Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #2401  
Old 02-21-2011, 04:15 AM
tamasdragon tamasdragon is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hungary
Posts: 2,190
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Next time I read before post....
__________________
my blog:Tamas Dragon
Reply With Quote
  #2402  
Old 02-23-2011, 10:07 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,916
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by omad 001 View Post
also should have mentioned i planned to double my ram so that is def in the pipeline aswell

Cheers to all
Be sure to match the RAM exactly. Brand speed timings... everything.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #2403  
Old 03-07-2011, 03:25 PM
blizzard blizzard is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 390
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Hey Peeps...

So I am going to be upgrading both of my machines to WIN7 (from XP and Vista64). Now that I will have more RAM available to me because of 64bit, I am looking to get some more.
My question is does anyone know where I can find 4GB sticks of DDR2 RAM online? Preferably in Canada so I can avoid import tax. I am having a hard time actually finding any...

Also, has anyone safely veered from the Qualified Vendor List for their machines and been successful?

Thanks for the advice!
__________________
DAW - Asus P9X79 / 32GB / i7-4820K / WIN7 PRO / VEPRO 5
PT 11.3.0 / Blacklion 003R / Microclock
Macbook Pro Retina / 2.8GHZ / 512GB SSD / PT 12.4
Reply With Quote
  #2404  
Old 03-19-2011, 01:28 AM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,916
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

A lot of us here just go to Newegg.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #2405  
Old 05-22-2011, 12:13 PM
Obe1 Obe1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 149
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

I've been meaning to try this D-Verb test thing for a while so I gave it a shot. I did the 2.0 test, but since I can only record through so many tracks at a time, I had to start using the second set of inserts to add more D-Verbs. In case I'm not being clear, 17 of my 46 record enabled tracks had 10 D-verbs on them a piece. Is that deviating from the test? I remember reading about the first D-Verb test and it said to add aux tracks, but it didn't say anything about that in the 2.0 test.

Anyway, I didn't change my buffer settings either because the instructions didn't say to. I was on 2048, and 85% cpu usage limit. Is that wrong? I ended up being able to record 317 D-Verbs for 5 min without the test tone breaking up. Actually, after 317 the computer just straight up wouldn't let me start recording, said too much CPU usage.

I have a 17-930 machine, OC'd at 3.52 or something like that, 6gb corsair ddr 3 ram, x58-ud3r mobo, 3xWD black 640 g HD's (64 mb cache) on PT 8 and Win 7 64 bit. Are those good D-verb results??
Reply With Quote
  #2406  
Old 05-23-2011, 05:48 AM
mano111 mano111 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,267
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Obe1 View Post
I've been meaning to try this D-Verb test thing for a while so I gave it a shot. I did the 2.0 test, but since I can only record through so many tracks at a time, I had to start using the second set of inserts to add more D-Verbs. In case I'm not being clear, 17 of my 46 record enabled tracks had 10 D-verbs on them a piece. Is that deviating from the test? I remember reading about the first D-Verb test and it said to add aux tracks, but it didn't say anything about that in the 2.0 test.

Anyway, I didn't change my buffer settings either because the instructions didn't say to. I was on 2048, and 85% cpu usage limit. Is that wrong? I ended up being able to record 317 D-Verbs for 5 min without the test tone breaking up. Actually, after 317 the computer just straight up wouldn't let me start recording, said too much CPU usage.

I have a 17-930 machine, OC'd at 3.52 or something like that, 6gb corsair ddr 3 ram, x58-ud3r mobo, 3xWD black 640 g HD's (64 mb cache) on PT 8 and Win 7 64 bit. Are those good D-verb results??
Thats good results, well within what you can expect from your rig.
AFAIK the test shoud be done using the first 5 inserts only per track and run the test @ both 1024 and 64 buffers.

Its better to post the scores and your build specs on the i7 thread. The core2 thread is practically irrelevant considering the hardware that is available these days.
__________________
i7 2600K @ 4.4GHZ -- Intel DP67BG B3 -- 8GB DDR3 1600 -- Crucial SSD
PTLE 8.0.4cs2 -- DIGI 003R -- DV toolkit -- Waves 9
Reply With Quote
  #2407  
Old 11-29-2011, 09:31 PM
AudibleE AudibleE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

I have a pretty specific question and after searching the forums I can't find anything exactly. I first posted in the Mac forum, oops... but hopefully someone might help.

My ASUS P5N E SLI, I think is not right with my build. Not stable and crashing. I'd like to just swap out my motherboard with something that is stable and supported by Digi.

Seeing my current build, would an ASUS P5B be a good solution?

Currently:
XP Pro SP3
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850
ASUS P5N E SLI LGA 775 NVidia nForce SLI ATX Intel board
EVGA 256 -2-N751TR GeForce 8600 PCI Express SLI
4GB Ram
2 SATA Drives: 1-60gb running apps, 1-500gb storing audio files and samples
Digi MBox 2 (USB)

Software:
PT 8.0 LE (also tried updating to 8.0.3 and 8.0.5)
Toontrack Superior 2.0
PodFarm
Amplitube2, Hendrix and Metal
Reply With Quote
  #2408  
Old 12-01-2011, 08:08 AM
AudibleE AudibleE is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 16
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

C'mon... help a brother out. No response? Comments? Nothing? BOOO!
Reply With Quote
  #2409  
Old 12-01-2011, 09:20 AM
daeron80 daeron80 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 3,624
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

All the attention is on 9 and 10 these days, I guess.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AudibleE View Post
Seeing my current build, would an ASUS P5B be a good solution?
Probably, if you can find one. The chipset is better known to be compatible.
__________________
David J. Finnamore

Nyquist was right.

PT 2019.6 Ultimate | Omni | macOS Sierra
PT 2019.6 | Saffire Pro 40 | Win10
Reply With Quote
  #2410  
Old 12-01-2011, 11:18 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,798
Default Re: Best Core 2 Series Desktops-Results and Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by AudibleE View Post
I have a pretty specific question and after searching the forums I can't find anything exactly. I first posted in the Mac forum, oops... but hopefully someone might help.

My ASUS P5N E SLI, I think is not right with my build. Not stable and crashing. I'd like to just swap out my motherboard with something that is stable and supported by Digi.

Seeing my current build, would an ASUS P5B be a good solution?

Currently:
XP Pro SP3
Intel Core 2 Duo E6850
ASUS P5N E SLI LGA 775 NVidia nForce SLI ATX Intel board
EVGA 256 -2-N751TR GeForce 8600 PCI Express SLI
4GB Ram
2 SATA Drives: 1-60gb running apps, 1-500gb storing audio files and samples
Digi MBox 2 (USB)

Software:
PT 8.0 LE (also tried updating to 8.0.3 and 8.0.5)
Toontrack Superior 2.0
PodFarm
Amplitube2, Hendrix and Metal
DO NOT MIX nVidia chipsets with intel cpu's. Its a recipe for failure
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 Builds - Specs and Results mykhal c Windows 6783 10-03-2019 06:08 AM
Intel Quad Core vs. i-series solidwalnut 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 7 11-23-2010 05:16 AM
Have a Quad Core (Asus P5K). Use Only One Core Active For Best Results? MIDI Issues. epu 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 11 08-12-2009 02:24 AM
are these specs ok? (low budget 2 core) korkman 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 8 08-22-2008 02:44 AM
8 Core Mac Pro, Leopard and Windows results pasanta 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 01-13-2008 06:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com