Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > General Discussion & Off Topic > General Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2005, 01:23 PM
skyking skyking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 607
Default Repair an Emu Proteus er toss it?

about a month ago i bought a roland pk5 midi controller to use with an Emu Proteus sound module that i bought new about 12 yrs back..i was hopin to use this for bass sounds and it worked great..as luck would have it my proteus died about a week after i got the pk5 and though i can still midi to a keyboard i have, i was hopin to not need a keyboard to use with the pk5 pedals..anyways after talking to the repair tech for emu he said it would be 140-180 bucks to replace the chip that we figured the unit fried.....so to repair the unit and ship it there and backk i can see id have over 200 bucks invested......i paid a grand for the thing when i bought it 12 yrs back but maybe im a fool for repairing something like this in this day and age.......im a guitar guy so i dont really know what keyboard players do when their rig needs repair..any thoughts? chas
__________________
Digi 002 on windows xp pro .. pentium 4 @ 1.6 ghz....intel 845 chip...gigabyte p4 titan MB....seagate hd.....40 and 120 gb @7200....1 gig of ram
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-13-2005, 07:16 PM
TT TT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Wilmington,Il USA
Posts: 34
Default Re: Repair an Emu Proteus er toss it?

I can't imagine what kind of chip that costs $150. I've had my Proteus go down a couple of times and it was a simple diode. Check out some local tv or electronic repair shops and they should be able to check this thing out.
TT
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-13-2005, 09:26 PM
spinsong spinsong is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NY.NY
Posts: 101
Default Re: Repair an Emu Proteus er toss it?

I know this is slightly off topic, but, the proteus 2000 and the newer emu modules have a space to put in a rom card for the previous proteus 1,2+3 modules all on one rom
I forgot the name of the rom..but now that it has been discontinued, they are hard to come by..
however, if you do find one, you would have the all same sounds, the proteus 2+3 sounds, plus the sounds from the newer emu sound module.

Sad news about emu.... all the proteus modules have been discontinued (even the newer ones)..bummer..
nonetheless, there is a Proteus X Desktop Sound module now for 150.00 on windows.
Lots of hardware synths are slowly becoming a thing of the past, but I do love the low latency they provide.

anyway, to get to the point..and what I'm getting at is, I'd prob toss it. if it can't be fixed for less than 150.00.
There are more powerful solutions out there.

if it was a proteus 2000 I would fix it though.

And, If you're wondering what it's worth, there is an auction for a proteus 1 on ebay for 150.00, that has bids on it..so it's your call on it's worth

ultimately the decision is...what is it worth to YOU in your rack.
hope my advice helped.

try selling it on ebay or somethin if you decide to toss it, you might find someone who might use it for parts
so it wouldn't be a total loss

good luck
__________________
www.spinsong.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2005, 06:34 PM
skyking skyking is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 607
Default Re: Repair an Emu Proteus er toss it?

Quote:
I can't imagine what kind of chip that costs $150. I've had my Proteus go down a couple of times and it was a simple diode. Check out some local tv or electronic repair shops and they should be able to check this thing out.
TT
yea thats insane......ill think on it for a month......had i learned to do that in my younger yrs id still own several old strats and les pauls hehe.thanks for the replies......chas
__________________
Digi 002 on windows xp pro .. pentium 4 @ 1.6 ghz....intel 845 chip...gigabyte p4 titan MB....seagate hd.....40 and 120 gb @7200....1 gig of ram
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proteus VX mbeaud Virtual Instruments 1 05-11-2009 05:53 PM
Toss the rack equipment in favor of plugins? posterchild 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 27 05-19-2003 08:43 AM
proteus 2000 superman857 MIDI 0 10-19-2002 09:22 AM
Mac Proteus Jim Lightman General Discussion 1 04-28-1998 07:34 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com