Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools SE and Essential (Win)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-13-2012, 09:19 AM
burritobandito burritobandito is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 1
Default Pro Tools and M-Audio Interface won't work with Windows 8

Howdy there,

I have Protools Essentials and an M-Audio Fast Track interface that I bought a while ago. It worked well for me on my old Windows laptop, but that computer crashed a couple weeks ago. I bought a new computer with Windows 8, and neither my Protools nor my interface will load the drivers. Is my stuff just too outdated for Windows 8? And do you know if Avid or M-Audio is offering any kind of upgrade that would be compatible with the new operating system? Or is my software just worthless?? In any case, I'd just like to know. Thanks a lot! Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

Shawn
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-06-2013, 07:40 AM
amafru amafru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3
Question Re: Pro Tools and M-Audio Interface won't work with Windows 8

Hi

I have a similar problem. Difference is I'm running pro tools MP9 supported by an M-Audio FASTRACK USB interface, on an HP PHOENIX 1330ea computer with Windows 8. My software won't load. Says it "...can't locate the hardware." Can't find a compatible windows 8 driver anywhere on the Avid website. Not even suggested workarounds! If anybody could help solve this issue that'd be a kindness. Got projects I need to finish on my new PC for clients...

Cheers
A
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-2013, 03:34 PM
#DarkBlu #DarkBlu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Default Re: Pro Tools and M-Audio Interface won't work with Windows 8

I have a Fastrack Ultra, which Windows 8 recognizes, but when I attempt to start Pro Tools MP9, Windows 8 crashes to a BSOD with an error message KERNEL_MODE_EXCEPTION. So, in my case, Pro Tools MP9 crashes the Windows 8 Kernel. It gets worse if you run the Pro Tools MP9 9.05 update. After that and a reboot, Windows 8 went into an endless reboot cycle that forced me to run System Restore to a date prior to me installing Pro Tools MP9.05 update. After that, attempting to start Pro Tools MP9, crashed Windows 8 every time so I hope you have another DAW available, hopefully on a Mac (Cubase. Mixcraft). If not, you've got a serious problem because AVID isn't even responding to any posts regarding Windows 8 compatibility with Pro Tools MP9. They have no intention of updating Pro Tools MP9 at this time and are likely to suggest to you the Cross Upgrade to Pro Tools 10, which is $399. I haven't seen anywhere that Pro Tools 10 is even supported on Windows 8.
__________________
Computer and CPU speed -PC AMD FX-4130 OC'd @ 4.2.75Ghz
OS version- Windows 8 32bit
M-Audio hardware model- Fastrack Ultra
Pro Tools version- Pro Tools MP 9 (Crashes Windows 8 every time)
Amount of RAM installed- 8GB
Recordings done on USB 2.0 external hard drive, 500GB.
99% disc space free.

If you listen to metal, you need to hear DARK BLU
http://darkblu.com/MEDIA.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2013, 08:36 PM
TOM@METRO's Avatar
TOM@METRO TOM@METRO is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 16,905
Default Re: Pro Tools and M-Audio Interface won't work with Windows 8

Windows 8 is not yet supported for any version of pro Tools. It would be my guess that Windows 8 support will not be offered for PT9 or earlier.
__________________
~ tom thomas

Formerly hobotom

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 HDX
HD Omni and 192 I/Os
Windows 10
Intel Hexcore i7
All Samsung Pro SSDs
Ampex MM1200 2" 24 trk tape
Outboard: UREI, Eventide, Lexicon, Yamaha, TC Electronics, Orban, ART, EchoAudio, Dolby, Hughes, API, Neve, Audio Arts, BBE, Aphex, Berringer, MOTU, dbx, Allison, etc.
Plug-ins: Too many to talk about.

www.metrostudios.com
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-13-2013, 09:23 AM
amafru amafru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools and M-Audio Interface won't work with Windows 8

Thanks all for chiming in. I hope they come up with a reasonable solution for everyone involved in this Windows 8 mess. Being a home studio owner, I've already spent what I consider to be a substantial amount in purchasing Pro Tools MP9 and my M-Audio interface. I could consider a reasonable offer of crossgrade but $399 and I'm sure a lot of home "recordists" like myself would simply jump ship!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2013, 10:19 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,236
Default Pro Tools and M-Audio Interface won't work with Windows 8

The obvious solution is to downgrade to Windows 7, next time check what is supported before you purchase a PC or OS upgrade.

