Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-01-2011, 09:16 AM
Terry Wetzel Terry Wetzel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Douglasville, Georgia
Posts: 1,408
Default You can have my analog mixer-

when you pry it from my cold, dead fingers!

Hi, I'm a newby and for the last several years have been recording in to an Alesis HD24 from my Mackie 24/8, analog mixer. I tried Pro tools a while back and gave it up in favor of the afore mentioned method. I'm strictly old school and started out years ago with reel to reel. That said, I'm ready to try again. I've purchased a new computer with Windows 7 and Protools 9, (crossgrade) software. Now the question. My computer interface is the M-Audio, Audiofile 2496 which only has 2 in and 2 out, (analog). I've only just begun trying to record signal and, so far so good but, it's obvious to me that more ins and outs would increase my workflow substantially. I'm looking for suggestions on other interfaces with possibly 8 or more analog ins and outs that would work flawlessly with my Mackie analog mixer. I'm open to suggestions but I state again, I'm no computer whiz so please, keep it simple and, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-01-2011, 09:51 AM
albee1952 albee1952 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: nashville
Posts: 34,742
Default Re: You can have my analog mixer-

The beauty of PT9 is, now you are open to tons of interface options. I would give a serious look at the Focusrite Saffire56. 8 mic preamps(with 2 Liquid Pre's that model some really great stuff), 8 analog outs and lightpipe connections for up to 24 IO with the proper external add-ons. Another option would be a used 003rack and send it to Black Lion Audio for their upgrades. Beyond that, I would think about HD/Native(but that's a lot more cash). Just my 2 cents(as a Pro Tooler for 7 years, running the 003 as my present interface).
__________________
Gigabyte X79/intel i7 3930K, 32GB RAM, DIGI003 Rack
https://www.facebook.com/search/top/...0sound%20works


The better I drink...the more I mix.....

BTW, my name is Dave, but most people call me.........................Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-01-2011, 11:15 AM
Craig F Craig F is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 12,591
Default Re: You can have my analog mixer-

To get use to Pro Tools start with it as your recording/editing platform the way you used the R2R
then get into plug-ins and MIB (mixing in the box)
__________________
...

"Fly High Freeee click psst tic tic tic click Bird Yeah!" - dave911

PT11 System Requirements link http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/C...m-Requirements


Thank you,

Craig
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-01-2011, 08:30 PM
nnevllc nnevllc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Nevada
Posts: 9
Default Re: You can have my analog mixer-

If you are an analog gearhead - check out the MOTU 24 I/O. That and perhaps a JBL MSC box to control your studio monitoring environment. I am using these with Win7-64Pro and PT9 - works flawlessly and seamlessly. My mains are Mackie HR824s, BTW.

I use the Audiophile 2496s in the several 'softsynth' machines in my Studio. I buy el-cheapo recycled WinTel boxes from the local eWaste company, plug in a bit more RAM and a 2496 card - woo-hoo! I have two such boxes in daily use and more on the way. I run products from Arturia, Native Instruments, Garritan, etc. etc., on them. Then there's the rack of hardware synths... so I need a lot of analog inputs to my PT system.

For a long time (been driving PT since 1989) I mixed outboard to analog and back. Now I use a couple of CM Labs MotorMix worksurfaces - available frequently on eBay and still supported by CM Labs. Just had both of mine refurbished by the Factory.

Lastly, check out the Shuttle Express jog-wheel/button device for editing. I use it with PT and Sony Vegas.

Oh yeah: analog! Next to me is my venerable Studer A80 1" 8-trk I'm stringing some old masters from, and I have Otari MTR-10 and -12s and an MX90 hiding somewhere. And a Fostex E-3, with the 4030-etc sync system, and a 78/45/33 transcription player, and a modified wire recorder, and 35/32/16MM film sound repros... lots of Dolby A and SR...
It ain't completely all bits 'n bytes, yet....

www.malibumoviemusic.com
(need to change the Studio photo real soon!)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2011, 08:11 PM
EGS's Avatar
EGS EGS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 2,609
Default Re: You can have my analog mixer-

Quote:
Originally Posted by nnevllc View Post
...It ain't completely all bits 'n bytes, yet....
As an audio pro since 1980, analog is dead (for most of the world). Jus sayin'...
__________________
Desktop: PT 2019 / Win 10 / GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R / i7-980X hex @ 3.9GHz / 32GB / Focusrite LS56
Laptop: PT 10 / Win 7 / HP ProBook 4730s / i7-2630 / 8GB / U-PHORIA UMC1820
Info/Services link
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Analog mixer into PT ... How? houndog31 General Discussion 3 12-13-2007 10:14 PM
analog mixer + control surface = digital mixer? j20056 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 12 10-11-2006 05:12 AM
I Need an analog Mixer. Big Koo 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 17 08-23-2004 05:07 PM
Best analog mixer SummerOverture Tips & Tricks 7 12-27-2002 10:08 AM
using analog mixer?? carbomb 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 12-12-2001 08:43 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:06 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com