Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Pro Tools Software > Licensing & Accounts

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1171  
Old 04-19-2016, 02:02 AM
nigelpry's Avatar
nigelpry nigelpry is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Home
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: Where is my No Charge Pro Tools 12 Upgrade?

AFAIK, Free upgrade to PT12 is only if you bought PT11, or an upgrade to it, on or after October 10th 2014, which if I recall is the date PT12 was announced.

So you'll have to BUY an educational upgrade to PT12. You can do that here ...

http://shop.avid.com/ccrz__ProductDe...03&&store=shop

You'll have to pass the eligibility test again, so only buy the educational upgrade if you still qualify as a student.

Otherwise, you'll have to buy a standard upgrade here ...

http://shop.avid.com/ccrz__ProductDe...08&&store=shop

Sadly, you'll be paying much more if you have to go down the route of a standard upgrade than if you'd bought the upgrade before the end of 2015, when you could have had it for $99.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Mac Pro 2009 with 2010 firmware, 12-Core 3.46ghz, 64gb RAM & working Thunderbolt, OS 10.13.6 and Windows 10
Macbook Pro 2011 17", 2.2ghz i7, 16gb RAM OS 10.12.6
Digi 003 Console, Focusrite Octopre and MOTU Traveler for extra analog-ADAT conversion, UAD Apollo Quad with Thunderbolt card, Apollo Twin mk11 and pci-e Octo, Adam A77X monitors.
Pro Tools 2018, Media Composer 8.9, Sibelius 8.7, Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Logic Pro X, Mainstage 3.
Various apps, soft synths, FX plugins.
Plenty of hardware synths, rack gear, microphones etc.
And then there's the studio ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #1172  
Old 04-20-2016, 08:07 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,311
Default Re: Where is my No Charge Pro Tools 12 Upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by patchesonhand View Post
So I got the Student Edition of 10/11 in August 2014. Am I eligible for upgrade to PT12? It's not in my Products Not Yet Downloaded.
PT 12 was released in Mar 2015, so an Aug 2014 purchase wouldn't qualify for a free upgrade. Also, the '4 year free' program ended in April 2013 with the announcement of PT 11.0 which shipped in June 2013. So by Aug 2014 that would have been the newer $99 upgrade offer for students.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #1173  
Old 10-23-2016, 10:26 PM
1racerx's Avatar
1racerx 1racerx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Boise, USA
Posts: 48
Default Re: Where is my No Charge Pro Tools 12 Upgrade?

Finally got this in my downloads a few months ago, loaded it and it said I had to buy it. So much for the "free upgrade." Cool..
Reply With Quote
  #1174  
Old 10-23-2016, 11:09 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,311
Default Re: Where is my No Charge Pro Tools 12 Upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1racerx View Post
Finally got this in my downloads a few months ago, loaded it and it said I had to buy it. So much for the "free upgrade." Cool..
This thread is about never receiving a PT 12 Upgrade, but I see yours in your Avid & iLok accounts. Your Pro Tools with Upgrade and Support Plan license bundle (containing licenses for 10/11/12) was deposited 9/25/2015 but never activated, so that would explain why PT12 won't run. You can activate that in iLok License Manager, and it should ask you to surrender (upgrade from) your Pro Tools 11 Bundle. Hope this helps!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #1175  
Old 12-01-2016, 03:51 AM
Scockayne Scockayne is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Leicestershire, England
Posts: 1
Default Re: Where is my No Charge Pro Tools 12 Upgrade?

I have the same issue even now, my Mac has finally packed in, but I was definitely told when I bought PT11 that it would come with a free update plan including PT12. No PT12 software in my avid account and now I don't have the update plan, tried to sort this out when 12 came out but never got through to someone who even worked at Avid to help me. Please help me, thank you.

Edit: After more investigation I realised that I purchased the Student copy of Pro Tools 11 with 4 years of free upgrades. For some reason I don't have PT12 in my account. I really need this for my work as the Video Engine just will not function on Windows 10 with PT 11.3.1. I purchased PT 11 Students on October 23, 2013. Therefore my free upgrades should not have stopped until October 23 2017. Please help me Jeffro.