I would not wait for Avid, if you need something in the consumer/prosumer space that is better supported there are lots of choices out there. Avid are trying to dig themselves out of a failed consumer business. They sold off most if their consumer products to InMusic. It is not clear if the FastTrack (which InMusic did not acquire) will continue as a product or not. If you want to stick with Pro Tools (esp. If you need compatibility with others and pro studios etc.) then pay up and get onto Pro Tools 10 as Avid is making effort with that to fix bugs and support new OS releases. For all products hang on until after NAMM to see if there are any new announcements.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2013, 11:20 AM
amafru amafru is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 3
Default Re: Pro Tools and M-Audio Interface won't work with Windows 8

Thanks Darryl. I'll keep those thoughts in mind...

Just though I'd come back and post and update if anyone else was having an issue with Pro Tools not "...finding their USB interface." I installed the Fast_Track drivers Version 6.0.6 from this link and my software now loads and plays OK alongside the hardware on windows 8.

Hope this works for you too.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-28-2013, 05:26 AM
cdxpat cdxpat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Singapore
Posts: 60
Default Re: Pro Tools and M-Audio Interface won't work with Windows 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
Avid are trying to dig themselves out of a failed consumer business. They sold off most if their consumer products to InMusic. It is not clear if the FastTrack (which InMusic did not acquire) will continue as a product or not.
Darryl
I agree with your comments but still feel abandoned. I switched from a Native Instruments interface to an M-Audio fast track ultra a couple of years back because I thought Avid would give better support. What a fool I was. No new windows drivers for nearly two years. What i don't understand was why did Avid keep the Fast track ultra in the sale if they don't want it ? Or is it they just want to abandon windows users because most protools users are on Macs ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm View Post
If you want to stick with Pro Tools (esp. If you need compatibility with others and pro studios etc.) then pay up and get onto Pro Tools 10
I upgraded each release from 5 through 9 but now I've stopped. I wouldn't advise any home user to go to protools 10. I think 11 will be a whole new strategy and could easily abandon hardware and software platforms whatever the roadmap says. Avid also seem to be moving back to "professional" pricing - fewer but more discerning users - charge more money. If you are a home user considering protools wait for 11 and see what the packaged synth and effect bundles, licensing and hardware support look like and consider learning something else.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-28-2013, 10:08 AM
Darryl Ramm Darryl Ramm is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 13,236
Default Pro Tools and M-Audio Interface won't work with Windows 8

Yes but if folks need to get stuff working now they cannot wait until Pro Tools 11. There are also perfectly good DAW options from lots of other providers if you do not need Pro Tools compatibility.

Darryl
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-02-2014, 10:17 AM
smiler smiler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Matlock
Posts: 4
Default Re: Pro Tools and M-Audio Interface won't work with Windows 8

Quote:
Originally Posted by amafru View Post
Thanks Darryl. I'll keep those thoughts in mind...

Just though I'd come back and post and update if anyone else was having an issue with Pro Tools not "...finding their USB interface." I installed the Fast_Track drivers Version 6.0.6 from this link and my software now loads and plays OK alongside the hardware on windows 8.

Hope this works for you too.
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxHi what link is that?xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to change audio interface used in Windows - Pro Tools 9? thisjanuary Pro Tools 9 5 10-11-2016 03:37 PM
Unable to Locate Hardware - Pro tools 10 - Windows 7 - No Audio Interface KierONeil Windows 5 04-18-2013 11:26 PM
M-Box at Home, Cheap M-Audio Interface at Work? Kindly Killer 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) 2 08-17-2007 07:02 AM
3rd Party audio interface - can it work? tih Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) 2 10-16-2006 02:08 PM
Windows XP Pro Tools Audio drive Won't work on Mac Johnny916 003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) 1 05-25-2004 07:30 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com