Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-01-2002, 09:37 PM
Ajay Ajay is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: America
Posts: 87
Default PC Probe problems. Any overheatingg problems with Digi 001

Has anyone had trouble loading the PC Probe software on their computers. I downloaded the latest version and it said the same thing the last version said (Can't find Lm procedure. Any feedback would be helpful. Also has anyone had any problems with overheating when running Digi 001? What type cooling would you guys recommend? I am currently using a Volcano 7 for my 1600XP CPU.

Thanks

Ajay
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-02-2002, 05:38 PM
Stone Knife Stone Knife is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Looneyland, Washington State
Posts: 3,027
Default Re: PC Probe problems. Any overheatingg problems with Digi 001

I am running 5 fans in my machine:

-one 18mm Panaflow intake w/ filter right in front of the 2 hard drives
-one Processor fan
-one Power supply fan
-one video card fan (on the geForce 3Ti)
-one pci-slot blower exhaust fan directly below the GeForce fan so they are face-to-face.

The machine is enclosed in an iso cabinet because it does sound like a power sub-station when the door is open.

The primary hard drive runs @ between 79 and 83 degrees when ambient room temp. is 70, no matter what the load. No difference between Echo Mia and Digi 001 (from my hard drive sensor, anyway.) I guess I could add a probe at the exhaust blower, just for fun...

(I use a Sunbeam electronic thermometer with a wired sensor mounted in the center of the primary HDD)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2002, 05:33 PM
Rabidium Rabidium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 763
Default Re: PC Probe problems. Any overheatingg problems with Digi 001

Oki, I've had a similar problem with loudness, I'm only running an Athlon 1400 but it sounds like I'm running a Boeing 747 in my studio.
So, what is an ISO Cabinet? Will this quiet up everything? Where do I get it?
Thanks,
-Olaf
__________________
I guess I'm back.
www.byOlaf.com
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2002, 06:08 PM
8mmOverdose 8mmOverdose is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 1,318
Default Re: PC Probe problems. Any overheatingg problems with Digi 001

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Rabidium:
Oki, I've had a similar problem with loudness, I'm only running an Athlon 1400 but it sounds like I'm running a Boeing 747 in my studio.
So, what is an ISO Cabinet? Will this quiet up everything? Where do I get it?
Thanks,
-Olaf
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

iso = isolation cabinet. basically you put your computer inside a bigger box with foam inulation in it. shouldnt be hard make your own.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2002, 06:30 PM
Mark_Knecht Mark_Knecht is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,500
Default Re: PC Probe problems. Any overheatingg problems with Digi 001

Hi,
I'm running the A7V266E with a 1600+. I reduced the noise a lot by purchasing a new Silencer 275 power supply from
http://www.pcpowerandcooling.com

I went with the 275 Watt supply since I only have one internal hard drive. (Audio is 1394) I run only the supply fan and the two on the motherboard, and I can say now that the bulk of the noise is the processor and chipset fan. The power supply is quite quiet. (No silent, but quiet!)

Take care,
Mark
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digi 002 and PT9 problems Phox Pro Tools 9 3 11-21-2010 07:49 PM
Midi Studio Setup problems & Plugin problems J Nauti MIDI 0 03-02-2010 12:04 PM
digi 001 problems nightshadecrisis 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 07-24-2003 12:47 AM
Is there a PC for Digi 002 that WON'T have problems?? SJSJR 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 07-08-2003 12:15 PM
Digi 001/PT LE G4 500 Problems! byteme 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 6 04-15-2000 04:50 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com