Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-13-2014, 04:12 PM
ksgltd ksgltd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 7
Default PT11HD on 2011 MacBook Pro

Hi All,

After searching the web high and low I can't seem to find a convincing answer to my question, which is…

Can I run PT11HD (software) on a MacBook Pro 2011?

I currently have PT10 and CPTK2. I did look at upgrading to PT10HD last year but I never got around to it. Now the only option available at the Avid shop is an upgrade to PT11HD.

Does anyone have any experience with PT11HD on a MBP 2011? I know the Avid website does not list it as a supported computer for use with PT11HD

Does any one have any ideas? I know there were some others on this forum looking for an answer but there was none forthcoming.

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2014, 05:29 PM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,792
Default Re: PT11HD on 2011 MacBook Pro

Hi

I would not think there would be any issues as long as you have minimum 8GB RAM and a dedicated 7200rpm harddrive for recording to. No green or blue power saving drive and HAVE to be USB3 or Thunderbolt or FW. NO USB2 drive casings. If your computer is up to scratch I don't see any problems with it, also in the PT11HD upgrade you will get both 10 and 11 HD so you can have them both on the same harddrive.

If it is a core duo I would be causious but it might work for some. What interface are you going to use and what OSX version?

Best Regards and Welcome to the Community

Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-14-2014, 01:55 AM
ksgltd ksgltd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 7
Default Re: PT11HD on 2011 MacBook Pro

Hi Christopher,

Thanks for your reply. I have a 8gb Ram and dual internal SSD. I was planning to use an RME MADI-Face.

I would only be tracking with this machine. No serious editing or production.

Worth a try?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-14-2014, 04:41 AM
twdwyer twdwyer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: the middle coast
Posts: 338
Default Re: PT11HD on 2011 MacBook Pro

I run PT HD Native on an early 2011 MBP 17" with a Magma Thunderbolt chassis, no problems whatsoever. I have 8gb ram and an internal ssd drive for the system, use FW800 drives for audio. It's a great setup.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2014, 01:05 AM
JFreak's Avatar
JFreak JFreak is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 16,597
Default Re: PT11HD on 2011 MacBook Pro

PT11.1.2HD working perfectly here on late 2013 top-of-the-line MBP (16GB memory, 1TB storage). Zero problems so far, using OSX 10.9.1
__________________
Janne
What we do in life, echoes in eternity.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2014, 01:19 AM
Southsidemusic's Avatar
Southsidemusic Southsidemusic is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Stockholm - Sweden
Posts: 11,792
Default Re: PT11HD on 2011 MacBook Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by ksgltd View Post
Hi Christopher,

Thanks for your reply. I have a 8gb Ram and dual internal SSD. I was planning to use an RME MADI-Face.

I would only be tracking with this machine. No serious editing or production.

Worth a try?

Thanks.
Hey

Most definately worth a try

Looks good so All The Best of Luck to You

Let us know how you get on with the system

Best Regards
Christopher
__________________
Best Regards
Christopher

—————————————
South Side Music Group
WEBHOME
—————————————
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-16-2014, 11:04 AM
info@npp.co.uk info@npp.co.uk is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 45
Default Re: PT11HD on 2011 MacBook Pro

I have just put together a PT 11 HDX 2 rig using a Magma Roben-3TS to use with my mid 2012 MacBook Pro Retina 16GB. It is so good that it's blowing a Mac Pro HDX system I'm using out of the water. SSDs everywhere. I was thinking of getting a new Mac Pro but this system is just incredible. I have Logic running with loads of instruments, driving Pro Tools via the IAC bus with audio connected via madi. I also have a Magma ExpressBox 3T connected to the other Thunderbolt port with an RME HDSPe MADI FX card. The HDX cards are connected to an SSL DeltaLink which is also working perfectly. I've done extensive tests with a massive Pro Tools file, loads of native plug-ins, Logic driving, and so far no signs of any problems whatsoever. Not one crash, even whilst doing my emails. It seems too good to be true, at least so far. My only worry is that if the MacBook Pro goes down I'm totally out of action, so I'm considering getting another MacBook Pro and cloning the current one as a backup. Or maybe a Mac Mini.......
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-17-2014, 09:33 AM
Michael James Michael James is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Petaluma, CA
Posts: 132
Default Re: PT11HD on 2011 MacBook Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by info@npp.co.uk View Post
... It seems too good to be true, at least so far. My only worry is that if the MacBook Pro goes down I'm totally out of action, so I'm considering getting another MacBook Pro and cloning the current one as a backup. Or maybe a Mac Mini.......
A cost effective solution might be to simply clone your boot drive and have it ready to go in the event that you need to buy a second MBP in a hurry.

I've heard that laptops are not as robust and durable as desktop computers, so it's probably a good idea.
__________________
Michael James
michaeljamesproducer.com
www.IndieProMix.com

System info: PT Ultimate 2019.6 HDX, Mac Pro 5,1 Westmere, OS 10.13.3, UAD2 Octo PCIe, 2x Lynx Aurora16 w LTHD cards, 1x Lynx Aurora(n) 32 ch analog I/O DigiLink, 4x Dangerous Convert-8 (AES via Lynx), Dangerous Convert-2 (AES via Lynx), Dangerous Vonvert AD+, Apogee Big Ben, SSD boot drive, external FW800 audio drives
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-17-2014, 09:44 AM
gives's Avatar
gives gives is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,156
Default Re: PT11HD on 2011 MacBook Pro

Quote:
Originally Posted by ksgltd View Post
Hi All,

After searching the web high and low I can't seem to find a convincing answer to my question, which is…

Can I run PT11HD (software) on a MacBook Pro 2011?

I currently have PT10 and CPTK2. I did look at upgrading to PT10HD last year but I never got around to it. Now the only option available at the Avid shop is an upgrade to PT11HD.

Does anyone have any experience with PT11HD on a MBP 2011? I know the Avid website does not list it as a supported computer for use with PT11HD

Does any one have any ideas? I know there were some others on this forum looking for an answer but there was none forthcoming.

Thanks in advance!
Just installed it on my Early 2011 MacBookPro and it runs fine here. Have not run too many sessions as I just got it going, but seems all good with Protools HD Native. I had to upgrade the OS to Mavericks, os I made the plunge. All seems good here. I did run Alsoft Disk Warriorv.4.4, after the OSMavericks Install and found a few directory issues that were easily fixed. Ran that from the DVD G
__________________
Gregory Ives, Composer/Sound Designer/Musician
http://www.gregives.com
https://pro-labs.imdb.com/name/nm1170521/?ref_=sch_int

Protools 2019.6 Ultimate HD Native Thunderbolt Avid HD IO
Mac Pro 3.5GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 64GB of Ram
OSX Mojave 10.14.5, Digital Performer 9.5, Logic Pro X 10.4.6
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-09-2014, 10:01 AM
ksgltd ksgltd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 7
Default Re: PT11HD on 2011 MacBook Pro

thanks guys for all the replies and help! Will let you know how I get on.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro 13" (late 2011) with PT 10 musikasik macOS 5 01-12-2013 10:29 AM
New 2011 MacBook Pro i7 has fan running loud and fast with PT9 Nave128 macOS 56 05-10-2012 11:55 AM
Can Pro tools use 16gb ram on a Macbook Pro late 2011 trajan24 Pro Tools 10 9 12-19-2011 09:12 PM
Early 2011 MacBook Pro DJTezo411 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 03-27-2011 12:55 PM
2011 MacBook Pro/PT9 Graphics Freeze dnadig macOS 5 03-25-2011 12:40 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:13 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com