Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 10-21-2008, 05:02 PM

Default Levels too Hot/Noisy - MBox 2 / PT 7.4.2 for Mac

Hello,

This is my first post and I'm a new Pro Tools user, so please be patient with any missed information or lack of protocol on my part.

I recently bought a MacBook Pro, running Leopard 10.5, Intel processors, 2 GB RAM. I then purchased an MBox 2 and did the upgrade to Pro Tools LE 7.4.2 in hopes of using for home recording.

My problems is this: The levels are too hot when recording with a condenser mic (or any mic) through the MBox pre-amps, or too low when running line levels from a stereo mix, through a sub mixer.

With the levels that are too hot: I set up 2 AT4050 large diaphragm condenser mics for a live, stereo recording of my band. The phantom power was engaged (as it should be) and the gain levels on the MBox 2 were turned all the way down. I also had the pads on the microphones turned on, as well as the pads on the MBox itself. Even still with these settings, the levels recorded were peaking, clipping and distorting. I even tried running a compressor plug in on both tracks and it did not help. Even when turning the recording gain WAY down (-35 db's) it would clip. The same results occurred when I tried switched out the AT4050's with Shure SM57's.

Since that did not work, I tried running a stereo submix from a mixer, recorded direct through each channel of the MBox 2. In this case, I was getting a level did not clip, but the recorded sounds were distant and faint, and the majority of the recorded sound was very loud headroom/room noise.