Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Hardware > Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-06-2010, 04:41 PM
stanonbass stanonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 912
Default HD Native question

Can you use older hd interfaces with the new HD Native? Persay a 192 io or 96 io?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-06-2010, 04:42 PM
mattrixx mattrixx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Adelaide - Australia
Posts: 840
Default Re: HD Native question

Apparently you can!
__________________
Matt McKenzie-Smith
mattrixx.net
SourceConnect - mattrixx
AVID Collab user - mattrixx
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-06-2010, 05:17 PM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,656
Default Re: HD Native question

Yes, you can - any of the 'older' HD interfaces (192, 96, 96i, etc) will work with the Native card.
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-06-2010, 05:48 PM
ProTooler ProTooler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: East Coast
Posts: 379
Default Re: HD Native question

Quote:
Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt View Post
Yes, you can - any of the 'older' HD interfaces (192, 96, 96i, etc) will work with the Native card.
Does the legacy port work for my 888/24's?
__________________
Have a great day.....
Bill
----------------------
Mac Mini (2019)
3.2 Ghz - 6 Core i7
Mojave with 64 GB RAM
PT Ultimate (2019.10)
Motu 16a
C/24 Control Surface
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-06-2010, 05:58 PM
WildHoney WildHoney is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 978
Default Re: HD Native question

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanonbass View Post
Can you use older hd interfaces with the new HD Native? Persay a 192 io or 96 io?
ummm, who's Persay?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-06-2010, 06:32 PM
ejsongs ejsongs is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles
Posts: 415
Default Re: HD Native question

what about input/recording latency? is it the same has a tdm rig

what about the mixer...it is a 32bit/64 bit mixer vs 48 bit fixed....doe it sound the same?

ej
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-06-2010, 09:14 PM
friedsalami friedsalami is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 2
Default Re: HD Native question

Will HD Native work with Apogee AD/DC such as the Rosetta series?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-06-2010, 09:50 PM
stanonbass stanonbass is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 912
Default Re: HD Native question

Nice!!

Im building a second studio and this cut my cost way down.

I will use native for tracking and hd3 for mixing. Nice my current interfaces will work!! Bonus!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-06-2010, 10:37 PM
Firechild Firechild is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 810
Default Re: HD Native question

Quote:
Originally Posted by stanonbass View Post
Nice!!

Im building a second studio and this cut my cost way down.

I will use native for tracking and hd3 for mixing. Nice my current interfaces will work!! Bonus!
I recommend the other way around. PT Native is more Post than tracking due to it´s pretty basic low latency monitor protocol.Unless you are monitoring through an external mixer, then it make sense.
__________________
HD3 PCIe, HD I/O , HD10.3.10, Mac Pro 6 core , 24 GB RAM , GTX285 , 10.8.5 , UAD-2 Quad Satellite , ATC SCM25A Pro with ADAM Sub 12.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-07-2010, 06:45 AM
Tony Cariddi's Avatar
Tony Cariddi Tony Cariddi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 95
Default Re: HD Native question

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProTooler View Post
Does the legacy port work for my 888/24's?
Hello ProTooler. Unfortunately the legacy ports are not supported when using legacy HD interfaces with HD Native.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejsongs View Post
what about input/recording latency? is it the same has a tdm rig
The throughput latency of HD Native, when using an HD Series interface, running your session at a 64 sample buffer and 96k sample rate, is 1.6 ms. By comparison, Pro Tools|HD delivers a throughput latency of only .44 ms at the same sample rate.

Quote:
what about the mixer...it is a 32bit/64 bit mixer vs 48 bit fixed....doe it sound the same?
HD Native uses a 64 bit floating point mixer with 32 bit floating point processing. Whether this sounds better than 48 bit fixed is a subject of debate as doing math in fixed v. floating has pros and cons on both sides.

Quote:
Originally Posted by friedsalami View Post
Will HD Native work with Apogee AD/DC such as the Rosetta series?
Avid does not test 3rd party interfaces, however interfaces that work with Pro Tools|HD will likely work with HD Native.
__________________
Tony Cariddi
Avid
Marketing Director
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question for those that have used HDX and HD/Native albee1952 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 13 09-05-2013 07:05 PM
Does HD native or native native disable plugins when monitoring inputs? BasketCase Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) 7 05-20-2013 08:48 AM
HD Native Question ronstephens macOS 12 08-12-2011 04:37 PM
Question about HD Native Psychonaut4 Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Win) 8 04-01-2011 12:48 AM
SSL4000 native/ Renmaxx native/ DUY everpack native!!! cary chilton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 03-22-2007 07:58 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:45 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com