Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12-16-2014, 03:58 PM
YYR123's Avatar
YYR123 YYR123 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 13,664
Default Re: ProTools 11 Screen Freeze?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Denton View Post
I'm not a Mac guy, but would 10 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM be a "legal" configuration for that machine?

He said he upgraded to 24gb. 6x4gb sticks.

One thing you can do is take out all but 2 sticks and see how it behaves. When I am trouble shooting a machine that's part of my ritual.


I assume your using disk cache, so that would have to be adjusted.

Trashed prefs, I'm sure. ?

What about hard drives? All sata3 with large caches?

You get this with or without VEP Pro?

You started with 10.6.8 but where did you end up?

I would prefer 10.8.5 personally
__________________
Daniel
HDX - PT12.5.1 - HD I/O 16x8x8
Win10-Pro (v1709)- 6 Core i7-6850k - ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
D-Command Main Unit - 'Ole Blue


http://www.sknoteaudio.com/ plugins rock and are affordable.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-16-2014, 05:03 PM
magpro magpro is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: california
Posts: 13
Default Re: ProTools 11 Screen Freeze?

thanks for responding..

i have not tried to remove any ram.
since the behavior didn't change by moving from 6 gigs to 24 gigs and on another machine at 12 gigs, i figured that's not it...
but i'll give this a try

all drives 7200 rpm sata3 64mb cache.. that's what i use for recording..
also use a 250 gig ssd for recording occassionally...

i tested mavericks also, even though it's not supported..

right now i'm working in 10.8.5
it's been the smoothest so far...
expt this freezing thing...

i don't know what VEP Pro is. the orchestral library?

i'm testing all this without any plug ins installed expt what comes with protools installer...

i can't think of running it any leaner.


thanks
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-04-2016, 10:46 AM
davemartone's Avatar
davemartone davemartone is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 147
Default Re: ProTools 11 Screen Freeze?

Old thread yes I know. By chance were you using 2 monitors?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-06-2016, 11:46 AM
wdjudd wdjudd is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Framingham, MA
Posts: 136
Default Re: ProTools 11 Screen Freeze?

Quote:
Originally Posted by davemartone View Post
Old thread yes I know. By chance were you using 2 monitors?
I am using two identical monitors in "mirror" mode.
__________________
ProTools LE/Native 10.3.10, 002R, Sibelius 6.2

OSX 10.9.5; Mac Pro: 2 x 3.46 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon; 32 GB 1333 MHz DDR3 ECC; Internal Serial ATA Drives (Journaled HFS+): 2 x OWC Mercury Electra 3G SSD; 3 x Seagate Barracudas 1.0 TB; External Firewire Drives (Journaled HFS+): 4 x Seagate Barracudas 1.5 TB and 6 x Seagate Barracudas 1.0 TB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Axiom Pro 'Channel' Screen Freeze TCreed88 MIDI 2 02-02-2011 08:10 PM
Mac Pro...black screen freeze question! acmost Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 10-17-2007 12:11 PM
Echo boy screen freeze Greene Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 1 07-28-2006 09:50 AM
PT7 Screen Freeze for 10 secs Jake Jackson Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 03-09-2006 09:41 AM
Screen Freeze Sulaco Digidesign Hardware & Software 1 07-24-2002 05:54 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com