Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-18-2007, 12:01 AM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,218
Default Adventures in 8-core and Magma chassis land

I want to report on our experiences in getting a new 8-core up and running with an HD-5 in the Magma PE6R4 chassis.

Mac Pro 3.0 GHz Xeon 8-core with 4 GB memory, OS 10.4.10, PT 7.3.1cs4, 1 HD core and 4 HD Accel cards.

When I say in here that PT no worky, I mean I kept getting consistent and repeatable DAE errors with up to four different error numbers. At no time did Digitest give me any errors. Digitest always said things were looking good.

The video card is reported as 16x. The expansion slot utility kept saying that the host card for the expansion chassis needed to be running at 8x, even though it is documented as being a 4x card. Host card in slot 2 at 4x, PT no worky. Host card in slot 3 or 4 at either 8x or 4x PT mostly no worky. The only place where I could get any success was at 8x in slot 4, with the HD core card farthest from the expansion chassis power supply. But, as I added the Accel cards one at a time, the system again no worky once more than two cards were in the chassis.

The final configuration where I got complete and reliable success was with the host card in slot 2, the video card reduced to 8x with the expansion slot cofiguration at 4-4-8-8, and the HD cards are arranged in the chassis with the core card farthest from the power supply in slot 4 and the Accel cards in slots 5-8.

My thanks to Koji Egawa for the time he spent on the phone with me.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-18-2007, 09:01 AM
priorytools priorytools is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 1,183
Default Re: Adventures in 8-core and Magma chassis land

Hello. I found starting with 10.4.9 & PT 7.3.1cs1 I had no problems. . .

I ran 48 tracks at 96k, record & pb no problems. . I then put in cs3 . . Still no problems. .

If you look on the digi support section under the magma PE6R4 there are some guidelines there as to the versions that are fully tested. .

http://www.digidesign.com/index.cfm?...5&itemid=24876


I have stayed with 10.4.9 & cs3.

Maybe you've spent enough time on this, but I have a sneaking suspicion that your OS & cs are your problem. .

Am not at the studio now so can't varify the slot uitil settings I'm on. . I could look see on Monday if you like. .

HHmmm. . . Interesting though. .
__________________
~ Trashcan Mac Pro late 2013 - 64 GB RAM - 10.12.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 / HDX 2 + UAD2 PCIe OCTO in Magma Expressbox 3T / HD I/O's x 4 + 1 x 96io / Avid S6 M10-24-5 V19.12 ~
~ MBP 15" 2.8 Intel Core i7 -10.12.6 /Apollo 16 / Steinberg U22 / Artist MIx / Pro Tools HD 12.8.3 - UAD2 V8 / UAD2 Satellite DUO ~
~ Mac Pro 8 core - clover - 13 GB ram - 10.6.8 / HD5 / Pro Tools 9.0.6 / HEAT / Magma PE6R4 / ProControl 24 faders / UAD2 QUAD PCIe ~ ARCHIVE RIG

~ Mac Pro (Early 2009) - 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core-32 GB RAM-10.13.6 / Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.10 / Apollo 16 / Avid S3 ~
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-18-2007, 03:43 PM
rockridge98 rockridge98 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 282
Default Re: Adventures in 8-core and Magma chassis land

Question: does the Magma chassis do better on RTAS latency than the HD expansion chassis?
thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-18-2007, 07:47 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,218
Default Re: Adventures in 8-core and Magma chassis land

prioritytools,

Thanks for the pointers. The Mac came with 10.4.10 pre-installed and I wasn't interested in rolling back for the only known issue of the prebinding thing since that only occurs if one uses automatic update. We also had previously been using cs4 on the HD3 G5 that this system now replaces so I wasn't concerned about it.

I found success with the system in a configuration not recommended by Digidesign. I think that it's now obvious that the video card at 16x was the major culprit. Having the host card in any slot at either 4x or 8x was not ultimately successful as long as the video card was at 16x. I'm not going to test any other configurations now that the system is reliably working. We've been pushing it hard since I got it up and running and there has been nary a hickup.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-2007, 07:56 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,218
Default Re: Adventures in 8-core and Magma chassis land

rockridge98,

As I understand it, the HD Expansion has it's own onboard CPU to handle bus traffic. Because of this, track counts are guaranteed, but there is a hit on latency.

