Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Additional Resources


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Mixing > Artist Series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-17-2016, 03:35 PM
Exponential Audio's Avatar
Exponential Audio Exponential Audio is offline
Development Partner
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salt Lake Valley
Posts: 117
Default Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

Hi,
As a developer, I'm normally answering questions. But now it's my turn to ask one. I've had an Artist Mix for a couple of years. It's here only for testing my own plugins, and has hardly any use outside of that. It's functioned without any problems until just recently. BTW, I'm now on Econ 3.4 with up-to-date firmware.

The panner on the leftmost channel appears not to work. If I nudge my channels right or left, the pan is appropriately controlled, but that one knob seems not to work. I can push in the knob to reset a pan position, but turning the knob has no effect.

There's a hardware test mode available by holding a set of buttons while powering up. When I enter that mode, the encoder for that knob works fine. I see no problems anywhere on the unit. So it appears that either the knob's commands aren't making it to the network or they're somehow being ignored. All in all, it's kind of a peculiar way for a problem to manifest itself.

Anybody seen anything like this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-17-2016, 08:29 PM
Cryos's Avatar
Cryos Cryos is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 438
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

I had a weird issue after upgrading to 3.4 eucon. ..all my units were already at the latest firmware version already but after the update all my pan knobs weren't woring properly ..I had rebooted and all. Finally gave up...shut the computer and inits off over night and upon reboot the following day everything worked fine... no rhyme or reason to my issue... but maybe a complete shut down over night is due.

Cheers
__________________
Cory Rizos, CAS
Re-recording Mixer/Sound Designer
Montreal, Quebec
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0007185/
coryrizos.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-18-2016, 07:22 AM
Exponential Audio's Avatar
Exponential Audio Exponential Audio is offline
Development Partner
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salt Lake Valley
Posts: 117
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cryos View Post
but maybe a complete shut down over night is due.
Thanks Cory. I always shut down overnight and I'm afraid things were no better this morning. I may glare at it angrily for a while. There must be a hard reset of the device, but I can't find any documentation for it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-26-2016, 04:33 AM
hanksinclair hanksinclair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: City
Posts: 51
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exponential Audio View Post
There's a hardware test mode available by holding a set of buttons while powering up.
I also just recently have problems with (only one) of the Pan Knobs. How can I get into the hardware test mode to check the encoders?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-26-2016, 06:49 AM
Exponential Audio's Avatar
Exponential Audio Exponential Audio is offline
Development Partner
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salt Lake Valley
Posts: 117
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanksinclair View Post
I also just recently have problems with (only one) of the Pan Knobs. How can I get into the hardware test mode to check the encoders?
Power off. Hold down both Bank Keys on the right as well as the right Nudge button. Power up while you're doing that.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-26-2016, 08:18 AM
hanksinclair hanksinclair is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: City
Posts: 51
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

The encoder of the knob is ok (hardware test). And meanwhile it is also working fine under Logic X again. Don't know what really happened, must be a software bug, I think.

P.S. I'm still on EC 3.3.2!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-26-2016, 09:20 AM
Exponential Audio's Avatar
Exponential Audio Exponential Audio is offline
Development Partner
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salt Lake Valley
Posts: 117
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanksinclair View Post
P.S. I'm still on EC 3.3.2!
That's where I began to experience it. I'd love to be able to reload the firmware, just in case that's it. But there's no published way to do that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-26-2016, 12:48 PM
Kyle Splittgerber's Avatar
Kyle Splittgerber Kyle Splittgerber is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CA
Posts: 307
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

Quote:
Originally Posted by Exponential Audio View Post
That's where I began to experience it. I'd love to be able to reload the firmware, just in case that's it. But there's no published way to do that.
Here you go:
http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/H...e-in-EuControl
__________________
Kyle Splittgerber
Avid Product Designer
Mountain View, CA
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-26-2016, 01:24 PM
Exponential Audio's Avatar
Exponential Audio Exponential Audio is offline
Development Partner
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Salt Lake Valley
Posts: 117
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

Thanks Kyle,
Unfortunately that didn't do it. It's still peculiar that the encoders test fine but don't actually function.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-26-2016, 02:39 PM
robertg robertg is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: houston
Posts: 456
Default Re: Artist Mix: Pan knob not functional

My control's knobs have degenerated to the point of being completely useless. Turning them at any speed except "extremely slow" makes them stutter and even register in the opposite direction. Extremely bad QC decision in sourcing this particular part.

I wish there were a way to replace them.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Assignable knob on Artist Transport? asterix2k10 Artist Series 2 02-09-2016 11:43 PM
Feature Request (VOTE!): Linear Knob option for Artist Control jeremiahmoore Artist Series 9 04-21-2015 11:08 AM
Artist Control Monitor/Ctrl Room Volume Knob HowlingWolfStudio Artist Series 1 04-15-2014 11:10 PM
003 Rack+ functional but needs some love The Turnback Buy & Sell 2 08-16-2013 02:52 PM
Turn feature off on Artist Control knob. VSOP Studios Artist Series 17 04-11-2013 05:49 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:59 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com