Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-21-2012, 04:28 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Artist series spill master faders or VCAs?

With the big increase in functions that PT 10 brought us with respect to EuCon, can anyone see a way to spill all the master faders in a row, just like we've been doing in the Command|8 for years? I cannot.

There is a way to "show all masters", but this is the equivalent of hiding all the other tracks in the edit and mix windows—not at all the same thing.

I want to press a button and only see all the master faders in my session spilled across my Artist Mix and Control. Nothing should change on the screen. Very simple.

I have got used to assigning masters to faders and using the Attentioned Track to write automation and it works well, but there are aspects of this that leave something to be desired, especially since Attentioned Tracks cannot recognize more than one selected track. Sometimes I just want to write automation on two adjacent tracks simultaneously.

Can it be done?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-28-2012, 05:01 AM
chris-euphonix chris-euphonix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 94
Default Re: Artist series spill master faders or VCAs?

I've never used PT or command8, and I don't know what "spill" means in this context.

However, I just wanted to check you're aware of the Artist series Layout function, which lets you assign any physical fader to any channel or software fader you like. Additionally multiple layouts can be defined, and are saved with the current song. Switching between layouts is quick and easy, particularly with the function keys on the Artist Transport.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-28-2012, 12:29 PM
jesse p jesse p is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Brooklyn NY
Posts: 120
Default Re: Artist series spill master faders or VCAs?

layouts are great once you have take the time to create them. imo, that step really needs an over haul. custom fader groups are most needed on the fly having to break mental focus in the mix to create the group you want is painful. you're also are unable to scroll through a layout and are limited to how many faders you physically have.

i had tried making layouts as part of the edit process, and to a degree that works well.. but it's just impossible to predict everything you'll need when you're in the trenches with a client.

Now i typically have 3 layouts that i build into my templates. ALL, NONE and SELECTED. for everything else, i create memory locations that include track show/hide and many other items.

creating a layout will often take longer than the actual task youll use it for, i think this should be tightened up
__________________
www.kdsound.net
Sound for film and Television
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-28-2012, 02:07 PM
Ryan Young's Avatar
Ryan Young Ryan Young is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 1,619
Default Re: Artist series spill master faders or VCAs?

I like the layout idea but it's not as good as the custom fader groups. What I would like is to still have the track show up on the fader even if it's a hidden track in the session. I have memory locations which hide certain tracks and screws up the layouts if they have VCAs or other tracks hidden.
__________________
-Ryan Young

•Pro Tools 12.6 (x2)
•OSX 10.11 & 10.12
•Mac Pro 2 x 2.66 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (x2)
•16 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 (x2)
•HD Native PCIe (x2)
•HD Omni (x2)
•192 i/o
•96 i/o
•4 Seagate Barracuda 1.5TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
•Blackmagic Intensity Pro (HDMI)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2012, 01:38 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: Artist series spill master faders or VCAs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris-euphonix View Post
I've never used PT or command8, and I don't know what "spill" means in this context.

However, I just wanted to check you're aware of the Artist series Layout function, which lets you assign any physical fader to any channel or software fader you like. Additionally multiple layouts can be defined, and are saved with the current song. Switching between layouts is quick and easy, particularly with the function keys on the Artist Transport.
Chris, now that you work for Avid, I think you would do well to familiarize yourself.

Spill refers to the act of pressing a button and all of your faders of a certain type (In my case, masters and VCAs) automatically and dynamically populate the available faders on your control surfaces. that's all. The Command 8 did this with aplomb. I had spoken to Luke Smith when he worked there about making this happen and I believe it never quite did, though there are some other sort of similar features involving showing of groups. Not the same thing. If I create a new master fader, I don't want to go into Eucontrol to assign it. That's why the word "dynamically" is so important here.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2012, 01:39 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: Artist series spill master faders or VCAs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryan Young View Post
I like the layout idea but it's not as good as the custom fader groups. What I would like is to still have the track show up on the fader even if it's a hidden track in the session. I have memory locations which hide certain tracks and screws up the layouts if they have VCAs or other tracks hidden.
Good point. This is not a request to "show/hide" groups or types of tracks!! NOTHING must change on screen.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2012, 07:28 PM
chris-euphonix chris-euphonix is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Scotland
Posts: 94
Default Re: Artist series spill master faders or VCAs?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Picture Start View Post
Chris, now that you work for Avid
Haha!

Quote:
Spill refers to the act of pressing a button and all of your faders of a certain type (In my case, masters and VCAs) automatically and dynamically populate the available faders on your control surfaces. that's all.
Right.

As you say, the current Artist stuff doesn't do this.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-31-2012, 12:04 AM
groundcontrol's Avatar
groundcontrol groundcontrol is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 961
Default

This is an *extremely* powerful and important feature (that even the 002/3 series have) for mixers doing a lot of the heavy lifting on vca's and/or having complex routings with multiple masters (like most post guys).

All Digi designed controllers feature this (for good reasons). This also is one of the main reasons I wouldn't presently look at Artist controllers to replace my aging ProControl.
__________________
Can you please send yourself over fiber to go spam some other forum?

Darryl Ramm
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-25-2014, 12:17 PM
jacko's Avatar
jacko jacko is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wroclaw / Poland
Posts: 696
Default Re: Artist series spill master faders or VCAs?

this feature together with Command8 F5 button (plugin focus) are the most missing from the old Digidesign controllers

please bring it back to Eucon
__________________
UAD Apollo x16,
UAD Apollo Twin Duo,
UAD Octo Thunderbolt,
Mac Mini i7 2018,
Reaper DAW,
Presonus Faderport,
Arturia Beastep for DAW control,
Former Pro Tools HD user (from V7 until V12.6).
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-25-2014, 01:59 PM
Picture Start Picture Start is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: featureland
Posts: 213
Default Re: Artist series spill master faders or VCAs?

Thank you for agreeing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Artist Series replacement faders tiagodutra Artist Series 12 12-20-2014 09:22 AM
Using VCAs on SC48 as "input faders" Tigerspill VENUE Live Sound Systems 6 11-23-2013 07:47 PM
artist series and mac osx 10.8? trock Artist Series 2 09-07-2012 06:01 AM
CSCooper MCS Series vs EU Artist Series? GrievousAngel Artist Series 1 12-01-2010 02:10 PM
Master Faders in CPTK vs VCAs soundeditor76 Post - Surround - Video 0 09-23-2010 09:52 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:01 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com