The Magma does not have a CPU to handle bus traffic, so there is no additional latency. The downside of it is you do take a hit in track count.

I was told by someone I trust that music mixers prefer the Magma because there's no additional latency while film mixers prefer the HD Expansion because there's no loss in track count.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-19-2007, 08:04 PM
rockridge98 rockridge98 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 282
Default Re: Adventures in 8-core and Magma chassis land

Quote:
rockridge98,

As I understand it, the HD Expansion has it's own onboard CPU to handle bus traffic. Because of this, track counts are guaranteed, but there is a hit on latency.

The Magma does not have a CPU to handle bus traffic, so there is no additional latency. The downside of it is you do take a hit in track count.

I was told by someone I trust that music mixers prefer the Magma because there's no additional latency while film mixers prefer the HD Expansion because there's no loss in track count.
That is very good news, thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-20-2007, 09:37 AM
jeff markham's Avatar
jeff markham jeff markham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 813
Default Re: Adventures in 8-core and Magma chassis land

It strikes me as a bit odd that we don't have a new generation
of silicon as a solution to this problem (rather than having to
add more of the same in novel ways).

jeff
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-20-2007, 01:04 PM
bad jitter bad jitter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tellus
Posts: 1,379
Default Re: Adventures in 8-core and Magma chassis land

Quote:
film mixers prefer the HD Expansion because there's no loss in track count.
Sounds strange. Any links / references? I'm using Magma PER-64 and don't see any loss in track count.

BTW, here's my configuration, which works fine:

Slot 1: ATI Radeon X1900 XT
Slot 2: NVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT 256MB
Slot 3: empty
Slot 4: Magma host card

Expancion slot utility set at x8-x8-x1-x8. 10.4.9, 7.3.1cs4 and 4 GB RAM. 1 HD Core, 1 HD Accell and 2 HD Process cards in the chassis.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-20-2007, 08:44 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,218
Default Re: Adventures in 8-core and Magma chassis land

No link. The anecdotal info passed to me by the local Digi rep was that it could be in the neighborhood of a 5% loss of the voiced track count.

Don't know about you, but we hardly ever flirt with even half of the voiced tracks our system is supposed to be capable of.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-21-2007, 08:29 PM
Top Jimmy's Avatar
Top Jimmy Top Jimmy is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 5,218
Default Re: Adventures in 8-core and Magma chassis land

Update: It turns out that the expansion chassis track limitation is likely a thing of the past. Digidesign has not made any statements specifically addressing the old limitation of the 32 bit expansion chassis and whether or not it has evaporated with the 64 bit Magma chassis available now. My info was based on the published track count limitation guide. It turns out the 5% I quoted off the top of my head was way off. The loss was more like 40%. It was an assumption on my part that the CPU in Digi's Expansion HD had something to do with maximizing the track count and that going to a chassis without one would mean a track count hit. Being that we're now at 64-bit, that might well be a figment of my imagination.
__________________
James Cadwallader

Hackintosh - Gigabyte Z77X-UP5TH, Intel Core i7-3770K, 32GB 1600Mhz DDR3, 2x SATA 6Gb/s 240GB SSD, 3x SATA 6Gb/s 1TB HDD, 1x Glyph 2TB USB3 HDD, Mojave 10.14.4.

Pro Tools HD Native 2020.3, Focusrite Red 8Pre, Mbox 3 (Mac)
Pro Tools 11.3.2, Mbox2 (Win 7)

Presonus Faderport, Pro Tools | Control
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Core instead of HD Accel in a Magma Chassis CristiDobrica Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 3 06-18-2012 08:08 AM
Magma Chassis with new Mac Pro?? KrisHeinold General Discussion 7 11-11-2010 10:48 PM
Digidesign Chassis? Magma Chassis? BigEvil Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 12-13-2008 10:53 AM
Anybody using UAD-1 w/ Magma chassis? zobomix 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 06-15-2007 11:38 PM
001 and MAGMA CHASSIS IN OSX???? HOLA 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 4 07-22-2002 01:47 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com