Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-12-2010, 08:07 PM
KrisHeinold KrisHeinold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville
Posts: 283
Default Help me not make a mistake

I was looking at getting a PCIX card off eBay but sellers won't provide the transfer of ownership. With these older cards is it still nessasary? I would believe if I want to upgrade cards or have problems they would need to be in my name. Any input would help a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-12-2010, 08:11 PM
BradLyons BradLyons is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 2,985
Default Re: Help me not make a mistake

I don't understand why would they NOT provide a transfer of ownership? If they are selling it, then they no longer have the legal rights to ownership of the card. Something smells here....BAD!
__________________
Thank you, Brad Lyons
GC PRO- Pro Accounts Manager
(404)844-9758
blyons@gcpro.com
www.theaudioprofessional.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-12-2010, 08:21 PM
KrisHeinold KrisHeinold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville
Posts: 283
Default Re: Help me not make a mistake

Quote:
Originally Posted by BradLyons View Post
I don't understand why would they NOT provide a transfer of ownership? If they are selling it, then they no longer have the legal rights to ownership of the card. Something smells here....BAD!
Yeah that's what I was thinking. Their message to my question:

Sorry, due to the volume of Digidesign gear we sell, we
never do transfers.
We've never had any issues with not doing it though,
and we've sold
thousands of things from Digidesign.

Thank
you,

Jay
Fox River Sound


They have over a thousand feedback at 100%. My only thinking is they got it and didn't get transfer of ownership so now they aren't a registered owner and wouldn't do any good for me
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-12-2010, 09:41 PM
KrisHeinold KrisHeinold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville
Posts: 283
Default Re: Help me not make a mistake

I guess i can ask is the transfer of ownership even worth getting on this old of a card?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-12-2010, 09:45 PM
KingFish KingFish is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Nashville TN
Posts: 2,656
Default Re: Help me not make a mistake

Apparently (and you'll have to verify this) - if you DONT do the transfer of ownership, you can't do the "Crossgrade" deals that digidesign offers if you ever wanted to.
__________________
David

- MacPro 6,1 Intel Xeon E5 2.7 GHz 12-Core 128 GB 1066 MHz DDR3
- HDX II Sonnet xMacPro Server
- 16x16 HD i/o x 6
- PT 2018.10
- OS X 10.14.4
- ProTools Dock / PT Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-12-2010, 10:19 PM
KrisHeinold KrisHeinold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville
Posts: 283
Default Re: Help me not make a mistake

Quote:
Originally Posted by KingFish View Post
Apparently (and you'll have to verify this) - if you DONT do the transfer of ownership, you can't do the "Crossgrade" deals that digidesign offers if you ever wanted to.
ahhh see i was afraid of this. It makes sense i wouldn't be able to get them. I think its just better to get it. I will prob send him another email specifically asking if he could do the transfer of ownership. What if he is not the registered owner? Will avid still uphold the sale and accept me as the owner?

If someone from avid could come in and comment that would be AWESOME
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-13-2010, 02:38 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: Help me not make a mistake

Get the transfer of ownership done, or walk away. That's my advise. If you buy it, it's yours. I'm sure they never had issues with skipping the transfer, but what about the buyers?
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-13-2010, 01:42 PM
KrisHeinold KrisHeinold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville
Posts: 283
Default Re: Help me not make a mistake

Quote:
Originally Posted by PT Lover View Post
Get the transfer of ownership done, or walk away. That's my advise. If you buy it, it's yours. I'm sure they never had issues with skipping the transfer, but what about the buyers?
Yeah I completely agree. Thanks for the advice everyone
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-13-2010, 01:53 PM
Hotcrazyfruit Hotcrazyfruit is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,261
Default Re: Help me not make a mistake

Think they could be exploiting the fact that any music made is copyright of the registered hardware owner? (and make an attempt to steal your music ) Just a little speculation. I couldn't see any other reason as to why they wouldn't do it, it takes 5 minutes to fill out the form, if that.

Nick
__________________
Core i7 920 OC'ed @ 4.0 GHz (200 X 20)
12 GB Patriot Viper Extreme
Asus P6T
OCZ Agility 64 GB SSD
Hitachi 1TB 32 MB HDD
WD Caviar Black 500GB
Saphhire HD 5850
3 x 20" monitors

Eleven Rack w/ ERXP
Fender Super Champ XD
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100 Silver Edition W/ Silver Jubilee Cabinet
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-13-2010, 02:10 PM
KrisHeinold KrisHeinold is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Nashville
Posts: 283
Default Re: Help me not make a mistake

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotcrazyfruit View Post
Think they could be exploiting the fact that any music made is copyright of the registered hardware owner? (and make an attempt to steal your music ) Just a little speculation. I couldn't see any other reason as to why they wouldn't do it, it takes 5 minutes to fill out the form, if that.

Nick
I know right! But I sent him a message back we will see what he says. Even if they didn't register they can fill it out right?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Before I make a huge mistake... Fastermouse Virtual Instruments 9 07-27-2009 08:28 PM
Did I make a mistake buying mBox? Please help mauve Tips & Tricks 4 12-16-2006 10:45 AM
Bought a new 002R, did I make a mistake? jpeirce 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 24 06-17-2004 05:46 PM
did i make a mistake????? skyking 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 6 05-05-2002 10:14 AM
Did I make a BIG Mistake? OrbachPageSyndicate 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 13 08-22-2000 02:27 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:27 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com