Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 12

Old 02-13-2016, 04:01 PM

Default Keyboard Controller not working with instruments

I'm totally new to Pro Tools. When I create an instrument track and assign one of the plug-ins such as Mini Grand or DB 33, I can play by clicking the mouse but not using my M-Audio Keystation 49e Controller. I tap the keys and get no sound. What am I missing here?
Old 02-13-2016, 06:55 PM

Default Re: Keyboard Controller not working with instruments

First, make sure the instrument track is record enabled.

You need to make sure your Keystation is enabled in Pro Tools. Go to Setup>MIDI>MIDI Input Devices. Make sure your keystation is enabled.

You also need to make sure you have your MIDI input to the correct instrument. So, go to View>Mix Window Views and sure there's a checkmark next to "Instruments". Then go to your mix window.

You should see an Instruments section at the top of you Instrument track. The first dropdown menu can say "All" if you only have one MIDI device connected. The second dropdown menu should say the name of the Virtual Instrument you're trying to use. If it doesn't, select the dropdown menu and go to Instrument you want and select Channel 1.

Hopefully that gets you up and running.

Mac Pro (2013)
3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5
32 GB Memory
OS X 10.12.6

PT 2018.1
Old 02-14-2016, 03:46 AM

Thanks Kyle
All set up and keyboard working. Sometimes still getting no sound but I think that's just my speakers which may need replacing.
Old 02-14-2016, 06:36 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by dezst View Post
Thanks Kyle
All set up and keyboard working. Sometimes still getting no sound but I think that's just my speakers which may need replacing.