Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-31-2000, 08:08 AM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,824
Default Can\'t import audio from referenced movies

I stitch together three acts of a show into one movie file using QT Pro.
This works fine, until I try to import the audio from the movie. I get a program error.

jim
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-31-2000, 10:47 AM
vici vici is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Posts: 112
Default Re: Can\'t import audio from referenced movies

A semi-educated guess:

I think you can copy (or extract) audio from a QT movie only if there is a separate audio track. So look in EDIT>ENABLE (or Extract, or Delete)TRACKS... to see if there are distinct audio tracks. If not, I believe you can't separate the audio. But if there ARE distinct audio tracks I believe you should be able to extract or copy or import the audio.

As I said, this is a guess from a guy who's just starting to discover the fun of QTPro... especially the layering and transparency features for the images... as well as the "ADD audio with SCALING" feature... this feature is similar to (tho crudely so) PT's "Time Trimmer". It lets you rescale an audio or video track to the size of the movie to which you're adding it. For instance, take a 10 second audio track and "ADD WITH SCALING" it to a 15 second movie, it will lengthen the audio (and lower the pitch) to fit the longer movie. Or, take a 15 second video track and "ADD WITH SCALING" it to a 10 sec audio movie and it will time compress the video to fit the shorter audio movie.

Hope this helps you figure it out...

--victor

~~~~~~~

[This message has been edited by vici (edited July 31, 2000).]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-31-2000, 03:56 PM
Arno Peeters's Avatar
Arno Peeters Arno Peeters is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1998
Location: Utrecht, The Netherlands
Posts: 1,091
Default Re: Can\'t import audio from referenced movies

I believe PT doesn't recognize compressed audio in QT-formats (MACE etc.)
Try 'Save audio as AIFF' (Quicktime Pro/Export movie as...) and after that maybe delete the audiotrack all together then import the AIFF into PT...
I have had similar experiences: been there done this.

Hope this helps


------------------
Arno Peeters
www.tapetv.nl
__________________
Arno Peeters
Tape TV Productions
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-01-2000, 06:47 AM
jimlongo's Avatar
jimlongo jimlongo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: T_dot
Posts: 2,824
Default Re: Can\'t import audio from referenced movies

victor, thanks for your educated guess, but if you get info on a reference movie it indicates that a soundtrack is contained in the new movie.

arno, these audio tracks are not compressed. They are 44k 16bit aiff.

The easiest solution is to import the audio directly from all the parent movies, but I was just wondering why I can't do it directly.

thanks,

jim
__________________
noise | jimlongo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Technique for keeping all referenced audio files used in the mail playlist wildplum Tips & Tricks 0 02-28-2012 10:39 PM
Can you not import multiple movies with VSLE? amiller Post - Surround - Video 2 09-10-2009 04:33 PM
Audio files referenced in other sessions... bublabs Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 0 06-21-2007 05:26 PM
Why we need Quick Time PRO to import movies? gongi 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 10-28-2004 07:40 PM
import movies in pro tools free? firemouse Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 12-04-2001 08:31 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com