Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-18-2014, 06:44 AM
nordlig
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Mbox2 and Yosemite :mad:

As a letter in the mail my Mbox2 stopped working after upgrading from Mavericks 10.9 to Yosemite 10.10 today (no beta). The drivers are loaded according to "System Report". I can see that there is no support for 10.10 for the stand alone driver just yet but I hope it will be soon. Will this happen ? Has anyone made them work together ?

My computer:
Model Name: MacBook Pro
Model Identifier: MacBookPro5,5
Processor Name: Intel Core 2 Duo
Processor Speed: 2,26 GHz
Memory: 4 GB
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-18-2014, 10:10 AM
spmd2 spmd2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 10
Default Re: Mbox2 and Yosemite :mad:

Have you downloaded the latest MBox 2 drivers?

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...Mbox-2-Drivers

I am debating also whether to upgrade to Yosemite. At the moment I use Logic Pro X and Mbox 2 on my 2013 Macbook Pro and it works a treat. Was hoping Yosemite wouldn't end that...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-18-2014, 11:52 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,420
Default Re: Mbox2 and Yosemite :mad:

I *hate* it when those unsupported bleeding edge upgrades fail, ... those painful few minutes it takes to boot from the backup drive and be back running the previous OS X release with everything working.....
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-18-2014, 11:57 AM
nordlig
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Mbox2 and Yosemite :mad:

Yes, I have the latest driver installed from Mavericks but reinstalled them again in Yosemite with no luck.
The mbox2 wont show.


The prefspane of MBOX2 works but cant find the hardware.


The system report says these are loaded and the files are there indeed.

Digidesign Mbox 2:
Description: Digidesign Mbox 2 Configuration Service
Location: /Library/StartupItems/Digidesign Mbox 2
Provides: Digidesign Mbox 2 Configuration Service
Enabled: Yes
Requires:
Uses:
Order Preference: None

DigidesignLoader:
Description: Digidesign Services
Location: /Library/StartupItems/DigidesignLoader
Provides: DigiDal
Enabled: Yes
Order Preference: None
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-18-2014, 12:47 PM
Marcel Risberg's Avatar
Marcel Risberg Marcel Risberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 393
Default Re: Mbox2 and Yosemite :mad:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
I *hate* it...
Oh, that made me smile.

On a serious note:
Hey nordlig.. Roll back your operating system and wait with upgrading it until Avid updates the mbox driver to a compatible one. (IF they do, and IF you really need to.) Come on, a professional DAW is not just some toy stuff that you can do what ever you want to and expect to work after that. It's a delicate mixture of software, drivers and hardware. Treat it with a little respect.
__________________

Marcel Risberg
Production sound and audio post - ljuddesign.se
Enthusiastically sharing knowledge and experience at Stockholm Film School.

🛠 Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 · HD Native · HD Omni
🎚 EuControl 18.3.0 · Artist Control · Mix · Control App
🦑 MacPro5,1 · 8C16T @2.4GHz · 16GB · SSDs · macOS 10.13.6 (17G5019)
📺 Separate video playback machine
🥇 Covered by ZDT/TLC · Keeping DAW OS clutter free
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-18-2014, 12:57 PM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: Mbox2 and Yosemite :mad:

Quote:
Originally Posted by nordlig View Post
Yes, I have the latest driver installed from Mavericks but reinstalled them again in Yosemite with no luck.
The mbox2 wont show.
well you better roll back to your System Backup you made before jumping into an unsupported OS upgrade
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-18-2014, 01:28 PM
nordlig
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Mbox2 and Yosemite :mad:

Well the Mbox2 is really old now. Once I actually did expect it to function after an OS-upgrade. Since then I learned that the Mbox2 is not like the other peripherals i have that just continues to work or there is a driver already published or just days after. After an OS-upgrade the Mbox2-drivers never works and a new driver takes several months a be finished.
I don't have a serious DAW (if I had I would definitely not made the upgrade - I truly agree) so I took the plunge without any backup (because I aint going back) so I am actually not complaining this time. I just makes me wonder why the drivers has to be upgraded each time, are they really that tailor made so its impossible o develop them from a beta of the OS? See my initial posts as a warning, giving something back to the community who has helped me past OSes.

I really do hope they consider 10.10 - if anyone know if there will be a driver or how to hack the current one please step forward.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-18-2014, 02:16 PM
Marcel Risberg's Avatar
Marcel Risberg Marcel Risberg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 393
Default Re: Mbox2 and Yosemite :mad:

Quote:
Originally Posted by nordlig View Post
See my initial posts as a warning, giving something back to the community who has helped me past OSes.
Of course, that's good.
Let's hope Avid are able to update the mbox2-series drivers to work with 10.10.
__________________

Marcel Risberg
Production sound and audio post - ljuddesign.se
Enthusiastically sharing knowledge and experience at Stockholm Film School.

🛠 Pro Tools Ultimate 2018.12 · HD Native · HD Omni
🎚 EuControl 18.3.0 · Artist Control · Mix · Control App
🦑 MacPro5,1 · 8C16T @2.4GHz · 16GB · SSDs · macOS 10.13.6 (17G5019)
📺 Separate video playback machine
🥇 Covered by ZDT/TLC · Keeping DAW OS clutter free
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-19-2014, 06:03 PM
thegame15 thegame15 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 12
Default Re: Mbox2 and Yosemite :mad:

I just finished testing my Mbox 2 on full upgrade of 10.10 from public beta (fresh install), and it works as it did on Mavericks 10.9.5 which also isn't fully supported by Avid, It doesn't output sound directly connected to USB must use USB hub (Core 2 System).

I should state that when I installed the drivers for Mbox 2 (Mbox_2_USB_10_3_3_Driver_79050) was originally done on the first public beta.
__________________
Macbook Pro 13 inch Mid 2010, 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 8 GB 1067 MHz DDR3, Yosemite OS X 10.10.3, Mbox 2
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-20-2014, 07:02 AM
JoelG's Avatar
JoelG JoelG is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,851
Default Re: Mbox2 and Yosemite :mad:

Have you read this:http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/t...OS-X-Mavericks

Try using a USB hub between the Mbox and your mac.

Joel
__________________
Jame Space:
HP Elite 6300 / Core i5 3570 / 12GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / Focusrite 18i20 + M-Audio ProFire 2626

Home:
Intel S5000PSL / 2 x Xeon E5450 / 32GB RAM / Win 10 Pro
Pro Tools 12 HD / M-Audio Project Mix IO

Rig:
Eleven Rack / ART SLA1 / Fender Mustang V 412 / FCB1010 w/ EurekaPROM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PTE & OS X Yosemite Mikebender13 Pro Tools Express on Mac OS X 29 03-06-2015 02:26 AM
Mbox Pro and Yosemite? joelrockstar19 FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) 17 03-05-2015 06:58 PM
Yosemite and PT10 Eric Lambert Pro Tools 10 27 01-24-2015 02:29 PM
Yosemite and PT11 Eric Lambert Pro Tools 11 7 09-26-2014 04:10 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com