Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Post Production > Post - Surround - Video

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-19-2007, 06:57 PM
Atardecer Atardecer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 35
Default Video cards for PC?

Hey there,

We just moved our Pro Tools HD system over to a PC. Previously we had been using a Canopus ACDV 100 firewire card for viewing quicktime files on a projector but i am told that this card will not work with Pro Tools on a PC. Firstly why is this the case and, secondly, what other options do we have to hook up the projector (apart from buying Mojo which seems excessively expensive for what we want to do)?

regards,
James
__________________
PT HD2 7.3.1cs4, 192 I/O Dig X 2, 192 I/O, 96 I/O, Sync, ProControl w/Edit Pack, FaderPack X 3, Intel Core2 6600, 2GB, Asus P5WDG2 M/board, WinXP SP2
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-20-2007, 02:53 AM
gerax gerax is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Modena, Italy
Posts: 1,615
Default Re: Video cards for PC?

I've been working with a Matrox Parhelia P750. Configured as dual head + feature playback screen. Install the Digidesign certified driver, QT7 and PT7.3 for the added DV video features, hook that projector up to the S-Video out and you're in business. Works great.
Check that card out doing a search on this forum and you'll find the exacts setup specs.

Hope this helps

L.G.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-20-2007, 05:45 AM
manichouse manichouse is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 352
Default Re: Video cards for PC?

Matrox Parhelia AVPe here running in triplehead with 2 21" LCD's for PT and 1 CRT TV for picture... it works great. The Parhelia automatically grabs the quicktime stream and plays it on the TV. No latency, and the sync seems tight (though I have not measured).The best part is that it plays any codec on the tv... so no need to re-render video to use specific codecs. The only downside is that, while picture looks fine, there seems to be an ever so slight yellowish / greenish tint which I compensated for. No complaints from directors though.
__________________
Martin Trum
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDX and 2 Video Cards Jeffrey Talbot macOS 3 03-28-2012 05:06 PM
Video Cards logicprobe Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 11 09-28-2004 09:33 AM
video cards acceton 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 08-06-2003 08:53 PM
What PCI Video cards do you use??? elzippo Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 11-29-2000 10:39 PM
AGP & PCI Video cards Russell Fischer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 1 06-08-2000 10:16 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:18 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com