Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Tips & Tricks

Old 01-11-2006, 06:18 PM

Default Beat Detective is driving me batty

I will readily acknowledge I am a novice at Beat Detective. But it shouldn't be this hard! Once I generate an analysis, which is quite faulty, I am unable to effectively add beats or bars where I want them, and the "promote beats" function doesn't seem to work at all.

I'm simply taking 8 opening bars of a 4/4 piano cue from a Broadway show, isolated it in a selection, specified 1-1 as the start beat and 8-4 as the end beat. There are 8 bars in the area I am attempting to detect. Beat detective finds beats, but fairly randomly. Most frustrating of all is that I can't add or promote beats. WHY CAN'T I ADD BEATS!? COMMAND CLICK does nothing. aaargh. If I command click on an existing beat or sub-beat, the line creeps up to yellow, but nothing seems to happen. No change, no improvement.

what works: I can delete beats. I can move beats, but it causes other things to shift around sometimes. I feel like I have no control over this. Help me take off my dunce cap.

thank you

-John
Old 01-11-2006, 07:19 PM

Default Re: Beat Detective is driving me batty

Don't use beat detective...simple as that

(Sorry that doesn't help, but i h8 that prgm)
Old 01-11-2006, 08:58 PM

I am studying a lot of archived posts, but no epiphany yet. Not at all. Somebody recommended manually inserting beats. Fine, I go to the beginning of each beat transient, which is easy to identify, hit control I...a whole series of them. That's easy. My meter is 4/4. Now what?? I'm still stuck with the old "default" midi tempo that was already there. How do I recalculate or renumber the tempo map??