Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-15-2008, 07:08 AM
porkipine porkipine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 120
Default Compressor side-chain how to?

Looking for the best way to use a voice track to drop the level of the music track when the person speaks. Is this the right configuration? Using PT ver 7.3.1 cs5, mbox


VOICE TRACK:
Set up aux send to buss 1 mono
track output set to stereo out


MUSIC TRACK:
set input to buss 1
track insert= compressor 3
select buss 1 on "key input" of compressor plug-in
track output set to stereo out


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-15-2008, 07:13 AM
Shawn Simpson Shawn Simpson is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 1,948
Default Re: Compressor side-chain how to?

almost. You don't need to set the input of the music track to the bus, only the key input assignment in the plug-in itself. Then just hit the "key" button to tell the compressor to react to the signal coming into the key input. (edited after re-reading your post)

I actually wrote a blog article about this over at the ProMedia Training blog a while back, but I'm too lazy to dig it up right now.

Have fun!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-2008, 09:34 AM
porkipine porkipine is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 120
Default Re: Compressor side-chain how to?

thx shawn.
btw, got a "down for maint" message on the blog.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Creating a side chain compressor lownotesinc Tips & Tricks 10 02-09-2012 01:40 AM
Is it possible to side-chain an EQ? Herkimer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 3 12-03-2009 06:00 PM
How do I set up a Side Chain junglelabs 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 0 09-30-2007 10:49 PM
Side Chain ByPass Tips & Tricks 1 05-08-2007 12:33 PM
SIDE CHAIN EQ+COMPRESSOR COMPRESSING VOCALS mihau Tips & Tricks 2 10-19-2002 01:17 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com