Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 9

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-2013, 04:20 PM
billduckss billduckss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Default Lost ilok, replaced, now can't download license for it?

Hello,

So I lost my old ilok, ran the RMA on it, purchased a new one, registered the new one with ilok.com, but my protools9 won't recognize it! There weren't any licenses for me to download on ilok.com, so what do I do?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-08-2013, 05:23 PM
billduckss billduckss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Default Re: Lost ilok, replaced, now can't download license for it?

Gahhh!! So frustrated!!!! PLEEEAASE HELLLP!!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-08-2013, 05:26 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,125
Default

When you lost the iLok, you lost the licenses that were on it too. The best you can do is contact Avid customer service, explain the situation and hope they'll have mercy on you. Otherwise you have to buy it again.


Buttdialed by me & Tapatalk
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-08-2013, 06:29 PM
billduckss billduckss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Default Re: Lost ilok, replaced, now can't download license for it?

Thanks for your reply, but you've got to be kidding me! I will never buy anything Avid again if they make me repurchase this software.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-08-2013, 06:59 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,062
Default Re: Lost ilok, replaced, now can't download license for it?

They may help you, as a favor, but please realize; if anyone could say “I lost it” and get another for free, there would be no way to control piracy. The ilok is a piece of studio equipment just the same as a microphone or compressor. If you loose them, no manufacturer will replace them for you. This is why we insure our iloks for the replacement cost of the licenses contained within them.

Good luck though.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-08-2013, 07:13 PM
billduckss billduckss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Default Re: Lost ilok, replaced, now can't download license for it?

Thank you for your concern, but that sounds like a ridiculous money trap. There are numerous ways to prove that you've legally purchased software: bank statements or receipts, for example. When you've lost a key to your house you don't lose your whole house. Unfortunately your "microphone or compressor" analogy doesn't hold much water because if you lose a microphone or compressor you are still able to use the rest of your recording studio.

Here's to hopin' they're kind to me!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-08-2013, 07:39 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Lost ilok, replaced, now can't download license for it?

you got a lot to learn about the recording business
Tom's analogy is spot on
you don't buy the software you buy the licence to the software
anyone can download and install the software without a licence but you have to have a licence to use it
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-08-2013, 07:47 PM
billduckss billduckss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Default Re: Lost ilok, replaced, now can't download license for it?

Sure, Top Jimmy, then I'll rephrase: "there are numerous ways to prove that you have paid for a license to use software, and that proof isn't just in the ilok that you purchased. "
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-08-2013, 08:36 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 17,062
Default Re: Lost ilok, replaced, now can't download license for it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by billduckss View Post
Sure, Top Jimmy, then I'll rephrase: "there are numerous ways to prove that you have paid for a license to use software, and that proof isn't just in the ilok that you purchased. "
The twist here is... can you prove that someone has not found your lost ilok and is using your license instead of buying one of their own. I truly wish you the best here, but this loss is not the fault of the software vendor and the option to suffer this potential loss is ultimately theirs and theirs alone. If you don't prevail here (and I hope you do), check with your homeowners insurance if you think it may have been stolen.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.12 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-08-2013, 11:27 PM
billduckss billduckss is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 7
Default Re: Lost ilok, replaced, now can't download license for it?

I appreciate your time in answering, Tom, but I have already cancelled my old ilok so nobody can use it. I bought a new one I just want to get my old licensing on it. Ah well, I'll have to call them when I get a day off work, otherwise I can't reach them during their business hours. Thanks for your info.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lost iLok, can I transfer license to another one? Ginridge Pro Tools 10 17 06-30-2013 07:45 AM
ilok - Cannot download license: Pro Tools 10+9 Bundle requires surrender of license soukotta Pro Tools 10 10 09-25-2012 07:22 AM
Unable to download PT 10 license to ilok Kevin G macOS 2 03-30-2012 08:39 PM
Pro Tools 9 crossgrade license will not download to iLok...any ideas? derekjaye macOS 5 04-05-2011 09:44 PM
MPT 2 ilok license download problem SoundHouse 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 12-31-2008 06:32 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:34 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com