Last edited by Scockayne; 12-05-2016 at 06:59 AM. Reason: More Information.
Reply With Quote
  #1176  
Old 12-15-2016, 03:24 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,311
Default Re: Where is my No Charge Pro Tools 12 Upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scockayne View Post
I have the same issue even now, my Mac has finally packed in, but I was definitely told when I bought PT11 that it would come with a free update plan including PT12. No PT12 software in my avid account and now I don't have the update plan, tried to sort this out when 12 came out but never got through to someone who even worked at Avid to help me. Please help me, thank you.

Edit: After more investigation I realised that I purchased the Student copy of Pro Tools 11 with 4 years of free upgrades. For some reason I don't have PT12 in my account. I really need this for my work as the Video Engine just will not function on Windows 10 with PT 11.3.1. I purchased PT 11 Students on October 23, 2013. Therefore my free upgrades should not have stopped until October 23 2017. Please help me Jeffro.
Welcome to the community.

PT12 was released Mar 2015 and Upgrade Plans weren't in place in Oct 2013, so I'm not sure how that would have been offered. Your purchase date was also beyond the time frame that included 4 years of releases with Student purchases (that program ended in Apr 2013 with the announcement of PT11 which was then released Jun 2013). Options would be to Upgrade from PT11 or Subscribe, but check the Edu Options if still a qualifying student.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #1177  
Old 12-31-2016, 03:07 PM
1racerx's Avatar
1racerx 1racerx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Boise, USA
Posts: 48
Default Re: Where is my No Charge Pro Tools 12 Upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
This thread is about never receiving a PT 12 Upgrade, but I see yours in your Avid & iLok accounts. Your Pro Tools with Upgrade and Support Plan license bundle (containing licenses for 10/11/12) was deposited 9/25/2015 but never activated, so that would explain why PT12 won't run. You can activate that in iLok License Manager, and it should ask you to surrender (upgrade from) your Pro Tools 11 Bundle. Hope this helps!
I'll check that out. Thanks Buddy.
Reply With Quote
  #1178  
Old 12-31-2016, 03:09 PM
1racerx's Avatar
1racerx 1racerx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Boise, USA
Posts: 48
Default Re: Where is my No Charge Pro Tools 12 Upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffro View Post
Welcome to the community.

PT12 was released Mar 2015 and Upgrade Plans weren't in place in Oct 2013, so I'm not sure how that would have been offered. Your purchase date was also beyond the time frame that included 4 years of releases with Student purchases (that program ended in Apr 2013 with the announcement of PT11 which was then released Jun 2013). Options would be to Upgrade from PT11 or Subscribe, but check the Edu Options if still a qualifying student.
Hey Man, I got the email saying I got the upgrade..
Reply With Quote
  #1179  
Old 12-31-2016, 03:10 PM
1racerx's Avatar
1racerx 1racerx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Boise, USA
Posts: 48
Default Re: Where is my No Charge Pro Tools 12 Upgrade?

"Free upgrade to PT12 is only if you bought PT11, or an upgrade to it"

Did that.
Reply With Quote
  #1180  
Old 01-06-2017, 02:12 PM
jeffro's Avatar
jeffro jeffro is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 8,311
Default Re: Where is my No Charge Pro Tools 12 Upgrade?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1racerx View Post
Hey Man, I got the email saying I got the upgrade..
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1racerx View Post
"Free upgrade to PT12 is only if you bought PT11, or an upgrade to it"

Did that.
Crossgrade from PT EX (Download) is in your Avid account with installers for Pro Tools 12.5 (your plan expired 3/31/2016) and you have a Pro Tools with Upgrade and Support Plan 2015 license bundle on your iLok to run that. Sorry if I'm missing something obvious here... please elaborate as needed. Thanks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Student purchase included 4yrs of releases never got Pro Tools 12 tklicki Licensing & Accounts 495 11-20-2016 08:01 PM
Where is my Pro Tools 12 No Charge (Student/EDU) Upgrade? musiczile Pro Tools 12 1 02-15-2016 02:21 PM
Should I upgrade to 12? "No Charge UG for Students" djmichaelwenz Pro Tools 12 5 09-25-2015 01:44 AM
XMON signal charge while quitting Pro Tools PleasantNoise ICON & C|24 2 02-25-2008 09:26 AM
Gonne Be A Upgrade Charge for 6.0??? audio junkie Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 13 10-06-2002 06:57 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com