Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 11

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-06-2016, 09:22 AM
boverbaugh boverbaugh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 4
Default Open 6.4 sessions in 11

Hi gang, I just spent a couple hours searching the forums, and didn't find anything helpful.

I'm trying to open 6.4 sessions in version 11. It doesn't work. The 6.4 sessions were made on a Mac G5. Pro Tools 11 is running on a current iMac.

Is it possible? Do I need to install version 10 and resave the sessions there before opening in 11?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2016, 09:26 AM
DetroitT's Avatar
DetroitT DetroitT is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Detroit, Mi, USA
Posts: 2,084
Default Re: Open 6.4 sessions in 11

Did you try import session data?

SD2 files...

Note for Installing PT's 10, it will be OS version dependent.
__________________
(Help us Help You)<<<click here

Testing:All APFS 90% 10% Audio on HFS+(Testing 1.5 yr in)
Pro Tools U-2019.6 MacOS 10.14.6
Second boot-10.13.6 (Avid HDX-1 Omni)

(MP 5,1 / 64-Gb)
(Sapphire RX-580 MacVCEdition, 3-Displays)
MOTU FW-CoreAudio (for poly recording)
(SSL-HUI-MIDI over IP)
----
music-design-creation
Post Music-Sound mixing, Production-Enhancements.

Audio Tuning and System Services
----
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-06-2016, 09:54 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,683
Default Re: Open 6.4 sessions in 11

you might need to convert your old 6.4 session PTF to newer PTX format .. if you do not have PT10 i am sure one of us here on GS can do that for you ..


Quote:
Originally Posted by boverbaugh View Post
Hi gang, I just spent a couple hours searching the forums, and didn't find anything helpful.

I'm trying to open 6.4 sessions in version 11. It doesn't work. The 6.4 sessions were made on a Mac G5. Pro Tools 11 is running on a current iMac.

Is it possible? Do I need to install version 10 and resave the sessions there before opening in 11?
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-06-2016, 11:13 AM
kurt's Avatar
kurt kurt is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Helsingborg - Sweden
Posts: 674
Default Re: Open 6.4 sessions in 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by boverbaugh View Post
Do I need to install version 10 and resave the sessions there before opening in 11?
That's what you have it for.
__________________
MBP early 2011. Apple MacPro 5.1 12Core ”Westmere”. DeckLink HD Extreme 3D+. OS X10.10.5
PTN|10-11. PTN|HD|10-11-12. 16 x 16 HD I/O - 16 x 16 192 I/O Lots of gear.

http://www.mmvstudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-2016, 06:35 AM
boverbaugh boverbaugh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Open 6.4 sessions in 11

Luckily, we still have our G5-based PT 6.4 running, so we're doing a File->Save Copy As... and then selecting BWF as audio format. That's working no problem.

Question:

Which would be quicker? Open every file in PT 6.4 and save as described above or to open every file in PT 10 and re-save it there?

Most of the sessions are fairly small, under 5 minutes each, but there are likely thousands of them that get touched on a regular basis.

Thanks for the help so far everybody!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-2016, 06:53 AM
john1192 john1192 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Woodland Hills
Posts: 5,683
Default Re: Open 6.4 sessions in 11

quicker ?? hmmm .... use G5 and 6.4 or PT10 ... well, apples and oranges unless you are trying to directly work with those sessions - then i would use PT10

If, you want to be able to use your other system (PT10) while doing these conversions you could have your INtern (i know, who has an intern haha) to be working on this on the G5 system, while you do other things with other system ..

my .02

Quote:
Originally Posted by boverbaugh View Post
Luckily, we still have our G5-based PT 6.4 running, so we're doing a File->Save Copy As... and then selecting BWF as audio format. That's working no problem.

Question:

Which would be quicker? Open every file in PT 6.4 and save as described above or to open every file in PT 10 and re-save it there?

Most of the sessions are fairly small, under 5 minutes each, but there are likely thousands of them that get touched on a regular basis.

Thanks for the help so far everybody!
__________________
OS 10.12.6 for PT 11.3.2 & 12.4 & above
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33ghz (2012) 24gb ram 256gb SSD
Macbook Pro july 2014 2.5ghz 16gb ram 512gb SSD - OS10.12.6 - PT 12.4 & above
lynx AES16e-SRC & Aurora 16
Artist Transport & iPad - Pro |Control - EuCon 3.7 (older Euphonix Branded MC Transport)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-2016, 07:29 AM
boverbaugh boverbaugh is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 4
Default Re: Open 6.4 sessions in 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
quicker ?? hmmm .... use G5 and 6.4 or PT10 ... well, apples and oranges unless you are trying to directly work with those sessions - then i would use PT10
The idea is to work on them only in PT11. I understand that PT10 isn't needed in this case, since we have the G5 with 6.4 available. If we didn't have access to the G5, we'd need to hop/transfer/translate through PT10 first. Plus, the producer is still doing work on new sessions using the iMac/PT11. The two machines are next to each other (for now) so he can just hop back and forth, "Saving Copy As..." on the G5 while doing his new stuff on the iMac.

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by john1192 View Post
If, you want to be able to use your other system (PT10) while doing these conversions you could have your INtern (i know, who has an intern haha) to be working on this on the G5 system, while you do other things with other system
Funny, I said the same thing to the producer yesterday.... (no intern though)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot open PT9 Session in PT10 - ""could not complete the open sessions command..." median Pro Tools 10 5 10-01-2013 11:14 AM
sessions always open with mix window track list open jaglance Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-03-2009 06:03 PM
PT 8 with Avid Fibre Mgr 5.1 WILL NOT Open let me open Sessions! chanlon25 Post - Surround - Video 4 03-03-2009 10:11 AM
Will my PT.5.xx sessions open in PT.6 for OSX bouncing balls 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 01-24-2003 03:11 PM
Please HELP! Can't open sessions!!! ROOM 12 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 3 09-08-2001 08:47 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com