Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > ICON & C|24

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-16-2020, 04:29 PM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,812
Default D-Command talkback button is failing. Help!

As the title says, it's functional about 1/10th of the time now. Pressing the button does nothing. A call to Avid for help with a replacement part, or service center, didn't render anything useful.

a) where can we find the part?
b) can it be installed by the user without a degree in EE?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-17-2020, 09:16 AM
crizdee's Avatar
crizdee crizdee is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 10,510
Default Re: D-Command talkback button is failing. Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eric Lambert View Post
As the title says, it's functional about 1/10th of the time now. Pressing the button does nothing. A call to Avid for help with a replacement part, or service center, didn't render anything useful.

a) where can we find the part?
b) can it be installed by the user without a degree in EE?



Hi,


Just an option but you can use the jack connection on the back for talk back. you could make a custom switch, touch to latch and touch to un-latch type etc and wire it to the jack. or even use a pedal. but either way could be a cheaper option.



I can't remember when i looked at the main section including the transport if the talk-back is swappable. but i don't think it is or at least not easily. or maybe you can just swap out the transport part with the talk back. i don't know would have to remove that main section and look.



I mostly use auto-talkback button instead, is that no use the way you work?




Chris
__________________
PT MAC Troubleshooting... http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=54888

Producer, Engineer,
UKmastering Mixing & Mastering
Blinders_Columbia top 40 UK album charts
Slow Readers Club Joy Of The Return #9 UK album charts

www.ukmastering.com


PT10.3.10 Mountain Lion HD6 accel Magma PE6R4 D Command 32 MacPro 12 Core 3.46ghz UAD-2 Octo x2. Manley Vari-Mu, Manley Massive Passive, SSL VHD, ADL600, Grove Tubes ViPre, Tube-Tech CL-1B. Hafler TRM active monitoring.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-17-2020, 11:48 AM
Eric Lambert's Avatar
Eric Lambert Eric Lambert is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,812
Default Re: D-Command talkback button is failing. Help!

We are using the rear connector for client talkback (and already splitting it twice for a total of 3 external switches) and now using that an additional time, temporarily, as the main switch is being picky. I think you're right that it might require some surgery or larger replacement in order to get back to snuff.

And if that's going to be the case, we'll need a source for that part, too. Again, we're just not getting assistance from Avid so anything we can gather from users would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-18-2020, 11:54 AM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,669
Default Re: D-Command talkback button is failing. Help!

I am having the same issue but with my play button. I took apart my blue and ES D-Commands to see if the buttons are replaceable. They kind of are, if you're really good at de-soldering the pins from the board. But, like you originally asked, you'd need a very specific part number for a replacement switch.
Random push-buttons
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_5116.jpg (100.1 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_5115.jpg (98.1 KB, 0 views)
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote Talkback Button? laki Avid S6 5 08-03-2015 05:34 PM
Talkback button light permanently ON Segdeoye ICON & C|24 5 07-17-2015 10:56 AM
Talkback button Craig F ICON & C|24 1 04-17-2012 05:13 AM
ANGER AND HATRED for the TALKBACK BUTTON SmokinBaldMonkey ICON & C|24 2 01-20-2011 11:26 PM
talkback button in C\24 La Puerta Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 12-14-2008 09:51 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:27 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com