Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community

How to Join & Post  •  Community Terms of Use  •  Help Us Help You

Knowledge Base Search  •  Community Search  •  Learn & Support


Avid Home Page

Go Back   Avid Pro Audio Community > Legacy Products > Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2007, 09:25 AM
September September is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default PT 7.3 crashes when initializing Hardware

Has any one had that problem. First of all I didn't want to upgrade to 7.x until it seemed to be stable, and now when I bought it it won't start up, it crashes when it is intializing the hardware. I believe i've tried the common things such as moving plugins, trashing prefs etc. I've got a G4 Dual 1.25 MDD, OSX 10.4.8. I've been running PT HD 6.4, 6.7 and 6.9.2 without problems on this same computer. Can anyone help on this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2007, 10:05 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,626
Default Re: PT 7.3 crashes when initializing Hardware

Which Digidesign hardware are you using? Of the troubleshooting steps you've been recommended, which ones have you tried specifically?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2007, 10:12 AM
Stig Eliassen's Avatar
Stig Eliassen Stig Eliassen is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Norway @ Studio Varmt & Trangt
Posts: 7,455
Default Re: PT 7.3 crashes when initializing Hardware

If you think you've trashed all old preferences and updated/moved questionable plugins, you probably haven't.

I'd suggest following the setup and troubleshooting sticky to the letter. I know that this answer gets thrown around a lot by Digi and other users, but it really is the way to go.
__________________
Studio rig - Pro Tools|HDX 2018.7 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | Avid HD I/O (8x8x8) | 6-core 3.33 Westmere w/24GB RAM | OS 10.12.3 | D-Command ES | Eleven Rack | Vienna Ensemble Pro 5
Mobile rig - Macbook Pro i7 w/16GB RAM | UA Apollo 8p | Pro Tools|HD 2018.3 | Logic Pro X.4.2 | OS 10.12.6
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2007, 10:24 AM
September September is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT 7.3 crashes when initializing Hardware

I'm using the 96 I/O.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-2007, 10:32 AM
September September is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT 7.3 crashes when initializing Hardware

I did follow the installation manual very carefully and did everything by that book.
Then I even tried to take all of the plugins from it's folder, needless to say that didn't work either.
I re-installed the 6.9.2 and that worked fine as it has in the past, then I installed the 7.3 again and same thing. I then tried to install the 7.3.1 and that didn't help which is no surprice really.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-12-2007, 10:45 AM
DigiTechSupt's Avatar
DigiTechSupt DigiTechSupt is offline
Avid
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 33,626
Default Re: PT 7.3 crashes when initializing Hardware

Have you tried a clean uninstall and reinstall? By 'clean' I mean running the uninstallers and, if given the option between 'safe' and 'clean', choosing 'clean'.

Do you get any error messages or does Pro Tools just not launch?

Have you done ALL the steps in the OS X Setup and General Troubleshooting sticky at the top of this forum?
__________________
Avid Audio Tech Support
Help us help you - read this before posting
Support FAQ
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-12-2007, 11:44 AM
September September is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default Re: PT 7.3 crashes when initializing Hardware

Quote:
Have you tried a clean uninstall and reinstall? By 'clean' I mean running the uninstallers and, if given the option between 'safe' and 'clean', choosing 'clean'.
Yeps

Quote:
Do you get any error messages or does Pro Tools just not launch?
I get the little fancy window with the PT logo and the meter that says where I'm at in launching the program. The first thing that comes up there is Initializing Hardware. Then everything stops, I get the Little clock thingy and then; The application Pro Tools 7.3 quit unexpectedly. Mac osx..........

Quote:
Have you done ALL the steps in the OS X Setup and General Troubleshooting sticky at the top of this forum?
All that apply
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PT HD8 - Stuck at Initializing Hardware (DSI) RoofTopLuki Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 5 07-08-2014 12:03 AM
Pro Tools 11 crashes at initializing controllers S-O Pro Tools 11 2 02-10-2014 11:50 AM
Initializing Hardware DSI steffen75 Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 6 12-02-2011 12:03 PM
Problem Initializing Hardware (DSI) StanleyPat Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) 2 08-03-2009 09:32 AM
7.4 crashes at initializing hardware(dsi) SOLVED! x9blade Pro Tools TDM Systems (Win) 4 11-29-2007 06:27 AM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com