Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #71  
Old 11-13-2015, 04:14 PM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 357
Default Re: Split hd upgrade fee like pt vanilla

So... is this a Bad idea>?
am I asking for something for free?

No

Its should be just the market talking.

One price for upgrades only say 299
One price for udgrade and support say 599

also we are giving away the rights to sell the HDLic with 12 subscription. something to consider... if you want to move down to LE/vanilla

since Avid has chained the , [what I think are pretty great] HD converters to a smaller segment..
But whateve...r a lot, a lot of converter companies now

But if we, owners of HD dont chime up ... then spend away... on. whatever HD has left to offer you at 600.00 ...
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

PT 2019.5, macpro 12 core trashcan 64 gigram, MBP i7 9,1 16gig ram OS 10.12.3.. TB UA Apollo16 SSD's [samsung],
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 11-13-2015, 04:36 PM
Extreme Mixing Extreme Mixing is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Van Nuys, CA. USA
Posts: 1,329
Default Re: Split hd upgrade fee like pt vanilla

The worst thing is that if I should decide to go with 12 and stop HD, what shall I do with my omni and the thunderbolt Native device? I can't really use them with Vanilla. The fact is that I don't do that much surround work, but I need to keep it as a viable option. That forces me to the $600 option. Not sure any of this is fair. And that's what bothers me the most! I know that Avid is struggling to stay afloat in these rough times. We all are. There are many days when I wish I had found another older computer when mine stopped working, instead of seeing it as a sign that it was time to move up.

Sad but true.

Steve
__________________
Steve Shepherd
Extreme Mixing
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 11-16-2015, 08:26 PM
JBQIII JBQIII is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 9
Default Re: Split hd upgrade fee like pt vanilla

Quote:
Originally Posted by Extreme Mixing View Post
The worst thing is that if I should decide to go with 12 and stop HD, what shall I do with my omni and the thunderbolt Native device? I can't really use them with Vanilla. The fact is that I don't do that much surround work, but I need to keep it as a viable option. That forces me to the $600 option. Not sure any of this is fair. And that's what bothers me the most! I know that Avid is struggling to stay afloat in these rough times. We all are. There are many days when I wish I had found another older computer when mine stopped working, instead of seeing it as a sign that it was time to move up.

Sad but true.

Steve
Waves DLI or DLS. Acts as HD and allows converters with vanilla. Yes.
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 11-18-2015, 12:18 PM
mudgel's Avatar
mudgel mudgel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Linton (Via Ballarat) Australia
Posts: 21
Default Re: Split hd upgrade fee like pt vanilla

I've left my HD system at v9.06b. The upgrades just aren't worth the cost any longer and I've moved to the vanilla version of PT 12.
I'm looking at getting into a DiGiCo system where I can run all my plugins on the DIGIGRID IOS DSP and it even includes an audio interface that I can expand over a normal network. Seems like a much more open way to go.
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 06-15-2017, 03:11 PM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 357
Default Why HD fee is not split like NonHD?

Non HD= 99 per year upgrades only
or
199 per year is upgrades +24 7 help plugins etc

HD= upgrades+help 400 per year

I dont need
help

Why do I pay for it

is this "crazy talk"?

yes I know we need to make Avid CEO shareholders rich etc
but many would upgrade
But who needs a 400 a year expense?
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

PT 2019.5, macpro 12 core trashcan 64 gigram, MBP i7 9,1 16gig ram OS 10.12.3.. TB UA Apollo16 SSD's [samsung],
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 06-15-2017, 04:04 PM
CygnusX-1Bk2 CygnusX-1Bk2 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 608
Default Re: Why HD fee is not split like NonHD?

I've stopped paying for a while. Shouldn't have to pay for bug fixes and until recently didn't have to. I paid last year and the year before (which was more of course) but NONE of the updates have warranted the asking price. I'm locked at 12.7 until such a time as reinstatement works out to less than the yearly and only if there are serious improvements.
__________________
I will choose,
Freewill
http://jimdiazaudio.com/
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 06-17-2017, 12:48 AM
Rectifried Rectifried is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 357
Default Re: Split hd upgrade fee like pt vanilla

Don't know what to do with my hd 11
Vanilla 12.7 works ... fine enough
Still random quits and some bugs
__________________
Hal Cragin On the DUC Since The Year 2000 AD

PT 2019.5, macpro 12 core trashcan 64 gigram, MBP i7 9,1 16gig ram OS 10.12.3.. TB UA Apollo16 SSD's [samsung],
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max Ram for VIs in PT11 Vanilla jaminjamesp macOS 3 07-12-2015 04:32 AM
Edit: My mistake, it is $199 a year for Vanilla Upgrade ValkRider Pro Tools 12 5 03-26-2015 05:30 PM
What is ''Vanilla'' ClaudeM macOS 9 11-12-2014 07:59 AM
How to upgrade from vanilla PT10 to PT10 HD? mooquu Pro Tools 10 1 04-05-2012 08:43 PM
D-Control 32 split or no split? Don Geppert ICON & C|24 8 01-30-2007 10:15 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com