Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools M-Powered (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-18-2009, 05:26 AM
KGB2011 KGB2011 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 135
Default PT 7.4 with new motherboard and processor

Hy.
I did an upgrade to my pc: CPU Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 2,5 ghz and MB Asus P5Q-SE2.
I didn't reinstaled Windows.
I open PT, open a project but when I hit play it give me a message error "Dae error -7401 was encountered"
What to do ?

Thanks !
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-18-2009, 06:03 AM
KGB2011 KGB2011 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 135
Default Re: PT 7.4 with new motherboard and processor

But if i am creating a new project and record in it it works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-18-2009, 07:08 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: PT 7.4 with new motherboard and processor

Quote:
Originally Posted by pale1 View Post
I didn't reinstaled Windows.
That, in my opinion, was a mistake. In my experiences, it is necessary to install windows from scratch when upgrading hardware such as a motherboard and/or processor.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pale1 View Post
I open PT, open a project but when I hit play it give me a message error "Dae error -7401 was encountered"
You could try to make sure your PACE drivers are up to date from www.paceap.com, but I really would advise you to start from scratch with a fresh install of the operating system.

Also, remember this; backups are your friend, and saviour.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-19-2009, 05:45 AM
KGB2011 KGB2011 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 135
Default Re: PT 7.4 with new motherboard and processor

How do i back-up all my installed plugins?
If i'll do a system recovery it helps ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-19-2009, 07:25 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: PT 7.4 with new motherboard and processor

Quote:
Originally Posted by pale1 View Post
How do i back-up all my installed plugins?
You don't. You would need to re-install them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pale1 View Post
If i'll do a system recovery it helps ?
No. A system recovery would load everything for your OLD processor. A fresh install of the Operating System is usually required in this case.

What I was referring to with backups is once you get it all installed and working again, make a backup.
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2009, 08:32 AM
KGB2011 KGB2011 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 135
Default Re: PT 7.4 with new motherboard and processor

How do i do the back up?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-19-2009, 10:13 AM
spkguitar's Avatar
spkguitar spkguitar is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 18,161
Default Re: PT 7.4 with new motherboard and processor

I recommend using a disk imaging software such as Acronis True Image (that's what I use and prefer on Windows). Others prefer Norton Ghost.

There is also the freeware Clonezilla, but you have to reboot from the disk to make it work.

This is all for after you have re-installed and solve your problems. It will not help you solve the problems you are currently having.

Have you tried updating the PACE drivers like I recommended?
__________________
My Website: Pro Tools "Newbie" Help

Studio rig: Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R, Intel i7 920, 6GB Patriot DDR3, NVidia 8600GS, LG GGW-H20L BD-RE, Sony CRX195E1 CD-RW, 2x WD Caviar black 640GB (os swap), 1x WD caviar 320GB (sessions), 1x Maxtor 120GB (sessions), 1x Seagate 1TB (samples/loops), Profire2626, Command8, PT12 on OSX

Mobile Rig: 2015 MacBook Pro Retina, Apollo Twin, PT12
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-19-2009, 01:56 PM
KGB2011 KGB2011 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 135
Default Re: PT 7.4 with new motherboard and processor

I instaled pace drivers. And this happend http://www.zshare.net/image/64359727e8e95e1a/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-01-2009, 07:37 AM
KGB2011 KGB2011 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 135
Default Re: PT 7.4 with new motherboard and processor

I dont't know why my system is crashing. I changed to power supply (Sirtec 500W) too but didn't solved my problem.
Before i didn't had such a problem. This is just since i changed the motherboard and the CPU.
What should i do ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help!!!! Motherboard and Processor Obscene Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 03-07-2006 10:46 AM
Help!!!! Motherboard and Processor Obscene 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 03-07-2006 10:37 AM
new motherboard and processor abel quintanilla 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 09-22-2005 07:45 AM
motherboard processor speed polkbrosmusic Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 0 09-04-2002 02:58 AM
motherboard processor help 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 01-25-2001 05:59 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com