Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 01-25-2010, 11:02 AM

Default Advice for recording rap vocals

I'm New to The Whole Recording thing and i need some advice for recording rap vocals.I Currently Have A Macbook Running Pro Tools 8 Through Mbox 2.My Problem Is I Have Alot Of Trouble Breathing Right when I Record Vocals.So I Was Wondering What Is The Best Way To record in clips.Like Record 4 Bars Then Another 4 Bars And So On.If Someone Could Help Me Out I Would Appreciate It.thanks
Old 01-25-2010, 11:22 AM

Default Re: Advice for recording rap vocals

If it's the sound of the breath you don't want, you can remove it or lower the volume on it after the fact.

If it's a matter of when to breathe because you're rapping fast, I think sometimes the guys are overlapping tracks a bit. Record a few bars on one track, then on a separate one that immediately follows (so you have time to breathe). When it plays back, one follows right after the other for a continuous stream. Sometimes you can even hear it overlap.

I'm not a rap expert, but I just listened to Ludacris' How Low, and that's what it sounds like he's doing.

Also, it's common to double or triple track certain words or phrases, so they just pop in here and there, and pan them hard left and right, while the main vocal is in the center.
Old 01-25-2010, 11:36 AM

Thanks 4 The Reply