Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows
Register FAQ Today's Posts Search

Old 09-15-2011, 12:31 PM

Default Pro Tools 9 randomly freezes my system. Windows 7

Hi. I was happy Pro Tools 9 user on a Mac, but I play games and I want to stay on Windows which I switched to about 3 weeks ago. I managed to get everything installed and everything is working just fine, but when I launch Pro Tools 9 it might freeze my whole system on loading phase: "Creating DAE Objects" or it might load it just fine, but I'm not safe after that because it might freeze at any moment when I'm working on my project. Once it happened after 5 minutes, once after 2 hours.
Like somebody else said, I'm pretty unhappy that I have to spend few days to troubleshoot this stuff, because I'm not a programmer and from what I see there is ton of stuff that may cause this and pretty much stuff to do in order to fix it.
On Mac it always worked really fine until I tried to mess with peripherals, but I really went pale on my face when it froze 10 times in a row. I was lucky that update solved it.
However I was hoping that this time update will solve this problem, unfortunately it helps not.

My system is Windows 7.
CPU: i5 2500K
MB: Asus P8Z58-V Pro
RAM: 2x 4GB Gskill
GPU: MSI N560GTX Twin Frozr II
Audio Interface: RME Fireface UFX

My system install is on C: partition and my Pro tools is on D: storage partition if that matters.
Old 09-15-2011, 12:34 PM

Default Re: Pro Tools 9 randomly freezes my system. Windows 7

Is autosave enabled?

D
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
ATI HD5400 series graphics card
Old 09-15-2011, 01:06 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarylG View Post
Is autosave enabled?

D
Yeah it is, but do you think that solves the problem?