Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-18-2006, 06:57 AM
Raifer Raifer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 20
Default Cutting a long recording into separate tracks

I am doing a project for a help seminar that I will be recording into my MBOX. After all is said and done I should have 1 1/2 hours of audio. I need to separate it into tracks. Is there an easy way of doing that? For example, during different topics I could separate it by different tracks. Thank you for your help!

Raif
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-18-2006, 07:57 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,814
Default Re: Cutting a long recording into separate tracks

If you have a mono or stereo track of the entire 90 minutes, I would simply cut wherever you want using Ctrl-E. Then, with your playlist open on the right side of the screen, highlight your track region, right-click on the highlighted region in the playlist and rename it so you can keep track of what is what. Now you have to decide what to do with all these regions. I am tempted to suggest dragging each region onto its own audio track and just solo one at a time. If your end product will be a CD, you can bounce to disk for each track (solo the one you want) to create audio files that are ready to burn onto a CD (make sure they are 16 bit/44.1K). When I bounce, I usually tell the bounce "manager" to put the new file in a folder on my desktop so I don't need to go digging in the session folder/audio files folder to find the CD-ready audio.
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-18-2006, 06:42 PM
Sardi Sardi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,634
Default Re: Cutting a long recording into separate tracks

First, do whatever processing needs to be done to the file (comp/eq/limit etc etc). Then either bounce that file, but seeing as its an hour and a half, maybe copy the settings and render them with the AS counterparts.

Then, ctrl E and edit the tracks wherever you want them to be seprated into their own tracks.

Then select all the regions in the edit window and go to your region list menu and either export region definitions, or export selected as audio files. If you do the prior, you will need an app like Jam that will recognize region defintions to burn. So usually, the latter is easier, even if it does take a tad longer and chew up a bit more HD space.

Then burn the disc. Done.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
looping and recording on separate tracks? tokyofan Pro Tools 10 6 11-07-2012 04:51 AM
Recording multiple separate tracks at once? todayistheday Pro Tools 9 2 10-27-2011 12:33 AM
Strike recording playback on separate tracks-Please Help !! Chris7514 Virtual Instruments 13 10-24-2008 03:33 PM
Recording instruments on separate tracks 4rm keybo JGutta Tips & Tricks 2 05-08-2005 02:31 PM
cutting up long recordings? Well Dweller 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 08-24-2004 10:09 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:22 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com