Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support

Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools 10

Old 02-25-2012, 11:11 PM

Default Pro Tools 10 Launch Error (-9514) "Disk Cache (DAE)..."

Greetings,

I'm new around here. I'm an upcoming mix engineer, producer, and 10 years and going beat maker.

I come from the FL Studio, Cubase, Ableton live background and was a bit slow when it came to trying my own hand in Pro Tools and the products associated with AVID.

I entered a contest and won Pro Tools 10, and had no choice but to dive in...fresh with a new i5 computer and other software I've been buying lately, 2012 just seemed to be my time to take this thing by the horns.

Unfortunately, my first 6 hours of the Pro Tools experience...has been or shall i say, WAS, a nightmare..LOL!!!

I figured I post to help out other whom have been hit with the (-9514) error code on launching Pro Tools 10 for the first time.

Initially, I installed the DVD, iLok + Registration, and 10.1 update like anyone should. I did the restart computer thing. I put it "offline" after the neccessary internet dialogs, and kept my system startup limited to video and sound programs.

This error came up about 20x each time I ran the shortcut off my desktop. I tried the 1 forum post i could find here via google for checking windows DEP, no avail. I ran as admin, I tried various compatibility modes, EVERYTHING.

Finally, after a few hours and 2 minutes short of throwing my computer out of the window...I realized it wasn't my soundcard, sound buffer, plugin, or anything else. So I uninstalled pro tools with CCLEANER. I also cleaned the registry.

Then i put the DVD back in, browsed for the setup, right clicked and ran it as Administrator.....and it worked.

How, or why...not sure.