or on our web site. You are obviously doing something not quite right and it's not possible for me to know what this might be.
You'll find from the manual or in the support page that HUI controllers like Wave Rider operate in restrictive ways when used alongside Pro Control, Icon and other HUI controllers. They can only operate the first loaded bank of 8 tracks on these units. So, whatever the track number is, if it is loaded as channel 1 on Pro Control, it is channel 1 on Wave Rider.

If you need help getting up and going send me a screen grab of both WR windows that control your VO and music tracks to support *at* quiet art.co.nz and I will see if I can spot something.
Cheers! And thanks for trying the demo.
__________________
Vedat

Check out WaveRider + Defaulter:
QuietArt.co.nz

Catchin' SYNC app
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06-06-2013, 11:42 PM
philip_purcell philip_purcell is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 87
Default Re: Waverider V2 - just tried it.

Didn't we used to call that an AGC? Seriously, I can't find a use for this plug-in. Seems like a complete waste of time. Just set your gain (either clip gain or plug-in) while editing and cleaning up, which you have to do anyway. Quicker, cleaner. Am I missing something here?

Last edited by philip_purcell; 06-07-2013 at 12:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06-07-2013, 06:32 AM
tom_lowe tom_lowe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,037
Default Re: Waverider V2 - just tried it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip_purcell View Post
Didn't we used to call that an AGC? Seriously, I can't find a use for this plug-in. Seems like a complete waste of time. Just set your gain (either clip gain or plug-in) while editing and cleaning up, which you have to do anyway. Quicker, cleaner. Am I missing something here?
I suppose it is a bit like AGC, except you have full control over it. It's great for making sure dialogue is a nice consistent level, very useful for hitting loudness specs and you always have to gain ride, this just does most of the leg work and you can go back over and tweak anything you like later. Best plug-in I've bought for a while..

Yes, if dialogue is too low, you'd set clip gain, but if you don't want to set one overall level per clip but instead change it throughout, this is very useful.

The fact that the volume automation can now be turned to clip-gain is even better as any work done by WaveRider then comes before any plug-ins, so it can mean you don't have to make compressors work too hard (if you even have to use them at all) meaning a much more transparent sound.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WaveRider v3 is 64 bits Vedat AAX Plug-ins 7 09-27-2013 06:29 PM
Waverider Demo Nightmare tomhartman macOS 6 07-28-2013 03:21 AM
Waverider garnoil Post - Surround - Video 13 05-31-2012 09:57 PM
Waverider/Mundoz TVPostSound Post - Surround - Video 2 05-31-2012 12:47 AM
WaveRider Question / Probs Nathan W. Post - Surround - Video 9 03-08-2012 08:57 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com